We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of a kind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumah Batu Villa & Spa
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“one of a kind”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

very nice hotel, comfortable, make me want to stay longer. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, arrived in the middle of the night, but still, even with minimum light, the hotel was very lovely and nice. one of a kind. The bed was nice, comfortable. and the scenery of the hotel was amazing. We had a 'light' travel to Solo and hideaway from our job for a while, and stayed here was just perfect, very private, nice decoration, friendly staff. The minus of this hotel was the breakfast only have an average taste, Not bad but average. For us, this hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cuteelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumahbatu, Front Office Manager at Rumah Batu Villa & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear cuteelephant

Good morning
Warm greeting from Rumah Batu Villa & Spa

Thank you for your positive review on tripadvisor. I will share your comment to my team.
I took good note on your comments related to breakfast taste. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.
We always working day by day to improve our quality and definitely.

Again, thank you for your contribution and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards


Rumah Batu Villa & Spa
Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    66
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
56
17
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberwil, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was one of the best B&B's we stayed in during our 4 week trip to Indonesia. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room we had was functional, spacious and neatly decorated. Breakfast is average, but good. Dinner is not really exiting, but the restaurant as such is like going to an exibition, there are so many interesting thing to watch. The owner told us the story behind the name of the guesthouse and how she and her husband had collected the materials (wood) in the countryside, hence the fantastic design. I had a massage which was good and professional. The atmosphere in general is very pleasant. The place is quiet, but far out in the countryside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumahbatu, Front Office Manager at Rumah Batu Villa & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Karin1947
Oberwil, Switzerland

Thank you for the best review.
I will share your comment to my team. We always working day by day to improve our quality and definitely. We hope to have pleasure to welcome you again in Rumah Batu !
Again, thank you for your contribution
Regards

Rumah Batu Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I did a solo trip but wanted to pamper myself for the first night so I picked this spot in Solo. It was the most charming hotel I've ever stayed in. It didnt cost too much but the rooms and facilities were top notch. I also went for a massage which was affordable and also really hit the spot after a long day of travelling. Its also a little far from the main Solo city so its nice and quiet. Only the food I found could use a little improvement. Apart from that I really enjoyed my one night stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianealbee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumahbatu, Manager at Rumah Batu Villa & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear dianealbee88
penang

Thank you for sharing your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor! We are always very happy to hear that we have meet expectations.
Please accept my apologies for the food, we always working to improve our quality and definitely
We are looking forward to your next visit and hopefully it would be pleasant as previous one

Best Regards,
Rumah Batu Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has different concept with nice garden and plants. Furnitures are using mostly teak wood and stone wall. The room is good and relatively big. If you want to be relax, try to find different thing, I really recommend this hotel. I like this hotel very much.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fadhly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumahbatu, Manager at Rumah Batu Villa & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Fadhly S
Semarang

Thank you for your positive feedback and comment, I will share your comment to my team. We always working day by day to improve our quality and definitely. We hope to have pleasure to welcome you again in Rumah Batu !

Warm Regards,
Rumah Batu and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a nice surprise! We picked this place 'cuz we wanted to stay somewhere new & not expensive. It is in Solobaru, meaning 'new' Solo, which is a suburb area in Solo. But surrounded by rice fields, it was a nice change of pace.
The decor is modern with a touch of Javanese, simple yet charming. Every room has a balcony to lounge in and mostly facing the swimming pool. The property is well maintained and dotted with trees all around, making it feels lush & cool.
They also have a restaurant that serves lunch & dinner, but we only tried the breakfast which was so-so and nothing to rave about.
The overall service is very good & personable, although the spa is rather average. We booked the shiatsu massage, the essential oil they use is very nice, but the massage itself could be better.
Overall, for the price they offered, this place is quite excellent for a B&B and a nice change of pace than the usual hotels. Wouldn't hesitate coming back here again.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floor rooms with balconies facing the pool, killer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laksari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumahBatu01, Manager at Rumah Batu Villa & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Laksari M
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia

Warm greeting from Rumah Batu villa & Spa
Thank you for sharing your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor! We are always very happy to hear that we have meet expectations.
We are looking forward to your next visit and hopefully it would be pleasant as previous one

Best Regards,
Rumah Batu Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I traveled to Solo together with my husband, in-laws and 2 friends to visit families in Solo. Even though my husband and I stayed only for a night, my friends and in-laws stayed there a bit longer and all of us were very happy and we were satisfied by the whole experience.

The staffs were very helpful, friendly and professional. The rooms were neat and clean, very modern yet very Indonesian and my bed was very comfortable.

Overall, the hotel is really cozy. It has modern Javanese style and it is really green everywhere. The food that is served at the restaurant is also delicious and we loved their steak Nyonya :D
We all went for the spa and it was excellent! I definitely will come back here when I visit Solo :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RumahBatu01, Manager at Rumah Batu Villa & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear mooierd
amsterdam

Warm greeting from Rumah Batu

Thank you for your positive feedback and comment, I will share your comment to my team. We always working day by day to improve our quality and definitely. We hope to have pleasure to welcome you again in Rumah Batu !

Warm Regards,
Rumah Batu Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at Rumah Batu for a few day and really LOVED the place. Just looking at the pictures got me excited already, but staying there was a highlight of my trip. The rooms are excellent, the place is beautifully decorated and the food is very good! Really hope to have a chance to go back there soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maarten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumahbatu, General Manager at Rumah Batu Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Mrs. Stephanie J
Adelaide, Australia

thank you for your good review for us Mrs. Stephanie J
we will gladly share your good review to all staff and management
we hope you and others can recommend about us to your friend or family,

and of course we looking forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Solo.
enjoy the best atmosphere at Rumah Batu.

thank you
Best Regards,


Rumah Batu Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
3.6 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
WARISAN Heritage Resort
3.2 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#1 of 61 in Solo
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Alana Solo Hotel & Convention Center
3.3 mi away
The Sunan Hotel Solo
3.2 mi away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Batu Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Batu Villa & Spa

Property: Rumah Batu Villa & Spa
Address: Jl. Ovensari Raya no. 8 | Baki Kadilangu, Solo 57145, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Batu Villa & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumah Batu Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing