We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stay in the Lobby...”
Review of Hotel Oval

Hotel Oval
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oval
Ranked #114 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Just stay in the Lobby...”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I recommend you to stay in the Lobby. The furniture and decor was nice, and looked very expensive. But once you go to your room, it all goes downhill from there. The room itself is big, but with some pretty old stuff. The food was ok, though nothing special. It's located in a more peaceful part of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scharringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    19
    3
    11
See reviews for
9
2
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Once and will never come back.
I was staying for one night cause the hotel I used to stay was full at that moment. Checked in as a walk in guest in the middle of night, greeted unpleasantly by the night shift reception.
Price wasnt too bad for a walk in charge.

Walking through the lobby which designed like a 5stars hotel, fancy! Then took the elevator, all those fancy thing has vanished there. An old school elevator, and smelly.
Enter the room was surprised, I got a very big room with king sized bed.
Too bad, it only has 2 uncomfortable and look so old pillow.
Bathroom was too small in that very big room, and the wall wasnt quite solid as building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geminiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Decent hotel for your stay, nice room with some old furnishing for me. The food is not quite good that match my liking. The location itself is great, near city centre, if you need some quiet cheap hotel around city centre you could try this out, but you could find not far away are better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scafio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed there for a night only and I put it as one night hotel only. I wont go back. Service is good, but everything was just oldskull. Shower room was too small for a quite large room. The bed sheet was smelly and it only has 2 uncomfortable pillows for a king sized bed. Not recommend to stay in for that price. Another smart / budget hotels are better than staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geminiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Even though the building is quite new but when you enter the room, it looks old fashion.
My friend and I stayed in January, in a room which located in the corner. The style was not catchy. I could not feel the ambience that I stayed in the hotel. Yet, my room faced to the zoo. I could see the road which seperate the hotel and the zoo. That was the only nice thing. Others were in average. Even though the room was quite spacious with a single sofa and television, the bed was just uncomfortable for me. And When you enter the hotel area, you will not see wide space for your car to park.
If you still can find the other hotel in this district, better you put this hotel as a next option.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuliana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

the hotel not very good in service, when we see from the outside it's look like nice hotel, but when you go inside the interior not attractive, in lobby you can smell food from the resto.

I order non smoking deluxe room for Rp 450.000 seem very cheap, and you get what you pay, when entering the room you can smell bad aroma from the toilet, it's terrible, the only positive thing is the room very large but you can't enjoy it because bad smell from the toilet.

suggestion for hotel mgt, please put air freshener in room, toilet, and lobby so it will eliminate bad smell.

At now it's not recommended hotel except if you have no other choices to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indo_biz_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surabaya hotels

Toowoomba
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

this hotel is just great the staff are so helpful, the rooms are spacious and well equiped, the resterant is great good food and good service, I recomend this hotel, Surabaya is a difficult city to get around and do not go there or anywhere in Indonesia july - August Ramadam the muslim season all entertainment is stopped, and food hard to get

Room Tip: all rooms are good, although there is no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.0 mi away
POP! Hotel Diponegoro
POP! Hotel Diponegoro
#41 of 134 in Surabaya
120 reviews
2.6 mi away
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
#83 of 134 in Surabaya
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Hotel Surabaya
Quest Hotel Surabaya
#56 of 134 in Surabaya
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Planet Surabaya
Red Planet Surabaya
#11 of 134 in Surabaya
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#27 of 134 in Surabaya
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artotel Surabaya
Artotel Surabaya
#5 of 134 in Surabaya
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oval

Property: Hotel Oval
Address: Jln. Diponegoro 23, Surabaya 60241, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oval 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oval Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing