We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nicely decorated with Javanese ornaments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nicely decorated with Javanese ornaments”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

the hotel looks posh! especially the lobby. room was clean but very dim even after all lights were switched on. bathroom isn't sparkling clean and towels were dirty too. staff was friendly and helpful, changed the towel and helped to rectify the problem with wifi connection. gym and swimming pool were small but good enough. Cost of massage was cheaper than the 3 star hotel I stayed in Jogja but they only had one therapist on duty so I gotta give it a miss. had a good spread of breakfast

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LinusLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran R, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Mr Lee,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your positive review of our hotel and happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. Your comment on the service level of the hotel’s team is most gratifying and will be shared with them.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Terry
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    236
    49
    24
    13
See reviews for
161
101
48
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A good hotel with strong traditional Javanese theme (to be expected though). Nothing to complaint except some area in bathroom which need extra cleaning. For a hotel like this, I prefer carpets than parquet though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Reza_sunggiardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran R, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reza

Thanks very much for your kind works.

We are pleased your find the Royal Surakarta Heritage as a good hotel, we are looking forward to welcome you back very soon

Regard
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A lot of work has been put into the public areas of this hotel. The lobby and restaurant areas, hallways and other places where you can meet fellow guests are all in very good condition and invite you in. The staff are also excellent. They are friendly and happy to help with enquiries and to make arrangements for getting around town.

There was a large variety of food, western and Indonesian, available at breakfast each morning and the restaurant staff were attentive and helpful. Lunch and dinner in the restaurant was excellent and once again the staff did a fantastic job of presenting menu items and making recommendations when asked.

Where the hotel falls down a little is with the rooms and particularly the bathrooms. My room was comfortable and spacious for the most part, however I noticed some small burn marks on the sheets. The bathroom was large but the plumbing is in need of upgrade. The toilet was rust-stained and had a dirty appearance for this reason although it was actually perfectly clean. The shower leaked on the first morning as I hadn't taken care to point the shower head in the right direction. A bigger problem was that the lever that is used to switch the flow of water between the shower and bath did not work properly and I ended up having water come either from both taps together or just the bath tap making a quick hot shower difficult for early starts.

That being said, these small problems were more than compensated for by the excellent staff who made the stay pleasant and easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrrPurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi A, Front Office Manager at The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear MyrPurr

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Royal Surakarta Heritage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are very pleased to hear your comments on the renovation work which have been already carrying out so far at the hotel. We have now finished the public areas of the hotel and we are working in the last details of our rooms.
We are sure that your kind words regarding our staff performances and attitude will serve as an encouragement to the team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Ahmad Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night for business trip at room 919. The hotel really put effort in decorating the premises and rooms. Wayang... Traditional Masks.. And many many other traditional ornaments.

As to the room. Size is good. Bed is a bit slumpy. The biggest turn off, the bed or bed sheet is so so smelly. The bath tub leak after shower.

The breakfast is ok. Both western and local food.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 5353M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi A, Front Office Manager at The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Royal Heritage Surakarta Hotel. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

At the Royal Surakarta Heritage Hotel in Solo, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is extremely important to us. Please rest assured that we take appropriate steps to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Therefore we have contact our external laundry company to ensure your comments are address right away.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoy our unique Javanese style and we are looking forward to welcome you back at the Royal Surakarta Heritage Hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel now operating under Accor flag (before Best Western Premier) offers comfortable accommodation in Solo' city center.

Rooms
Rooms are clean and well equipped. Sleeping comfort is excellent. Since the Accor takeover the rooms have been steadily better decorated to make the rooms feeling more homely. Junior suites should be equiped with DVD player as the comfort level difference between all room levels is very small. Junior suites are equipped with illy coffee machines but during my 3 day stay the illy cups were never replenished so I only could enjoy the fresh coffee making facility during 1 day.

Lounge
The hotel misses a business lounge/ executive lounge facility where business people can meet their guests.

Restaurant
Breakfast is below 4/5 star level. No complimentary fresh coffee is available which is normal for this kind of hotel. Even Ibis Styles and Novotel normally offer fresh coffee to their guests. Presentation of the buffet is well done.
I also took dinner at the hotel. What is really disturbing duing dinner is the music selection. Klenengan music (traditional javanese gamelan) is also played during dinner. Nobody minds the background music of Klenengan during breakfast but also having to listen to the same music during dinner is a little bit to much. I spoke to some other guests and apparently I am not the only one with that opinion. The quality and presentation of food is ok. They also have a selection of 'Solonese foods' which offers you the opportunity to try some local delicacies

Location
The location of the hotel is excellent for both business travellers and tourists. Dont forget to visit the night market on Saturday.

Staff
Staff is friendly and very helpfull.

Overall the Royal Surakarta Heritage ranks among the better hotels in Solo but if they want to match the same level as the Phoenix M-Gallery in Yogyakarta.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stefaan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi A, Front Office Manager at The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mr.Stefan


We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Royal Surakarta Heritage. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
3.0 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#2 of 61 in Solo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sunan Hotel Solo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Solo
Novotel Solo
#12 of 61 in Solo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
4.1 mi away
The Alana Solo Hotel & Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Aston Solo Hotel
Aston Solo Hotel
#5 of 61 in Solo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection

Property: The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
Address: Jln. Slamet Riyadi no. 6, Solo 57111, Indonesia (Formerly The Royal Surakarta Heritage)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime location in the heart of Solo city, the 150 room hotel is the ideal address for both leisure and business travellers. The Ballroom has the capacity for more than 300 persons. Its location sees it alongside banking and government buildings, while the two famous royal palaces of Mangkunegaran, Kasunanan, traditional market "Pasar Klewer," central "Grosir Solo" are nearby. A bustling social and cultural scene waits to be explored right outside, while striking views of Mounts Merbabu, Merapi, and Lawu frame a busy city kaleidoscope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing