We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Surabaya
Reviewed July 16, 2012

While the room was very nice and the pool was beautiful, the security staff was unfriendly and unhelpful and the manager needs to learn how to treat the guests. We stayed for two nights and despite the nice facilities, the attitude of the manager and security guards left much to be desired. After a miscommunication regarding an extra bed and breakfast being included, after admitting and apologizing for the mistake, the manager refused to honor the inclusive breakfast and insisted that despite their mistake, each of the four occupants of the room had to pay. It would have been very easy for her to have granted four breakfasts at the buffet one day, in fact such a gesture would have cost the hotel nothing since there was an abundance of food at the buffet and few guests on that day.

The security guards treated our indonesian guests with scorn and contempt, yet were very polite to me, a westerner.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank DKNYgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 632 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I booked 2 Hotel rooms for me and my boss and unluckily all rooms full and we arrived in Surabaya about 24:00 . We did not have choice than taking an apartment.
It was the worst i have ever stay and seen in my life. Bathroom was disgusting , dusty from the guest room to all over the place. Towels has spots everywhere and it was just too much for our 1.5 million rupiah per night. Do not ever stay in this apartment ever !!!! i hope the management can think about it and do some review. I ended up taking my shower at the bathroom outside.

Room Tip: Please check the room before you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nov F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Ğoº°˚˚°ºoϑ view from top floor.
Nice coz near high way that make short trip to the airport
Many kind of food that amazing

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perwita88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My friends and I (a group of 7 people) stayed in the family suite. Our room was upgraded from the old building to the new building. As an apartment suite it lives up to its name. Huge space, with living room combined with dining area, kitchen, and even the maid's room & bathroom.

There are 3 bedrooms :
1 master bedroom with king-sized bed, private bathroom and bathtub, and TV inside the room.
1 bedroom with queen-sized bed, bathroom is next door.
1 bedroom with twin beds, bathroom is inside.
Each rooms are very spacious and equipped with AC.

Kitchen is equipped with electric water boiler (to make instant coffee or tea), refrigerator, water dispenser, stove, oven, sink & kitchen utensils.
Living room is equipped with sofa, LCD TV and AC. Behind the sofa was dining table for 6 people.

Room Tip: If you're a rather large group of people, it would be best to choose the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sisca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Rooms were clean, bathroom was spotless and large. Nice towels and sheets. The floor had not been vacuumed though... I loved the buffet breakfast, many different foods to choose from. The pools are huge with nice frangipanni trees. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good Hotel with good rate & Service.
Clean Room,Good Breakfast and helpful staff

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cointreau01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We visited Surabaya, Indonesia 1-5 May 2012 during an Asian vacation, and stayed at the Java Paragon Hotel (deluxe room with breakfast). The hotel is located across the street from the Shangri-La hotel. International ATMs are nearby at Citicorp (across the street and the better rate) & Commonwealth bank. The room (#1816) was adequate and very clean. We had a nice firm bed, and had a good nights sleep each night. Room furnishings were sparse. It had a bed, chair, safe and refrigerator. The room needs a folding luggage stand and small table. A retractable clothes line and additional towel rack would have been nice, The buffet breakfast each morning was above average. We ate at the Japanese restaurant, the food was very good. The hotel staff was friendly. We did not use additional services. I would stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank activeguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Surabaya
1.8 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#18 of 136 in Surabaya
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciputra World Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
JW Marriott Hotel Surabaya
#3 of 136 in Surabaya
847 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#29 of 136 in Surabaya
697 reviews
2.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Gubeng Surabaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Java Paragon Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Java Paragon Hotel & Residences

Address: Jl. Mayjen Sungkono no. 101-103, Surabaya 60189, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Surabaya
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surabaya
#14 Business Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range: $37 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Java Paragon Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Java Paragon Hotel & Residence is a 4 Stars Hotel with a Modern Minimalist design. Only a 20-minute drive from the Juanda International Airport and a 15-minutes drive from the Surabaya central business district. Free Wi-Fi High Speed internet access is available in all rooms, apartments, and public areas.All guest rooms and Apartment units in Java Paragon are well-equipped with a minibar, a hair dryer, and a flat screen TV. 24-hour room service and valet service is also available. Guests of the Java Paragon can exercise in its well-equipped fitness center, a swimming pool, sauna, and a tennis court for guest use.Guest can enjoy cocktails and snacks in The Lounge in Paragon Hotel. The Café Restaurant serves a blend of western and Asian favorites all day. The Executive Lounge is also accessible for those whose staying at Executive Floors and Suites Rooms. The Citilites Skyclub and Bistro with its magnificent city view serves gourmet dishes on the building rooftop terrace in 21st floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Java Paragon Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Java Paragon Hotel And Residences
Java Paragon Hotel & Residences Surabaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing