We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Makassar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Value for service”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel more than 10x during 8 years time, before the name of the Hotel was Quality Hotel. My impression was still the same as previous visits : good service, good price. The check in process was easy and fast. Staffs were nice and helpful. The room, even though some of them are outdated, but still ok and keep in clean condition. Breakfast was excellent with plenty choices of Indonesian food and more than enough for the western one. Internet was free. There are 3 types of swimming pools, look nice and clean. So in conclusion, If you are in business or just leisure in Solo City, you can consider to stay in this Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiawan Basu... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    149
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
172
43
29
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in december to attend a seminar from my company.

The service here was amazing, honestly very impressed with the service of the banquet staff, I described that banquet staff very fast response of each guest's needs, friendly, knows what the guest needs, seriously I say they are very proffesional at all!.

On the last day, so surprise, because I was asked to give feedback or suggestions, by filling out the form which they named Banquet comment card, the staff said that the result of the comment cards will be directly follow-up yo the department concern, waow!

I frequently visit throughout Indonesia and rare to find a very proffesional service like this, do not be surprised if this hotel is famous as MICE hotel, if you see a very proffesional service and exceed customer expectations.

keep the good work!

Room Tip: poolside very great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23tony12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

the hotel is quite nice , you get what you paid for. we stayed at a deluxe room, and the room was a bit outdated, but still clean. the pool is big, and lot of people swim. the hotel is quite lively, quite crowded. location is ok. the service is standard, cant expect much though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinonafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Last October, my family have family holiday at Solo and we stayed at Sunan Hotel Solo. We decided to stay at Sunan Hotel Solo as the recommendation from my friend that Sunan hotel has great services. And we already proofed it. The Hotel was very helpful in giving us information and guide us to traveling around Solo. The room service is also gives us great satisfaction. My father very love the buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meraikko l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are from PT MarkPlus Indonesia, As a company which always held a Seminar monthly, We had the right choice to pick The Sunan Hotel Solo as the venue of our Seminar every month. Besides it's located on the center of Solo city, we really satisfied with service from The Sunan Hotel especially; Banquet Service. Great Service,We were really happy with the service,we recieved.Hands down AMAZING service from banquet,all the preperation with our event. We were all comfortable,felt outstanding,from top to bottom start to finish,everyone from Banquet did an EXCELLENT Job and has a positive attitude.We have no complaints,reasonable prices,very competitive, SMILES and warm cookies,The staff will do anything for you.THANKS a million,your truly a devoted hard working hotel people.Thanks very much from bottom of my heart. Much respect,gratitude and full appreciate,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived yesterday at the Sunan Hotel Solo and the stay is worth the trip to get there.
The hotel is really nice, there is a very good gym and also a huge pool if you like swimming. Breakfast buffet offers many choices, including many Indonesian meals, which is great because that's exactly what we were looking for.
It looks like there are as many employees as guests in this hotel, which makes the service excellent. We were hosted by Arif upon our arrival, he was really nice and it was great to be welcomed by him when we arrived. We definitely recommend this hotel to future guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intelinside21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Nicolas,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and giving review about our hotel. We appreciator it so much.

We are very glad to hear that you feel satisfy about our services and willing to recommend the hotel to other travelers. Thanks to your positive comment about our services and facilities, that will be encouragement for us to improve our services.

Thank you for trying our outlet such as gym as well as swimming at our pool. And, we hope you could enjoy our traditional food next time when you visit Solo.

We would be very happy to welcoming you back in the future, don't hesitate to email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need reservation in the future.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is the second time I came to Sunan Hotel, this time is for a friend's wedding. Thing that is always impressive for me was the great service of banquet staffs. From a very warm greeting at the ballroom entrance till the variety of delicious hot food on the buffet with some suggestions on special menu they served. They even still remember my name which is soo amazing!
Bottom line, Sunan Hotel is a four star hotel with an amazing five star quality of food and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
0.6 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#2 of 61 in Solo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
The Alana Solo Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
Novotel Solo
Novotel Solo
#12 of 61 in Solo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Saripetojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunan Hotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunan Hotel Solo

Property: The Sunan Hotel Solo
Address: Jl. Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunan Hotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNAN HOTEL SOLO is The Only Hotel in Solo with World Conference Experiences. A four star hotel accommodation in Solo. Enjoy comfort with the international standard facilities for business & pleasure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sunan Hotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing