We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak with Indonesian taste”

Boncafe Steak & Ice Cream
Ranked #10 of 1,666 Restaurants in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steak with Indonesian taste”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Can not deny, this is the most popular steak house for years. It have been consistent serving good steak with splash of Indonesian taste.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soe_the_arts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    172
    54
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak flavor typical of Surabaya”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Everyone will love steak, but at this restaurant I found a different steak flavor. Stronger spice flavor makes it unique compared to similar sellers steak in this town. The meat is tender and vegetables are similar to steak elsewhere, may even be said to be lost in the variations, but the flavor of the sauce is combined well with chicken, beef, tenderloin or sirloin really tempting and exciting to be visiting here regularly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So..So..”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Well... straight to the point, for me there is nothing special about the steak.. it is just like common steak/menu, that many of steak restaurant has ( may be in different name ). Many people in town are fans of this restaurant ( especially the steak ). But for me... the steak taste it's just so.. so.. I changed my French Fries into mashed potatoes but mashed potatoes portion is very small. And if I want Ice cream, I will go to Ice restaurant around manyar area. Overall...the steak and ice cream taste are so so.. and overpriced but you can try if you visit Surabaya

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Expensive Restaurant with too long service.”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I visited to this restaurant with my wife and daughter. I ordered 3 portion of steaks and snacks. I must wait 35 minutes to have my order. Taste is very average. Price of food is very expensive. I don't understand why this restaurant is always full. Maybe different people different taste. I do not want to come to this restaurant again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunawan_karnata8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is one of our family fave resto. I feel that the service need to be improved. It takes about 20 min to get attended. I hailed the waitress more than 10 times. Just shook their head but no action. I ordered chicken steak with leg portion but yet they served me chicken breast. Thr taste are horrible. Overcooked and the steak was stick with the plate. I think people are overly rating this resto.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hendro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boncafe Steak & Ice Cream also viewed

 
Surabaya, East Java
 

Been to Boncafe Steak & Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing