We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite ok for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“quite ok for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

the hotel is quite nice , you get what you paid for. we stayed at a deluxe room, and the room was a bit outdated, but still clean. the pool is big, and lot of people swim. the hotel is quite lively, quite crowded. location is ok. the service is standard, cant expect much though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinonafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    147
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
171
41
29
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Last October, my family have family holiday at Solo and we stayed at Sunan Hotel Solo. We decided to stay at Sunan Hotel Solo as the recommendation from my friend that Sunan hotel has great services. And we already proofed it. The Hotel was very helpful in giving us information and guide us to traveling around Solo. The room service is also gives us great satisfaction. My father very love the buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meraikko l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are from PT MarkPlus Indonesia, As a company which always held a Seminar monthly, We had the right choice to pick The Sunan Hotel Solo as the venue of our Seminar every month. Besides it's located on the center of Solo city, we really satisfied with service from The Sunan Hotel especially; Banquet Service. Great Service,We were really happy with the service,we recieved.Hands down AMAZING service from banquet,all the preperation with our event. We were all comfortable,felt outstanding,from top to bottom start to finish,everyone from Banquet did an EXCELLENT Job and has a positive attitude.We have no complaints,reasonable prices,very competitive, SMILES and warm cookies,The staff will do anything for you.THANKS a million,your truly a devoted hard working hotel people.Thanks very much from bottom of my heart. Much respect,gratitude and full appreciate,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived yesterday at the Sunan Hotel Solo and the stay is worth the trip to get there.
The hotel is really nice, there is a very good gym and also a huge pool if you like swimming. Breakfast buffet offers many choices, including many Indonesian meals, which is great because that's exactly what we were looking for.
It looks like there are as many employees as guests in this hotel, which makes the service excellent. We were hosted by Arif upon our arrival, he was really nice and it was great to be welcomed by him when we arrived. We definitely recommend this hotel to future guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intelinside21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Nicolas,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and giving review about our hotel. We appreciator it so much.

We are very glad to hear that you feel satisfy about our services and willing to recommend the hotel to other travelers. Thanks to your positive comment about our services and facilities, that will be encouragement for us to improve our services.

Thank you for trying our outlet such as gym as well as swimming at our pool. And, we hope you could enjoy our traditional food next time when you visit Solo.

We would be very happy to welcoming you back in the future, don't hesitate to email us at ecommerce@thesunanhotelsolo.com if you need reservation in the future.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is the second time I came to Sunan Hotel, this time is for a friend's wedding. Thing that is always impressive for me was the great service of banquet staffs. From a very warm greeting at the ballroom entrance till the variety of delicious hot food on the buffet with some suggestions on special menu they served. They even still remember my name which is soo amazing!
Bottom line, Sunan Hotel is a four star hotel with an amazing five star quality of food and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

After having read the reviews, I agree with most of the reviews posted. Wifi in the room is erratic but the lobby, ballroom and restaurants are of good speed.
Staff are very friendly but their English needs imprvement. I think whatever was lacking was made up by the service provided.
The food in te restaurant was good; advice from the staff helpful and the hoel storwes weere reasonable priced.
Rooms were clean; made up daily and had all the encessary facilities.

Room Tip: Poolside ooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabarDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Babar,

Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel Solo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other traveler while staying at our hotel.

We do apologize if our wifi connection in room is erratic, we had contacted related department to fix this problem. Further, we appreciate your suggestion so much that will be our input to improve hotel services and facilities.

We hope you enjoy our food while staying at our hotel, we have the most complete breakfast menu in town. While, we also open new restaurant that offer different culinary menu at Imperial Taste.
We are gladly welcoming you back at The Sunan Hotel Solo and serve you better in the future.

With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Director of Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel after lebaran holiday with my big family. We rent 6 rooms and two of them had connecting door on floor 4. When we waited for room check in, the hotel gave us hot ginger as welcome drink, and some cookies. The hotel lacated near a hospital, and solo square. At the centre of lobby area was decorated with a miniature of mosque, which was made by kurms as a symbol of lebaran celebration. Across front desk, there was coffee shop that sold cakes which are very cheap if we buy after 10.00 pm, a slice of cheese cake only cost me 10.000 idr, double chocolate for 13.000 idr, red velvet and many more. The pool actually was not really special only one big pool and one kids pool, but quite fun since some men in my family enjoyed swimming there. Breakfast was one of my favorite thing due to lot of variations. Its soto sulung was great, the angkringan corner was also tasty.. But the most important of all was they really had best hospitality I've ever felt. The receptionist, doorman, waitress never stop smiling to us. I really felt Javanese warmth.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PoetrieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndraWibowo, Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing at The Sunan Hotel Solo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ms. Poetrie F
Warmest greeting from The Sunan Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking time to sharing your experience while staying at The Sunan Hotel Solo.

We give our highest gratitude since you choose us for your Lebaran holiday. At the moment, we tried to warm Lebaran day with religious atmosphere as represent on the mosque decoration at the lobby. We appreciate your positive feedback about our services such as our breakfast menu, free welcome drink and cookies for check in guest.

Further, we also really glad that you feel satisfy with our hospitality and our friendly staff.
We looking forward welcoming you back at The Sunan, and serve you better in the future.
With our best regards,

Indra Wibowo
Executive Assistant Manager Sales & Marketing
The Sunan Hotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
0.6 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#2 of 60 in Solo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
The Alana Solo Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
Novotel Solo
Novotel Solo
#9 of 60 in Solo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Saripetojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunan Hotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunan Hotel Solo

Property: The Sunan Hotel Solo
Address: Jl. Ahmad Yani 40, Solo 57143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunan Hotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNAN HOTEL SOLO is The Only Hotel in Solo with World Conference Experiences. A four star hotel accommodation in Solo. Enjoy comfort with the international standard facilities for business & pleasure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sunan Hotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing