We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very practical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Surabaya
Malang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very practical”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was the nearest to and from the Juanda airport in Surabaya yet so near the amenities of a gigantic mall called Ciputra World....I had the pleasure of booking ths hotel online and the check n was as painless as it could be, especially having flown in from an early morning flight.
Although it was too early for me to get into the room, the concierge delivery of bags into my room after helped me to go straight to meetings and keep up with my schedule of the day.
And when I needed a car rental fr my next city destination, they were ready to advise what was the best and economical solution. How practical is that!
My hats off to all the courteous staff......

Room Tip: Avoid standard room if u extend your budget.....the deluxe rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUSUF A, e - Commerce Manager at Java Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear „Jasmin S“,

We appreciate the time you spent posting the positive feedback following your recent visit to JAVA PARAGON Hotel. Your title sums it all up - "Very Practical." As our motto is "Simply Inspiring" our aims is to offer our guests a entirely satisfactory service at the JAVA PARAGON Hotel Surabaya.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed and satisfied with our services

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the JAVA PARAGON Hotel Surabaya and made your reservation On-Line through our Hotel Website.
It is nice to read that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel which is near the Juanda International Airport and also near the Gigantic mall CIPUTRA WORLD.

It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. That requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time. We are pleased to read that our concierge team were very helpful by delivering all of the bags into your room after helped you to go straight to your meetings so you were able to keep up with your schedule of the day.

The JAVA PARAGON Hotel is known for its friendly and helpful staff which always strives to answer the guests wishes. We are also very pleased to read that our concierge team were well trained to give you the best alternative economical solutions when you were intended to have a car rental for your next city destination.
We were overwhelmed and quite honored that you were giving your hats off to all of the courteous staff, certainly we have passed this on to our Concierge Team and employees.

We will do our very best to continue to provide excellent service and a beautiful facility for you and our valued guests to have an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

Yours Respectfully,

Achmad YUSUF
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    231
    108
    22
    15
See reviews for
82
35
24
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel to stay in Surabaya. Especially for business trip. Cozy. The room space is good, amenities is good. Room is clean. No Bathtub only hot & cold shower.

Restaurant: Foods are fantastic. Many choices of breakfast menu. Nice to have the Chef coming to you asking "how was the food?" and happily explain a little bit how he made such good foods.

Good rooftop bar and lounge in the evening.

In-room massage is okay, nothing special.

Swimming pool is not convenient, due to the place is located accross the hotel building. It takes you to cross the basement parking lot to reach swimming pool and fitness center. Cumbersome.

Not too far from the hotel there is Ciputra Wold Mall. Huge, you can have anything that you can name it there; good restaurants, shopping, entertainment, cinema, etc.

Location close to toll road. Quite far to the downtown especially during the rush hour, will take roughly like 45 minutes to reach downtown.

My last visit, getting to checked-in was taking quite long in administrative things.

Overall: Great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin_Rdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUSUF A, e - Commerce Manager at Java Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Edwin Rosadi,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and your positive words.

We are very pleased to read your kind words about the hotel which is nice to stay during your business stay in Surabaya, the spacious room, the good room amenities and also room cleanliness.

We are very happy that you remark the hotel perfect location which is close to toll road and just a walking distances to the huge CIPUTRA World mall. We are also appreciate your positive comment for our Citilites, Roof Top Lounge and Bar.

Our hotel was built in 1997 with the original design from the architect that the building set-up was designed in two building towers with the swimming pool location is in the middle of both towers, as well as the fitness center. Therefore in accessing both facilities all guest will have to pass our hotel lobby and no need to cross the basement parking. And as our highest aim is to make our guest feel comfortable and home, our Guest Relation Officer and concierge will be very happy to escort every single guest in showing both locations of Swimming Pool and Fitness Center.

We know that a successful start into the day is often supported by a sufficient breakfast. Therefore we do our best to serve our guests a rich and diverse breakfast together with the will to keep up the high quality of our food.
We are very pleased to read your kind words about how the Chef coming during your breakfast and asking of how was the food and happily explain a little bit of how he made such a good food. Certainly we have passed this on to our Executive Chef and employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in JAVA PARAGON Hotel and hoping we can prove our high standard of hospitality next time.

Yours Respectfully


Achmad YUSUF
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A current guest checking out today. We were previously staying at Sheraton. Having read the reviews about service and all, we decided to give it a try. Rates are almost comparable to Sheraton and Shangrila which is opposite is perhaps only 20% which is very minimal for Singaporeans like us.

First step in experience was already bad while checking in. Staffs were rude and unfriendly and not helpful. i have no idea where all the reviews came about that staffs were friendly. To be honest, throughout the whole trip here, this is the ONLY place I experienced rudeness and unfriendliness. Shame. Trying to be comparable to 5 star hotels but can't even display proper service. I asked for 2 bedroom apartment and if we could view it before we decide. Answer is NO. Cuz the room is tidied and ready to be sold. Strange. First time I came across a hotel like that. It's just taking a look.

Next came morning. Early in the morning, 9 plus, they will start calling your room asking if you are extending. Seriously. How can the hotel just presumes everyone wakes up by 9am??? Totally ridiculous. First time ever I have encountered such experience. I had thought that was a one off. However, same thing happened next day. Which is today. Goodness. I have a child with me. And the phone call totally woke her up! Is that how your hotel lets your guests have a good rest?? Asking a totally redundant question every single day! If there was an extension, the guest would inform isn't it?

Another worst experience. Housekeeping. We wanted housekeeping in the evening instead and was told to pay IDR200000. ?!?! We have been to numerous boutique hotels. Again. This is the first. As you can imagine, we have many "FIRST" with your hotel and I would not say is a pleasant one.

For the amount you have to pay, I strongly recommend to go with other hotels. For this sort of service and standards, even my husband who is the most patient person in the world says its totally screwed up and he would not even return even if its Free!

Room Tip: Avoid. There are better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessieng828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUSUF A, e - Commerce Manager at Java Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Jessieng828

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at the JAVA PARAGON HOTEL.
We sat together with the Front Office Team and Housekeeping and discussed the issue that it won't happen anymore. We thank you very much for your constructive criticism.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed and satisfied with our services.

If you come back to our Hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Thank You

Yours Respectfully

Achmad YUSUF
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked rooms for 22 people (18 rooms). I think the reservation department is very naughty,booked the rooms on the 12th of June for 1 night, but they charged us for 2 nights. They said we booked for 2 nights, after we argued about it and they said we cannot cancel the second night, we showed the prove by the email then they admitted they were wrong.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUSUF A, e - Commerce Manager at Java Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Stephen K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the reservation issue and or, spoken with the employee in question. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed and satisfied with our services.

If you come back to our Hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Thank You

Yours Respectfully

Achmad YUSUF
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I got upgrade to Suit Room... :)) Many Thanks! the size is wasted for 'alone' me... nice clean room makes good mood and comfy to relax, the friendly staff is always helpful, the location is near to Ciputra World Mal and Surabaya Town Square.
...finally, the breakfast buffet is Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matias Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUSUF A, e - Commerce Manager at Java Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Matias Kris S,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback.

The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority. We make an effort to offer our guests an excellent service at the JAVA PARAGON Hotel.

We were overwhelmed and quite honored that you were also mentioned our extra excellent Executive Suite room with its spacious size and unquestionable cleanliness and our interior view which was calming, comfy and relaxing. We are always willing to find the perfect room for every single guest.

It is nice to read that you remark the perfect location of our hotel which is just a walking distance of CIPUTRA WORLD Mall and Surabaya Town Square.

It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. That requires a helpful, friendly and very obliging service at any time.
Hospitality and helpfulness are not only catchwords to us but rather lived by us.

We know that a successful start into the day is often supported by a sufficient breakfast. Therefore we do our best to serve our guests a rich and diverse breakfast together with the will to keep up the high quality of our food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in JAVA PARAGON Hotel and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Yours Respectfully,

Achmad YUSUF
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for 9 days for business, this hotel have a nice gym and swimming pool, in-room dining menu also fantastic. It's located in walking distance to Ciputra World mall and also very near to toll road.

Room Tip: Room at 20th floor and heading south have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio_Rusli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUSUF A, e - Commerce Manager at Java Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Rio Rusli,

Thank you for taking the time to share your 9 days experience at JAVA PARAGON Hotel.
We are definitely agree with your observation that we are strategically located which is just in a walking distance of CIPUTRA WORLD mall and near to toll road

Thank you too for your compliments on our Gym, swimming pool, and also in room dining menu. We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage and hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come.

Yours Respectfully,

Achmad YUSUF
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Most memorable moment I spent in the hotel was getting a warm welcome from the staff. Right on the moment I stepped into the lobby, never I missed a smile and greetings from them. The room was extra-excellent as well, if I may say. Cleanliness is unquestionable and the interior view was calming and relaxing, and it was easy to forget about the time as I enjoyed resting and sleeping on the cozy bed and pillows. Location of the hotel was strategic, so it was easy to reach any business place you need to visit. Great view for the swimming pool too....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohanfengshui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUSUF A, e - Commerce Manager at Java Paragon Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Yohanfengshui

Thank you for so incredibly kind and gracious to mention JAVA PARAGON Hotel is an Excellent Hotel in your glowing review.

As you discovered, we are quite fortunate to have a wonderful staff who are so willing to extend their warmest smile and greetings.

It is nice to read that you remarked hotel strategic location and also our great view for the swimming pool.

We were overwhelmed and quite honored that you were also mentioned our extra excellent room with its unquestionable cleanliness and our interior view which was calming and relaxing.

We will do our very best to continue to provide excellent service and a beautiful facility for you and our valued guests to have an enjoyable resting.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

Yours Respectfully,

Achmad YUSUF
e-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#23 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#21 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Verwood Hotel and Serviced Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Alana Surabaya
The Alana Surabaya
#10 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quest Hotel Surabaya
Quest Hotel Surabaya
#55 of 131 in Surabaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#2 of 131 in Surabaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Java Paragon Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Java Paragon Hotel & Residences

Property: Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
Address: Jln. Mayjen Sungkono 101-103, Surabaya 60189, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Surabaya
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#16 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Java Paragon Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Java Paragon Hotel & Residence is a 4 Stars Hotel with a Modern Minimalist design. Only a 20-minute drive from the Juanda International Airport and a 15-minutes drive from the Surabaya central business district. Free Wi-Fi High Speed internet access is available in all rooms, apartments, and public areas.All guest rooms and Apartment units in Java Paragon are well-equipped with a minibar, a hair dryer, and a flat screen TV. 24-hour room service and valet service is also available. Guests of the Java Paragon can exercise in its well-equipped fitness center, a swimming pool, sauna, and a tennis court for guest use.Guest can enjoy cocktails and snacks in The Lounge in Paragon Hotel. The Café Restaurant serves a blend of western and Asian favorites all day. The Executive Lounge is also accessible for those whose staying at Executive Floors and Suites Rooms. The Citilites Skyclub and Bistro with its magnificent city view serves gourmet dishes on the building rooftop terrace in 21st floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Java Paragon Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Java Paragon Hotel And Residences
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences Surabaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing