We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our favourite in Surabaya, but Needs much much Improvement!”
Review of Family Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Family Guest House
Ranked #24 of 124 Surabaya B&B and Inns
samarinda
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Still our favourite in Surabaya, but Needs much much Improvement!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the third time I stayed at this guest house. The front view the building now has a wide canopy to cover the carport area. What I felt stay was comfortable and safe during stayed here. The workers were friendly in serving. Provided an extra on the breakfast menu, also very fun to stay at U.S. $ 30/night this.
Which was not pleasant, AC unit in our room was leaking. Water drips constantly when AC turned on. Our 5 year-old boy had slipped and cried all night. The walls are flaking also makes a stunning look not as clean as our previous visits. On our visit this time, coffee machines & automatic cappuchino that we proud of the guest house was broken for three days. What a pity!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericAKIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
14
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is really a little gem. We paid 300 000 Rp For a price which just fitted into our flashpacker budget we had an exceptionnally clean & comfortable room by Indonesian standards. The AC & Wifi worked very well, and the staff were exceptionally attentive providing excellent service. The only point to be aware of is that the staff do not really speak English (they understand some) so cannot provide much tourism help (although they had a brochure to recommend a driver that we used who was great - Andrew)& you need to get your phrasebook ready! We were very lucky to meet Nani, a member of the family who welcomed us in fluent English & showed us around, showed us places to eat in the neighbourhood & gave us
lots of tourism ideas. We would definitely go back there again if we return to Surabaya - a real find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked via Agoda for triple sharing & we stayed just 1 night in this hotel as an overnight stop en-route to East Java tour (Bromo, Semeru & Ijen). It was a little difficult to find the hotel since it was nestled in a nice residential area not too far from the city. It is good value for money although it will be easier if you are able to communicate in Indonesian since the staff there speaks mainly Indonesian. There are nearby warungs where you can get Indonesian food. Would recommend this hotel as a place to explore Surabaya before moving on to other places. Love the fact that we can have hot beverages 24 hours since it is self service. Bottled mineral water is also provided foc and simple breakfast is provided. You are better off finding food at nearby warungs since the food at the hotel is really really basic. They provide nice, clean & fresh bath towels.

Room Tip: Not much difference in the rooms since they are mainly located on the first floor - walk up the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breeze262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Overall this guest house is nice, the staff are friendly, they're fast. Cleaned room and mineral water everyday. The main problem is the price, for USD 30 per night, I think it's too high, it would be better if they're lower the price. I ever stayed on other guest house in Surabaya with much cheaper rate and almost same quality of facilities. I would give this hostel 5 stars if the rate are lower... :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I Wayan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Chose the FGH due to the close proximity to the train station. The staff were difficult to communicate with due to lack of English speaking personnel but we got there eventually. The rooms are very big but pretty basic and you need mosquito repellants.
There are plenty of Warungs in the locale and getting around is quite easy, finding the place was a challenge for the taxi driver but still only took 3 minutes from the station.
This place is OK for 1 or 2 nights but any longer I would have looked further afield. Not particularly good value at 300,000 in my opinion

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, choose to be near to reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterjames0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It took about an hour to travel to the Family Guest House from the airport, and cost about Rp100 000. We chose to stay here as we were heading off by train and the Gubeng station was only about 15 minutes away. So its location was great for that as we had an early departure. I had booked a room with twin beds as I was travelling with my brother, but they could only accommodate us with a double bed. :-( We spent 2 nights here. The warung we ate at first night was closed for the second, but we managed to find another near the mesjid.
The area is quiet, and yes, it was difficult for the taxi driver to find with just an address. So do print off a map. FGH in a lane, in a suburban type area. Our room was big and clean enough (though some smells coming from the drain in the bathroom), and plenty of power points in convenient locations for recharging phones etc. Wifi access was great, and available in the room. No daylight could come into our room as the only window was right next to the wall of a building next door, so I wasn't happy with that.
Breakfast was upstairs, Indonesian style. Help yourself tea/coffee. There was also free coffee/tea making facilities in the lobby.
Staff were friendly but have limited knowledge of English. Taxis when ordered came promptly. Would I stay here again? Yes, but I would ask for a room with light, perhaps the upstairs ones?

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for one with natural daylight...I didn't like our room that totally in darkness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geromam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel it was reasonnable price 300000rp. It was really clean. Staff doesn't speak english but they are really kind and try to help you.
Unfortunately it's a little bit noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paulinebarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel NEO Gubeng
Hotel NEO Gubeng
#33 of 134 in Surabaya
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
#26 of 134 in Surabaya
324 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
Prime Royal Hotel Surabaya
#83 of 134 in Surabaya
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Garden Palace Hotel
Garden Palace Hotel
#49 of 134 in Surabaya
266 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arcadia Surabaya Hotel
Arcadia Surabaya Hotel
#50 of 134 in Surabaya
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Manyar, Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Guest House

Property: Family Guest House
Address: Jln. Gubeng Kertajaya no. 15 | Masuk Dari Bank Ganesha Kertajaya, Surabaya 60281, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Family Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house with homy service. Free coffee and tea all day long, blazing speed internet connection, air conditioned room with hot water shower, clean crisp bed sheet in spacious room with window. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Family Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Guest House Hotel Surabaya
Family Guest House Surabaya, Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing