We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Charm Is Fading Away - C'est Domage!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #37 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Charm Is Fading Away - C'est Domage!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I am a regular guest here since 10 years and have always been assisted in a satisfactory way. Especially IBU MONICA is a very lovely staff and always helpful to me.

Recently there are events and parties almost every night and eventhough long stay guests, families, children and elderly people who live here are certainly in need of their resting time.

Surprisingly the management always allows the sound engineer to pump up the volume to the max.
The window glass and even the the wooden furnitures in my room are vibrating. Dormir - Adieu! Pas d'Chance!

Besides that, they also renovate half of the hotels regular rooms and the noise starts early in the morning until night.

All in all, the classy environment is gone and guests should be aware of the fact that this once wonderful hotel is no longer the romantic resort as it used to be and as the advertisement claims to be.

I fully understand that the GM needs to present a postive balance sheet to the owner, but in between total ignorance of the faithful and high paying long stay guests versus total freedom to those who come once in a lifetime at a hard negotiated fee, there is a difference to be put into consideration. Unfortunately to no avail.

All the other details i accept and i feel good especially in the wonderful settings of the tropical garden.

Kindly judge YOURSELF.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allthegoodthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    361
    219
    96
    67
See reviews for
333
104
57
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

i stayed at the hotel in September this year, needless to say that it was a big disappointment as they cant maintain the cleanliness of the hotel, especially the bathroom. The room is poorly lit, and looks so dated that it requires an immediate renovation, with spots on the carpet (I hate carpets in any Tropical hotels).. The breakfast menu is ok, just enough to meet the minimum, but since it was on a weekend and 3 weddings going on at different time in the hotel which resulted in a flux of hotel guests that also occupied the apartment building at the back, the coffee shop is crowded and 'steamy' with so many guests having to wait in line. The waiters just couldn't care less, it shows on their indifferent attitude and merely hovering busing in dirty plates to the kitchen..., it just shows that the hotel just doesn't plan ahead for the influx of guests coming in who will be using their dining facility that's bursting at the seam.. we also tried to have coffee at the coffee shop toward the shop's closing time at 11pm, believe me, they tried all tactics, from turning off lights at different corner or whatever that will send the signal the place is closed. am not sure whether we are in a boot camp or in a place called hotel...... stay away from this place...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritaksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The only reason I keep going back is the convenient location...
Finding your room will be the first challenge because of the different wings; you often have to go up or down a few stairs with your bags.
The new bathrooms are beautiful and designy but not functional: shower rooms without any door or curtains means a big puddle of water all over your bathroom every time you take a shower.
Big square pillows are great to look at but zero value in comfort.
No lifts to the basement breakfast area, so you either carry your bags down or leave with the concierge.
Breakfast area is too small so always full. Most of the time I have ended up sharing a table with another solo. The chairs are like big thrones and perhaps the most uncomfortable in the world! This is something many guests complain about but nobody seems to be listening for at least the past five years that I've been staying there.
The staff is helpful though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MushPanjwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at Novotel Surabaya. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room service was excellent and I thought the hotel was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay there again next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninaboboSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We chose to stay for 2 nights in the 6th floor 2 bedrooms apartment. The apartment is very nice, and i love the sweet aroma of our bedroom down below the wooden stair.

The bathroom with the bathtub was a mess, though. It leaked whenever we take a bath. And we could find no ashtray in the kitchen. But I love the mint aroma soap bar.

The room was clean, and the staff made our bed and clean our room every day, eventhough we didn't ask them to. Our belongings was safe in the room.

The wooden table in the kitchen area is useful for us to work, and the space in the dining area is big enough to mingle.

And the pool is big and fun! Found a couple made a pre-wed photo shoot in the pool on our first day. Love to spend the afternoon and morning here. Though the restaurant is a bit too little, the breakfast was yummy, and the service was great.

I won't mind to spend another night here, especially since they gave us a special corporate rate. :)

Room Tip: I think it's best if you choose the room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night, immacculate hotel, room and grounds.
Did have to wait for service at bar and check - in otherwise woild definitely stay again!!
Staff organised a dantastic driver/day trito show us the sights, much appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asitis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#25 of 134 in Surabaya
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
#34 of 134 in Surabaya
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#23 of 134 in Surabaya
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
319 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Surabaya
Wyndham Surabaya
#44 of 134 in Surabaya
503 reviews
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Property: Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Address: Jl. Ngagel no. 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel
Novotel Surabaya Hotel And Suites Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing