We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy and casual, perfect for 1st date!”

La Rucola Mediterranean Restaurant
Ranked #173 of 1,537 Restaurants in Surabaya
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cozy and casual, perfect for 1st date!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Food are nice, dessert are interesting. The ambiance of the restaurant is very cozy, not too crowded. Service is excellent. One if the best restaurant in Surabaya.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    141
    34
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place, good food, hope service could catch up. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Went to La Rucola with friends. Note, I'm living in Jakarta and always thrilled by the pictures of La Rucola my friend shared on Instagram.

It was a busy Saturday night, I didn't have reservation. Me and my friends were seated in a cozy lounge sofa near the entrance. So far the atmosphere is really nice.

Got our table, seated just few meters away from the kitchen station. I was expecting a quiet discussion until I start noticing how the kitchen rampantly rang their service bell. Starts to get annoying and the service went down hill from here.

The kitchen ruined out Chocolate Melt dessert. They agreed to replace it. But the decision to serve a ruined dessert at the first place, I just can't understand.

Finished with our dinner, near to closing time. Waiter started to clean up our table and taking everything in from of me. Just without saying any pardon.

Call me picky, call me cranky. Despite all that happened, the food quality surpasses my expectations. Their spaghetti oglio olio is superb. Their desserts are magnificent. I had a caramel flan, delicia chocolate melt for my friend, and of course tiramisu.
I'll compensate the waiters with good review on the food.

Helpful?
Thank jeffreyhs2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The best authentic italian cuisine in surabaya ! Unfortunately i forgot what i ate but it supposed to be spaghetti with clams and white wine. It was good and my pizza was good too. Great food , the price was quite high though still somehow reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The real resto on Surabaya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you looking for premium resto, you should visit it. Its an excellent place for dinner. Good taste of food, good service and off course a premium price ...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andryanto e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So tasty & Mouth succulent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

It is one of the best Italian Resto in Surabaya, very romantic, and got a smoking area also for the smoker. It located in the center of the city but the flaw is the parking which so peaked on the weekends. The service is great and their pizza is so tasty. They should provide a glass of water instead of charging the guest for USD. 1.25/600ml of bottled water. Even 5 star hotel, they serve a glass of plain water everywhere. Rather than people bring their own beverages secretly.
Well, they got a one thumbs up for the food and their ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKWANG168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rucola Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

Surabaya, East Java
Surabaya, East Java
 
Surabaya, East Java
Surabaya, East Java
 

Been to La Rucola Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing