We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roemahkoe Resto an awful dining experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roemahkoe Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Solo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am not going to write about the hotell but it is strange that even in this site, the search button didnt recognised the resto. So I got to write my review about the resto in the hotel column. The hotel is nice and beautiful, I agree. I was curious reading the info about the resto, it is said they also have heritqge menu from the Keraton chef such as nasi jemblung, selat solo, etc and it is one of tourist attractions. So I went there with my 9 other relatives for dinner and I was dissapointed. They are no other guest than us, only one waitres served us. First they run out of the ginger which the essentials ingrdients for traditionil drinks. Then believe it or not some of the food came about an hour later it was Misoa sup which was for us it is a simple easy to prepare. We didnt even get the water, the glass still upnside down! Seiriously.. It was an awfull dining experience. Don't bring your important guess to this restaurant if you didnt want to be embarassed and compare with other restaurant in Solo, it is nit cheap rstaurant either. Poor for your value of money...

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank DewiRetnowati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

As an architect with a faible for historic houses I could not be but delighted. This old mansion is pure Art Déco and in Europe it would be a hot choice for architects or art minded people. My room was absolutely beautiful with Art Déco windows, the authentic furniture, every detail in the bathroom. But it was in no way just museum like because everything was well maintained, immaculate clean and functional, AC and hot water. And the management made the choice: If in doubt in favour of the guest. So inspite of the fact that they did not have television in the 1920s there was a flatscreen TV. Beds were perfect, very comfortable. The whole plan of the place is exquisite, the restaurant open to a courtyard with water and plants and there too every piece of furniture, lamps, china and cutlery matching the style. Restaurant and courtyard surround the core of the house with reception and some rooms which exhibit things of the period so one can imagine how the dutch owners lived in this house a century ago. As it was a private house the scale of it is personal, everything is in the groundfloor and orientation is easy.

And I enjoyed not to be. in a museum when it comes to the food too - breakfast was rich and tasty with a lot of choice between Indonesian or European food. The menu for dinner was up to the surroundings, Indonesian food but refined with a little reference to European taste. Travelling alone and not being absorbed in a conversation over dinner I was not only able to pay attention to the food which it deserved but also enjoyed traditional live gamelan music and a female singer with beautiful Indonesian songs.

I realize that I am using superlatives - I am afraid. I cannot stop yet because the very good service was personalized in the manager of this remarkable place, who was pleased to share her knowledge about the place and about Solo. As she is a charming women I have to assure that this review really is objective! After 5 month in Indonesia I am convinced that this was the nicest hotel I stayed in. And the price was very reasonable, though travelling on a limited budget I could well afford it.

If you are in Solo do not miss to attend a dancing performance ( rehearsal as well) in the Royal (not the Prince's) Kraton. And spend a visit to the Academy of Performing Arts, where you can see the students dance, sing, act, play gamelan and violin. I was the only tourist, shown round by a teacher and it was very impressive.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gottfried Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My first impression was: 'what an amazing place'.
I had just ridden a motorcycle all day and arrived feeling rather grubby and worn out but was met by lovely staff who were very professional and hospitable, despite my appearance. The rooms are spacious and clean, the restaurant provides great meals and the environment was serene and relaxing, with images o the old colonial days covering the walls. It is not the cheapest place in town but is not too expensive either. Great value for money for a quality stay.

Room Tip: Remember it is Indonesia and there will be traffic noise. Rooms further from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Some what out of the busy town centre of Solo you find (at the main street, so be aware of street noise for the rooms at the front) this beautiful old place, full of character and charm. Check in was friendly. Immediately a glass of fresh fruit juice was offered. We booked a junior suite (approx. 60 euro per night) located at the backside of the hotel and were impressed of the space and cosiness. Nice bathroom. There is also a small souvenir shop. No swimming pool or fitness. Internet worked well both in the room and on the beautiful inside court, where you are able to relax and enjoy complimentary afternoon tea. In this area is also the restaurant located. We enjoyed a good diner and breakfast, listening to the gamelan band. We were the only guests in the hotel so were even more impressive that they were playing for only two guests.

We were positively surprised about Solo (previously called Surakarta). The city offers many nice ‘things to see’. We enjoyed the Istana Mangkunegaran (one of the two Sultan palaces in town but a very liveable one), the antique and clothing market (Pasar Klewer) and on our way to Bromo we stopped at the Candi Sukuh temple. All ingredients for a nice, one night stop on the long way between Malang (7 hours from Solo) and Yogyakarta (2 hours from Solo).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After nine hours of travelling by bus from Malang to Solo we landed in this splendid place which sets you smoothly back to old, colonial times. Everything in this hotel has been done with really good taste and in high quality. Dark wooden floors and old colonial pieces of furniture do contrast nicely with the green colour of the garden, and the calming sound of water will relax your senses. Old photographs on the walls create a nice atmosphere, too.

Check in was smooth and friendly even if the well trained staff speak somewhat less English. Rooms are enough spacious, beautifully decorated, with A/C, which in this case is important as opening one of the stained-glass windows that are part of the room's wall towards the open corridor would reduce the feeling of privacy. This may be the hotel's minus for people that dislike A/C. Hot shower is working properly, towels are clean, etc., probably obvious things but why not mention this here. Very comfortable beds, wi-fi in the rooms.

They have a really nice restaurant area where you will enjoy your breakfast or food a la carte: this however we haven't tested.

Please be aware that you need a taxi to reach and come back from the historic centre. Ca. 20.000 Rp one way. Otherwise it is ca. 30 minutes walk.

Very much recommended place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkacperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very interesting hotel in an old Javanese-style mansion of a trader. The building has been beautifully preserved and we had the pleasure of meeting its owner as we checked out - an extremely elegant woman who has written a book on Javanese heritage buildings. The new manager speaks flawless French and could not have been more helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean, nicely air-conditioned and equipped with all the amenities that one would expect. We had the "Royal Suite" which was two connecting rooms (a living area and the bedroom) and suited our purposes very well. We were stopping off between Bromo/Semeru and Borobodur and this was a convenient place because we wanted to see the temples at Candi Sukuh and Candi Ceto. Probably the best choice in Solo. Recommended.

Room Tip: Royal Suite was spacious. They are apparently constructing a few (three?) new suites as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

There is a reason why Roemahkoe translates as "Your Home": this splendid heritage hotel feels like a home away from home. We were warmly received in this art deco style hotel and during our stay we talked several times with the charming hotel manager, who talked to us about the history of the building and the hotel and also kindly toured with us the back alley behind the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located and, although it is most certainly not a bed and breakfast, is small and intimate. The rooms are beautifully decorated in art deco style and the long, covered hallway beckons you to wander and sit down to read. The bathrooms are on the small side, but functional. The restaurant serves up truly great dishes and sitting in the restaurant is a bit like going back in time with all the photographs of past times on the walls and the green 'canal' running through the house. To us it is amazing that only because there is no pool in this hotel, people would chose the unpersonal hotels outside the city center over this gorgeous heritage hotel. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
2.1 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
2.5 mi away
Rumah Batu Villa & Spa
1.7 mi away
Omah Sinten
Omah Sinten
#26 of 61 in Solo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sunan Hotel Solo
1.2 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#1 of 61 in Solo
722 reviews
2.5 mi away
WARISAN Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roemahkoe Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roemahkoe Heritage Hotel

Address: Jl. Dr. Radjiman no. 501 | Kpg. Kidul Pasar Laweyan, Solo 57148, Indonesia (Formerly Roemahkoe Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Solo
Price Range: $30 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Roemahkoe Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Roemahkoe Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemahkoe Hotel Solo
Roemahkoe Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing