We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money at great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
favehotel MEX Surabaya
Ranked #38 of 131 Hotels in Surabaya
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great value for money at great location”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in Fave Kemang (Jakarta) and since we liked it a lot, we decided to stay there in Surabaya too. Initially we stayed one night in a superior room without any windows. Though all other things were ok, I did request a room with one upon our return (another two nights). This superior room is excellent value! The room is well layed out: i like the good safe, many sockets, good shower en great comfortable bed. Service is very good too - a small problem with the safe was fixed in no time and everyone was very helpful. One guy at the reception (so sorry to have forgotten his name) was especially nice, making our stay extra smooth. The hotel is really close to one of Surabaya's largest mall.

Room Tip: Room 251 is a superior without any windows - not very nice (unless you are Batman). 603 is a superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    180
    142
    29
    9
See reviews for
73
70
44
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We love the room so much! Simple, with modern touch and we love the concept of this hotel. It's Pink! We did not have much trouble while staying here for 3 nights except for the shower area which seems to have some drainage problem. Overall it is very good.
This hotel provide delicious breakfast too and it cost only around 50,000rupiah for additional person. This hotel also is very near to Tunjungan Plaza, 5min walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetgemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Simpe hotel. It's suit for bussines trip like me. The room is clean, comfy bed, nice bathroom,flat tv. But, when I entered the room i can smells smokes of cigarettes and i'm asking the room service to refresh my room.Overall its fine.

They also have a restaurant at te ground floor named Drago restaurant. 24 hours service and all the food is so yummy and worth to buy with a standard price. I ordered mozarella fritti and chicken cordon blue. All the guest having a breakfast complimentary at this restaurant and its yummy too. I take soto kudus,toast bread,chicken porridge and orange juice for my breakfast.

Overall, it's nice simple hotel for bussiness trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bundanenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is strategic, in the heart of Surabaya city, so it's not very difficult to go anywhere, especially to Tunjungan Plaza, just a walking distance. The room is quite small but it is very clean. Theinterior design is also chic. The problem of the room is the limited amenities. They only provide soap and toothbrush and toothpaste which actually they need to provide sandals and shower cap. And also the AC is noisy. Need to be fixed. Breakfast is nice and staffs are friendly. I would recommend this hotel for you while you are at Surabaya.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imelda_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our holiday tour to Volcanoes Bromo and Ijen. We were very impressed by the room. The decoration was modern and the design of the 3 sets of concealed lightings was fabulous! There were another 2 lights on the writing table and the bedside table. The glass window between the bed and the bathroom was quite sexy, and you can close it if you like. The air conditioner worked well and was easily controlled by remote. The room size was small but adequate for 2 adults. The only amenities provided were toothbrush and 2 bottles of drinking water, but they can supply you with shower cap, razor, slippers for a small additional fee. No mini bar, but a small shop on the ground floor sells snacks, drinks, etc and is open 24/7. Breakfast was included, and was a good selection of local Indonesian food, salads, porridge and surprising Pizza. This was in their Drago Brasserie and Bar which is also 24/7. They have a Japanese Restaurant and a Chinese Restaurant too.
All-in-all, a very good hotel with best price!! We had a room facing the car park and it was amazingly quiet. But from the layout, some rooms are without windows. Its location is very central and walking distance to Tunjungan Plaza, a huge shopping mall with tons on shops and restaurants. And across the road from Boncafe, winner of best restaurant in Surabaya in 2011 and 2012. Amazing beef, pork, chicken steaks there.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the Car Park-only 4 on each floor. With windows and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Favehotel Surabaya as stopover after holiday in Lombok. I was rewarded a free night stay at Junior suite so we decided to stop for a night in Surabaya also to visit relatives. We arrived around 7PM and check in was quick, so we headed to room right away. The Junior suite was very spacious, it has living area which is good as we have relatives coming for chat. The bed was nice and bathroom is clean as always.

The problem is the air conditioner, it leaked at night so we have to turn it off, luckily it was not too hot and we only sleep for few hours before flying back to jakarta so we didn't make a complaint. But the management should fix it. We checked out at 4 AM, again check out is very quick and we easily get a taxi to get to airport.

Overall, the service and room are excellent, only the air conditioner need to be fixed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It's quiet hard to find this hotel at first. When we arrived, it was so good. We could go everywhere from here because we stayed in the city centre. The design interior is really good. Small room but definitely nice architecture. Great food for breakfast and the staff is really nice and friendly. What I need more from this hotel is swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cesgitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#18 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Suites Hotel
G Suites Hotel
#31 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Planet Surabaya
Red Planet Surabaya
#12 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quest Hotel Surabaya
Quest Hotel Surabaya
#55 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
#80 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Surabaya City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel MEX Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel MEX Surabaya

Property: favehotel MEX Surabaya
Address: Jln. Pregolan 1-5 | Mex Building, Surabaya 60262, Indonesia (Formerly Fave Hotel Surabaya)
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 131 Hotels in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel MEX Surabaya 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 stylish room.in the heart of Surabaya’s just a short stroll of Tunjungan Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your favehotel MEX Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Favehotel MEX Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing