We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wifi connection could be faster ..for the rest superbe !”
Review of Novotel Solo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Solo
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The wifi connection could be faster ..for the rest superbe !”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I like this hotel , its clean its spaceyus ..in one word ..its NOVOTEL ...the staff was friendly and helpfull as much as posible ..but if the connection is bad from provider ..ok I can understand ..hopfully it will run better next time !
The breakfast is a party with so much different kind of foods !

Room Tip: Maybe ask some distance from elevator and the main street .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman-Buyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Herman-Buyle,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Solo, and we appreciate your feedback.

We strive to always deliver the best possible service, and this reinforces the teams great work to date. I note your comments on our internet speed - we do have a dedicated link to our provider, yet it is true that the connection to the hotel is dependant on the stability of our provider. I have personally spoken to them, and we will continue to monitor the speed of our Free Wi-Fi facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future; safe travels.


Kind regards,

Brian Townsend
General Manager
Novotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    269
    117
    23
    10
See reviews for
215
73
52
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on Feb 21, 2014. Stayed with my friend, for one night only. Because we need to go to Yogyakarta again for the next day.

First of all, I think Novotel Solo is one of the best hotel in Solo, maybe the number one, dunno about that for sure.
The hotel is great, new and modern building with nice furnishings. Spacious lobby.

Room:
Room is ok, quite big. And the bed also comfortable. Don't have any complaint about that.
With all the stars hotel bedroom facilities.
Aircon works well, didn't hear any noisy from other rooms or streets.

Bathroom:
Also ok. No complaint at all.

Breakfast: Hmm, as far as I remember, I was expecting the breakfast more nice. But its ok, ya just ok. Varieties of food ok. But for the taste, I expecting more.

Location:
Novotel Solo located in the same area with Ibis Hotel Solo. Actually you can go directly to Hotel Ibis from this hotel. And located in one of the main street in Solo. No complaint about the location. Accessible!

Facilities:
This hotel have swimming pools, and also fitness center.
But unfortunately, I didn't try both of the pools or gym. I'm so lazy that time, just want to rest at the room. Hehehe..
But you can swim at the Novotel swimming pool, also at Ibis hotel. But at that time, the swimming pool at Ibis didn't open yet because of the ashes that time, after the volcano eruption.
Gym center is ok, although I didn't try but I visit the gym for a while back then. If you just need to catch up for the self refreshment at the gym, its ok.

For sure, I love and enjoyed my visit to Solo. So, big possibilities I will go to Solo again in the future, and definitely I will stay at Novotel Solo again. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear BarneyAlexander,

My team and I were very pleased to have welcomed you to Novotel Solo, and indeed Central Java. We also thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy during your February trip; don't worry, the gym and swimming pools can remain for your next trip. Our location is definitely one of the best in Solo, as is our team of service professionals.

I note your comment regarding the breakfast and the swimming pool closure. I am pleased to update you that we continually review our breakfast and have made many changes since February; we hope you will agree on your next stay. As for the swimming pool, everything has returned to normal now and we apologise the inconvenience caused by the eruption.

BarneyAlexander, we are grateful for your feedback and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Solo in the near future.

Safe travels,

Brian Townsend
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

It was a nice hotel, i asked for connecting room and it was given to me as well. The hotel is connected with the Ibis Solo, therefore they share the facilities. Unfortunately, the Ibis' Swimming Pool was closed so a lot of people were using the Novotel's Swimming Pool. The toilet nearby the restaurant was VERY DIRTY. I found a lot of cigarettes butts and ashes nearby the toilet bowl, quite disgusting. But the rest are OK..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Seruni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Seruni P,

On behalf of my team, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Solo, and certainly appreciate your feedback. This is important to us, as it allows us continual improvement in our service and facilities.

As you highlighted, our ibis Swimming Pool was closed and for this we apologise. This was due to our refreshment of this area, which incorporate the repair and re-vanishing of timber decking and furniture, along with new umbrellas and pool maintenance. I do sincerely apologise for this inconvenience, yet I am certain you will like the upgraded facilities.

In reference to the toilets, this is certainly not our standard and action will be taken to monitor and service better. We have already commenced repairs and refreshment to these facilities to improve for our guests.

Seruni P, again we thank you for staying with us and pleased you enjoyed your stay. My team and I remain here to welcome you back again in the near future.

Have a wonderful day.

Brian Townsend
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time.
The building is aging but the interior is already renovated. It is nice and clean.

Wifi is free, that's very good.
Food at breakfast is just ok, not bad. The coffee is just so so.

Swimming pool is good and clean, too bad my schedule this time is too packed even to swim nor using the gym.

Will come back there, as an option.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Solo, General Manager at Novotel Solo, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Daniel H,

We appreciate your time to post your comments online, and very pleased your enjoyed your stay here in Solo.

Novotel Solo has indeed renovated the guest rooms, and we are continuing to upgrade the rest of our public areas and facilities. Our corridor refreshment (including carpet) is ongoing, and we expect to be complete over the coming months. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience our continued improvements.

Please do try and make time for our recreation facilities, our two pools and fitness centre will make your next stay refreshing and relaxing.

We wish you safe travels, and do hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards,

Brian Townsend
General Manager
Novotel Solo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
0.8 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
2.2 mi away
Alila Solo
Alila Solo
#1 of 61 in Solo
542 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Solo Hotel
Aston Solo Hotel
#5 of 61 in Solo
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solo Paragon Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
The Sunan Hotel Solo
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Solo
Ibis Styles Solo
#13 of 61 in Solo
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Solo

Property: Novotel Solo
Address: Jl. Slamet Riyadi 272, Solo 57141, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Solo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Solo 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Solo is a 4 star hotel conveniently located in the heart of Solo. Ideal for both business trips and holidays, our 142 rooms are both spacious and contemporary. The hotel features a business centre, meeting rooms and a ballroom, perfect for any function. Guests can also take advantage of our outdoor pool and fitness centre, enjoy a meal in our restaurant, or relax in the bar. Close to shopping centres, traditional markets and tourist attractions, the hotel enjoys a very central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Solo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Solo Hotel Solo
Solo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing