We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of local food someone has to try...”

Nasi Liwet Bu Wongso Lemu
Ranked #28 of 285 Restaurants in Solo
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“One of local food someone has to try...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This time, I would like to share my dining experience in this establishment which is located in one of the smaller roads that intersects Jl. Slamet Riyadi. Its location is nearby Kusuma Sahid Prince Hotel, Novotel Solo Hotel and/or Sahid Jaya Solo Hotel.

The establishment was simple and nothing fancy about it : It was not a restaurant but it was more likely to be classified as depot or warung makan. As usual, I ordered nasi liwet (steamed rice with chicken and coconut milk). You may select other ingredients (inner organs, intestines etc.) in your nasi liwet. Its taste had not been changed since the first time I been there more than 13 years ago.

To describe best about nasi liwet, it is quite similar to nasi ayam in Semarang : The difference only lies on the selection of ingredients. In my opinion, they put more ingredients in nasi liwet compare to nasi ayam but at glance, both are quite similar not only in its appearance but also in its taste.

So, for those who live in Semarang, nothing fantastic about nasi liwet as someone can find similar one in Semarang. Overall, I would recommend this establishment for those food lovers who would like to try a local food while they are in Solo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bambang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    95
    79
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the best one for this menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I came for late dinner on 2130 GMT+7. From three outlet, only one wasnt sold out. I order nasi liwet with egg, not a best one for this menu; a lot of outlet give better taste for this menu. I quietly agree that this outlet overated :o

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aliepodja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Overated.. I am not sure why my friend, Jakartan's told me I have to go there. Seriously nothing special, few pieces of ayam, 1 liver eh it is Rp17.000,_ mm i am not going to recommend this warong to my friend.. I think we have to be selected to recomend and to rate the restaurant in this site...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DewiRetnowati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I don't get why people are raving about it. Have to say the food is ok, but hello???? Thumbs down for the hygiene. The seller received the money with the same hand that she used to dispensed the food that i ordered, she didn't even wipe (let alone wash) her hand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank a z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Favourite Liwet Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nasi Liwet is a kind of rice based dish cooked in coconut milk with pumpkin soup, egg, and chicken. This place opens around dinner-time and closes late in the night (around 2 or 3 AM!), so it's a really good place to go if you need a fill up in the middle of the night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank zahraamalias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasi Liwet Bu Wongso Lemu also viewed

 
Solo, Central Java
 

Been to Nasi Liwet Bu Wongso Lemu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing