We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre service and room, terrible shower.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santika Pandegiling Surabaya
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Surabaya
Certificate of Excellence
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre service and room, terrible shower.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on Feb 2013 for a business trip.

Room size was not very spacious, but still okay. Slippers were provided. LCD tv with several international channel was available. Internet connection with LAN cable worked fine. Air conditioning took some time to get cool.

My room had twin beds and they were very small.

The bathroom was unsatisfactory as it was small, the hot water took forever, the shower created a complete wet mess, spilling water on to the floor, and I had to get really close to the wall for the water to reach me.
Major improvement needed for the bathroom!

Bath towel and hand towel were provided and replaced every day.

Strong wind was heard from the window (9th floor). I checked and found the window to be locked, but strong whirring sound still could be heard and some wind penetrated in, as the curtains swayed a little. Could do some more improvement here.

Breakfast was just okay, standard selection of Indonesian and Continental menu. The majority of guests seemed to be business people, so by 9am some menu were finished already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    117
    44
    5
    0
See reviews for
39
23
13
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Easy check-in procedure. Nice touch to have wedang jahe as welcome drink!
the room was well maintained considering its 13 year old age. The only part that looks really aged is the bathroom. I think Santika should immediately do something about it.
Breakfast was nice, the choices were good, and they have a specific corner for authentic Indonesian dishes from street snacks to lontong cap go meh. The Soto Kadipiro was nice. Breakfast area can be packed on weekends, and some food trays can be found empty.
The Santika brand has developed into a hotel brand with arguably the best Indonesian touch.
Mattress was nice and comforting for a rigorous business travel.
Location: there is a night market in front of the hotel and this has been so for years. But the location itself is very strategic, close to Darmo area, and also close to Tunjungan area. I chose this hotel for its location which would allow me to explore all parts of Surabaya easily.
I recommend this hotel for business travels, but also for families who want to explore the city of Surabaya (all the cultures, culinary, and probably some mall-hopping activities).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regawa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Took this hotel for the great reviews for the food. True enough, the breakfast and the in- room service meals were really good. The room was clean, bed and pillow was perfect(very soft). Noises from outside the hotel can be heard but that did not affect my sleep at all. Staff was really friendly and helpful. I forgot to bring 2 pin plug adaptor and thankfully the hotel have loaned for free. I have no issues with the wi-fi as I mainly use the wifi for facebook, instagram and whatsapp.

The only downside was the bathroom design was a lil bit outdated but it was very clean. Also, tried walking outside of the hotel and felt really unsafe so stayed indoor for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSL_3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Although this Santika Hotel has been around over 10 years the recent renovations have really upgraded this property. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. The restaurant approaches 5 star design and has a fantastic breakfast buffet; Asian and Western selection, fruit & fresh pastry. For the price it is an amazing deal. The location is fantastic for central Surabaya and close to some of the popular shopping malls and business district. They pay attention to detail and the security staff even cleaned our car (lookin' very dirty after the drive from Bali). I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The main criterion for choosing this hotel was the rave reviews about their breakfast buffet which we later found to be just one notch above many 3 or 4-star hotels. However, I soon realized that it was not a good yardstick to use in selecting a hotel due to various reasons.

The hotel itself had been refurbished except that I think when the renovation was done they must have left out the bathroom area as the bedroom and bathroom looked like they were of different time zones. The bathroom was sadly outdated and of a past era with an old toilet bowl containing dirty-looking water all the time and also a long bath that was too high and dangerous for senior guests. However, the bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen TV with satellite reception. Wi-fi was provided free and the signal was excellent even in the room or anywhere within the hotel premises.

Although the hotel is considered to be within city limits, taking a walk to the city centre proper could be quite challenging and a taxi was always preferred. Getting a taxi was no problem at all as there is a stand just outside the hotel. There are two major taxi companies in Surabaya viz. Bluebird and O-renz and both are metered taxis and ply the city area.

The hotel employees from the bellboy, reception counter right up to the restaurant, were a cheerful and pleasant lot and that made our day. Overall, we had quite a pleasant two-night stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We love the wide spread of local delights that we had at breakfast. The staff are also very professional and helpful in giving us directions and information.

The room is clean and spacious. The bathroom is however a little dated.

The only complaint we have is we were awoken up twice in the middle of the night by prayers and loud music. When we went back to stay a second time before flying off home, we specifically asked for a room with a different facing and on higher floor. We had room 601 and we are glad that we had a good sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northern_cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really a nice staff, perfect food and lovely location. I stay 3 night and it was really a good stay. when I go out in the night I see a traditional market and find a amazing food (Babi Kecap). That was a really nice to take picture. Overall this hotels is a classic hotel with almost old stuff and building but with lovely food at breakfast. Well... I will come for another business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surabaya hotels
0.7 mi away
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#19 of 134 in Surabaya
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Surabaya City Center Hotel
0.6 mi away
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
G Suites Hotel by AMITHYA
#25 of 134 in Surabaya
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
Grand Darmo Suite by AMITHYA
#23 of 134 in Surabaya
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artotel Surabaya
Artotel Surabaya
#6 of 134 in Surabaya
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Surabaya
Mercure Surabaya
#27 of 134 in Surabaya
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santika Pandegiling Surabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santika Pandegiling Surabaya

Property: Hotel Santika Pandegiling Surabaya
Address: Raya Darmo Jln. Pandegiling 45, Surabaya 60264, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Surabaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surabaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santika Pandegiling Surabaya 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santika Pandegiling Surabaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santika Pandegiling Surabaya Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing