We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs A Refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Surabaya
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Needs A Refurbishment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked this hotel through a accorhotels.com on May 2, 2012. My reservation number is G3F-0NF8. The hotel boasts itself as a four-star on the web site and I expected to stay in a hotel like that. However, my one night stay did not quite match my expectation.

I was staying at room 331. Once I entered the room, the age of the hotel became really apparent - this hotel definitely needs an serious upgrade!!
The hotel has a lot of problems. The side bed lamps was almost falling off, filthy carpets and chairs, broken curtains holder, old tube television, dirty balcony, very noisy air conditioner, very stinky mini fridge, old towels.
The bathroom is awful. The toilet bowl looks like it has never been scrubbed for years. There was no hair dryer in bathroom. The bathroom walls had corroded in some places. The bathtub brick was broken & had a big hole in it. It appears the housekeeping staffs of the Novotel Surabaya has a serious dedication to doing as little cleaning as physically possible. I cannot believe I endured this place for even a night. I took pictures that I can upload.

I must say thank you to the ladies in front desk. When I checked in & checked out, I received a warm reception from them who also was more than happy to help me with questions and concerns throughout my entire stay, both of them, as well as the rest of the staff, provided an upbeat, welcoming presence

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    349
    208
    90
    67
See reviews for
323
100
57
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Every time I and my husband return to Surabaya, we always stay there. Because the location it's combinion from my parents house and close to the big shopping mall, Carrefour. Our favourite room is the one that has easy acces to swimming pool, the swimming pool is our highlight. Nice room, clean, and friendly staff. The only issue is they really need to improve the Internet acces. Now days many hotel either small or big, either star hotel or not, one of their attractive marketing is free wifi. At Novotel they still make us pay or acces 15minutes free at the lobby.

Room Tip: The same level as the swimming pool if you use the pool regurarly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The lobby and grounds look great but our apartment was dreadful. We had a 2 bedroom apartment that was badly in need of repair. I really have no positives to say about any of it. Everything was old and Falling apart. Maybe the normal rooms are better, but this was the worst "suite" we have ever stayed in. Also, when I made the booking it said breakfast would be an additional 52000 rps, but when we checked in was told breakfast was 100000 rps, almost double!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights occupying two units of 2 bedroom apartments + 1 unit of premier room.

In summary, my findings as follows:

1) Good location, not exactly in the busy city centre but close to everywhere. So hotel is quiet.

2) Hotel surrounding/landscaping is huge. Well maintained.

3) Good Buffet Breakfast - wide spread of selection

4) Rooms are clean and comfortable.

5) Friendly staffs all over

6) They gave us some pastries during our midnite check-out (as we are heading to Bromo - so couldnt make it for the next morning breakfast). Plus point on that
Cons:

1) Apartments are very old - as if we are back in the 70's. High time for novotel to refurbish those apartments.

2) Bad/Poor shower facilities at the apartments

3) No free wifi - even the free wifi at the breakfast restaurant is not working properly

4) Lobby air-conditioning system was switched off at midnite - very hot and stuffy for guest checking in midnite or those who wanted to use the free internet at the lobby after midnite

Overall, it is an ok hotel with old apartments. However, the premier rooms looking good (after refurbishment). Will definitely stay here again if they maintain the same rates for the rooms and apartment. Not a bad choice overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#24 of 130 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.9 mi away
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
Singgasana Hotel Surabaya
#35 of 130 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite
Grand Darmo Suite
#21 of 130 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Horison Suites Surabaya
Horison Suites Surabaya
#45 of 130 in Surabaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Alana Surabaya
The Alana Surabaya
#7 of 130 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 130 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites

Property: Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites
Address: Jln. Ngagel 173-175, Surabaya 60246, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the main business district of Surabaya. For business trips and holidays, this hotel is the perfect destination, offering conference facilities, a fitness centre, outdoor pool, tennis courts, activities and Dolfi Kids Club. Our 209 well appointed rooms offer comfort and convenience. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax and unwind in one of our two bars. This is not just a business hotel, but a holiday resort in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Surabaya Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Surabaya Hotel Surabaya
Surabaya Novotel
Novotel Surabaya Hotel And Suites Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing