We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 5 Stars property”
Review of Wyndham Surabaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Surabaya
Ranked #44 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Malang, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 5 Stars property”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staying for a night, arrived at 3.30 pm and has to wait for another 45 minutes to get the room key. Has to ask multiple times at the Front desk and get irritated in order to get the room in the late afternoon, reason being hotel fully booked. Old yellow towels with the signage LJ Discovery Hotel.
One pillow per bed on a twin sharing room. Soundproofing very bad as you can hear everything from the connecting door of the neighbouring room. Shower not functioning properly.
Breakfast very basic and tasteless. Staff unfriendly. Pay more then Rp. 1,3m, definitely not good value for money. Verdict : I would never return and not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian J, General Manager at Wyndham Surabaya, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mr Stylianos Koureas,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experiences that you had encountered during your previous stay with us. We endeavored to meet all guests’ expectations at all times but unfortunately we failed in this instance and extend our sincere apologies.

We will investigate your comments and work towards improvement of our product and service quality with our team members.

We hope that you will give us a chance to be of service to you again. Please contact me or our Front Office Manager should you be visiting Surabaya and we will ensure that your next stay is comfortable and pleasant.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    183
    99
    40
    36
See reviews for
115
61
22
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Arrive early in the morning after long trips by train from Jakarta, the staff was very friendly to suggest to take the breakfast due the room is still on progress to clean, is very good suggestion, breakfast was outstanding, i try all items the best was the yogort with fresh fruit as well the bread and indonesian dish this make our 2 night stay memorable one.

wonderful room, with the city view, from our window we can see the tunjungan plaza building and in the nigth it was wonderful, staff very helful if i need to go some where they wiling to helping you.

Ms angela thank you for your kind advised and for all your effort to make my stay at your wonderful hotel memorable one for our busnise trips.

Room Tip: Room with the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJOK789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night and it was a nice hotel. Spacious room with concept simple, modern and minimalist style but look luxury. The breakfast variety and taste is standard.
It has a good location. Unfortunately it does not provide wifi in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisKa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife, daughter and I just spent 3 nights at the Meritus Surabaya - fantastic. The room size was huge and made it very comfortable for the extra bed for our daughter. The breakfast buffet was very complete, and the room service well priced (cheap) and excellent food. I would definitely recomend the Meritus over any other hotel I have ever stayed at in Surabaya.

Room Tip: Executive suite - is pleany big enough for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Meritus for a night and it was possibly one of the best hotel we've stayed in so far.
Our room was huge, the hotel's location is convenient, great selection for breakfast and service was great. Our only gripe was that there's no WIFI in the room. Other than that, a perfect hotel to stay at if you happen to be in Surabaya.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flairista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently spent several days at the Meritus hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive, and the accommodations were very modern and comfortable. The location is convenient and central, making it a good base in Surabaya.

The food, both at breakfast and via room service was quite tasty.

The only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 was that I didn't have wifi in my room. Other than that, everything about this hotel was great and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stay for one night at this hotel and the room is very big with modern decor. It's actually an old hotel that being renovated and rebrand as Meritus. Even though it's only less than a year, I saw some poor housekeeping particularly in bathroom where there is already some molds in shower area. The bed is very comfy and big. Breakfast is average five star hotel in Surabaya. Price is similar to other 5 star hotel in Surabaya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Surabaya
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 134 in Surabaya
785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Surabaya Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
Bumi Surabaya City Resort
#12 of 134 in Surabaya
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
Swiss-Belinn Tunjungan
#3 of 134 in Surabaya
319 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surabaya

Property: Wyndham Surabaya
Address: Jl. Basuki Rahmat 67-73, Surabaya 60271, Indonesia (Formerly Pullman Surabaya City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Surabaya
#22 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#23 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Surabaya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the globally recognised Wyndham Hotel Group, Wyndham Surabaya is an upscale hotel to grace the skyline of Indonesia’s second largest city. Wyndham Surabaya is conveniently located in the heart of central business district Surabaya. Located 15 kilometres from Juanda International Airport, nearby to all major business and government hubs also premier shopping mall and tourist destinations. The hotel features 292 elegantly appointed rooms and suites, boasting panoramic views of surrounding cityscapes. The spacious and elegant rooms are featuring contemporary design and facilities, setting the benchmarks for world-class hospitality in Surabaya. Comprising over 2,000 sqm of modern function space, the hotel features 9 function rooms for small to medium size meetings, incentives, exhibitions, conferences, and weddings. Bespoke, attentive service by a dedicated team of Meeting and Event specialist ensuring the success of every event. Dining at the hotel is a vibrant culinary experience with an exciting selection of 3 restaurants and bars. Whether you are looking for a casual setting or private dining for two, the hotel’s offerings cater for every discerning palate. Signature menus define each restaurant, featuring authentic dishes that include local East Javanese specialties, international classic & Chinese regional favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing