We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in south Sukabumi”

Ujung Genteng Beach
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Sukabumi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Beautiful beaches, wildlife, virgin nature.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Paradise in south Sukabumi”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ujung Genteng is located about 200km from Jakarta, i went there by motorcycle, it takes about 7 hours driving from jakarta. the trip to Ujung Genteng is very interesting, drive through pine forests, tea garden and windings road. the long trip will be pay off with a beautiful view. when we almost reach Ujung genteng, in our left side of the road, we could see the ocean, grass with cows spread on it, so beautiful. I stayed at Pangumbahan beach, from this beach is closer to watch the turtle nesting at night. if you stay at Ujun Genteng beach, rather far to the turtle conservation. Lucky me, i saw green sea turtles (Chelonia mydas) nesting at 01.00, it's really amazing moment. ujung gentang and pangumbahan beach are beaches with coral spread along the seaside, be careful if you swim on it, sometimes there have current wave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Syennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    75
    23
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bekasi, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“All tired paid off by looking at turtle in nature”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It need 7 hours drive from Jakarta to Ujung Genteng and after Sukabumi the road is horrible. There are many lodges there, mostly is traditional belongs to local but there is also good hotel. The beach is beautiful and very natural. But I think the best in Ujung Genteng is turtle. After long and tiring journey, everything was paid off after we saw baby turtle swim into the sea for the first time. The Conservation will release baby turtle twice a day on 8 AM and 5 PM depend on weather. In the evening we can see the turtle spawn. Ask your hotel or lodge staff to ask for the information from the Conservation about the time of turtle release and spawn and make sure you arrive on time or you'll miss the greatest moment. From your hotel or lodge you better use "ojek" (motorbike) because the road is very bad. It take about 5-10 minutes from lodging area. You can ask to the lodge or hotel staff to find motorbike.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuelpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not like our expectation”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A Beach with average type view... but the way to go there is so difficult... bad access to achieve the beach

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniAriyanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I went to Ujung Genteng. At first I think it just ordinary beach, but on the edge of the beach, after the turtle farm, i found a secret beach that is very quiet and untouchable. It has a river that comes from the sea and green scenery. What a heaven!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank aonlyMISTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise in west java”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

first time I have visit this beach was 1980 when I was junior high school student. The memory of beautiful beach always calling me back. Because I have move to another city, and my job made me travelling to many place. I never have time to visit this place, Once I have time to visit this place on 2012,
The place you should visit is another beach about 2 km before Ujung genteng is Pasir ipis. This mean in sunda language thin sand, you will find rocky beach and not much wave an facing direct to Indian Ocean. Very quite place. and after that you could got to Ujung Genteng beach with white sand and great wave , this beach also facing to Indian ocean, not far from this place you go to turtle breeding area , If you lucky you could see the turtle lying egg in dark night.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ong_giri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ujung Genteng Beach also viewed

Sukabumi, West Java
Sukabumi, West Java
 
Sukabumi, West Java
 

Been to Ujung Genteng Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing