We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigarette...history n hangout”

House of Sampoerna Cafe
Ranked #19 of 2,239 Restaurants in Surabaya
Price range: $20 - $25
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

Offering historical about sampoerna factory...the paper the brand the ingredient like tobacco, clove etc. When first entered this museum very identical with smell of tobacco. And from the second floor we can see the process of making a cigarette but the management avoid us to take picture of this proccess due to their privacy. Also any souvenirs shop n from this museum we can also hangout with friend at the a cafe

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank yuliaditha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 372 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

This cafe was a nice place to visit with family or friends and event for special occasion or just lunch meeting. The building is ancient and therefore very nice. Cool ambiance, brings all the memories of the Dutch era in Indonesia. Next to the house and cigarette factory belongs to the fame family of sampoerna Indonesia.
The food are highly acceptable with a moderate pricing. Recommended for bringing your friends and special one spending good time here.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Iwan360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

A group of is had lunch here before visiting the museum. Ext door.
The venue looks as if it was once a factory building with high ceiling and attractive arches and coloured windows. Also lots of colourful pictures and old adverts on the walls. The lunch was a buffet of Indonesian food which was of good quality with free water and delicious iced tea provided. Beer was available to purchase, though they had run out of Bintang when we were there. We enjoyed our visit. The toilets were clean and modern.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank GinieMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Good atmosphere
Good Meals
Good Services
Good place location

Maybe the price are bit high, but its good one to try, definitely worth to order!
No regret

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iamrioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

The tour guide is very informative and very helpful. For me, tour guide existence is highly important in a museum. Here they have several which are available for several groups of people.
Everything displayed is maintained well in the museum. I rarely find Indonesia museum with this standard.

Only what we missed is we could not have the chance to try the heritage bus tour in the public holiday when we came, due to no available seat for the bus tour.
Maybe the team can provide one more additional tour for public holiday.

For that nice and good service, I think if they charge in the good reason range of price for the tickets or additional bus tour seat, people are willing to pay as well.

Besides that, I think they are still lacking of promoting the A Cafe's special menu for that month while touring at museum.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank sshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Sampoerna Cafe also viewed

 

Been to House of Sampoerna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.