We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-try and unique local-version of Steak”
Review of Boncafe Restaurant

Boncafe Restaurant
Ranked #118 of 1,666 Restaurants in Surabaya
Cuisines: European, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must-try and unique local-version of Steak”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This is the most long lasting cafe known for its steak in Surabaya. I knew this restaurant for more than 30 years. Their steak is unique and is local translation of Italian steak. So if you visit Surabaya, make sure you visit and try Boncafe.

I usually open with Asparagus Cream Soup. Together with soft roll, it is so yummy.
They serve many kind of steak from poultry, tenderloin, pork, fish, lamb, and everything. My favorite is Mix-Grill steak. You get a piece of chicken, tenderloin, sausage, pork in a hot plate. Boncafe is known for its steak gravy. Any kind of steak will need this special gravy.
They were only serve local meat, but they have been evolving by serving US or Australian meat for rib-eye and else.

For those who wants non-steak dish, try its Japanese Fried Rice, which is Boncafe's local translation of Omurice.

For the drinks, they have been evolving too, they have many international drinks and even they serve various flavor of TWG tea.

Don't forget to close it with its dessert. My favorite is their various ice cream combination such as Black Lady. This menu has been there for tens of years. So again, this is a local translation of fancy ice cream from old time.

Overall the service is good and reasonably fast, but the price is fantastically cheap. Yes, cheap.

The ambience is modern as they continuously renovate their cafés.

Come and try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaptainEwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    35
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable and nice”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Western food tweaked to the liking of the locals. Nevertheless, very tasty, affordable dishes served in a pleasant ambience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rekria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super Taste, Excellent Price.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This is one infamous Steak place in Surabaya.
The owner already run this steak cafe for 2 or 3 generations, maybe.
The unique one is, they never have a credit card promo. Why? Because according to them, they are the generation to generation cafe, where people believe the quality, and will pass the news mouth to mouth. And heck, it happens!!

This is one of the best steak cafe IMO. Even compared to some steak cafe in Jakarta, I still longing for Boncafe. You can have a 100K IDR steak quality and taste for only half of the price in Boncafe.

So, let's start scoring:
Place: again, it's a family resto. Even often only couples came here. This Boncafe in Manyar have a nice outdoor space that is nice and a bit romantic.
Food Taste: no doubt!
Food portion: i always come back home FULL.
Price: reasonable. For Surabaya standard, it's a bit high. But if you already experienced,like, Jalarta's standard, you'll love its price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lousy service”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

timing of serving is not there at all, reminding waiters does not help. extremely annoying diner place. does not live up to its reputation at all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The best!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This was the best steak ive ever ate!!.. i choosed tenderloin steak and am asking for extra mushroom sauce, an extra IDR 3.000 charged to my bill but it was fine... i dont know how they cook their beef but its so delicious and juicy.. good taste, good resto. I suggest you to eat at Manyar Street.. good price!!.. i really really like it..

Helpful?
Thank distyDistydisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boncafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boncafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing