We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Ampel Mosque
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
79
85
40
9
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
85
40
9
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 213 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

That s the only interesting place in surabaya we visit ,not easy to find ,better go in morning ,in the evening taxi not easy to find for way black.
Muslim dressed code has to be respected

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank AbdeljabarL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the history of the development of Islam in Indonesia, particularly in Java, we know "wali songo" term and one of them is the Sunan Ampel in Surabaya.It's a nice place to visit if you are curious about muslim in Indonesia.The center of this attraction is the Ampel mosque & surrounding.Please don't wear your hot pants & tanktop here :) you can come to the information center in mosque yard around & they'll help you.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank si_bolang_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

there should be an amazing place.. with a beatiful voice of adzan..
sunan ampel also has a religious place..
with a cold water.. and some market places near there...
it sell a lot of hijab, and any religious stuffs and clothes

2  Thank nietha93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

the road near to this mosque is quite crowded with the people and tourist. the arabic square is very hot.should make a fan or midst to reduce the hotness to tourist.

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank Elefunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The mosque area is so lively everyday every minute every hour. But bring lots of cash if you like muslim/ muslimah clothing/ accessories as this is the place to shop. Price are reasonable but as usual, bargain to the max. There are plenty of entry points to the mosque area. There are plenty of hotels nearby within 5-10 minutes walk from the mosque.

Stay here if you wish the spend your time at the mosque. Sunan Ampel's cemetary is just next to the mosque and you may visit the place anytime during the day as it opens to public 24 hours.

Do observe the safety of your belongings as I was told by the locals that pick pockets is an issue here but the number of cases are lower now as compared to before.

There are food stalls, hawkers, restaurants, grocery stores, clothing stores, and plenty more along the streets towards the mosque.

Do not worry about your shoes/ sandals as they are 2-3 people selling plastic bag to keep your shoes/ sandals for Rp500. and if you do not mind, you can leave your shoes with one of the guy, he will take care of your shoes but i do not know how much is the charge.

When i arrived, it was already afternoon. I can feel the atmosphere, it is something which i can't find in Malaysia I believe. We stayed until at night. They have tazkirah at night too.

So, if you are ever in Surabaya, drop by here! You will be amazed to see and feel how Sunan Ampel worked hard to establish Islam in Surabaya and Indonesia. You will feel calm because Quran is recited on a 24 hour basis in this area.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews