We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need.”
Review of Istana Griya

Istana Griya
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Istana Griya
Ranked #40 of 68 Solo B&B and Inns
World
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“All you need.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Staff can give good information and help you with tours bicycles and transport.
Basic rooms but have all you need, good bed and a fairly decent but tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very friendly owners. Nice atmosphere, good value. Not all rooms have a window, fine if you arrive late and leave early, but ask to see a room if you mind. They offer good tour and transport options.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne_trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent four nights at this hotel and it was fine, if uninspiring. We had one of the few air-conditioned rooms which was, fortunately, tucked away in the back away from the main corridors. The room was okay although the bathroom was a bit rough, and there was no hot water. The breakfast was the same every day - and very dull! But the cost was only R175,000 so we didn't expect the Ritz. Also, they have bicycles which you can rent for a day's tour out of the city which was definitely worthwhile. And the location was good.

Room Tip: Get an air-conditioned room at the back, or ur stay could be noisy and hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Rooms are a little on the small side without outside light, some are with fan, some with AC, but since there is space to sit outside this is not so much an issue. The place could be improved with wifi connection (they have an ancient computer with internet connection). Location is not so bad. Walking around I saw an Istana Griya 2 hotel in the next road, which appeared to be a much more modern building. Maybe that would have been a better, if more expensive, place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiggels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed in Istana only one night, but it was very nice stay. Beaudifull room and bathroom, very clean, kindly staff, very friendly and quait place. It finds very near to both palads and to night food market. Nice service for nice price.
Solo is very beaudifull sity, a lot of trees, real kereta api:-)))

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lashe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Stayed at the Istana Griya as it is listed in a well-known guidebook. It is adequate but it is not the only place to stay in the area and it might be worth looking around to see how the other local guesthouses compete. There were no windows in my roomalthough that doesn't mean to say that other rooms aren't available.The motorbike tour organised by them was good

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

This small guesthouse is centrally located close to the main sights and activities in Solo.
It is down a small alley and is quiet.
The bedrooms are a good size with attached bathrooms with fan only or A/C options. The rooms do not have outside windows, windows onto the hall, but do not feel claustrophobic.
Indonesian breakfast is included in the room price. Staff are very friendly and helpful and there is (paid) internet access.

  • Liked — Central location - just 5 to 10 minutes walk from ain attractions
  • Disliked — Slow internet
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
0.7 mi away
Amaris Hotel Sriwedari Solo
0.2 mi away
Omah Sinten
Omah Sinten
#25 of 61 in Solo
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aziza Solo
Hotel Aziza Solo
#18 of 61 in Solo
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Planet Solo
Red Planet Solo
#7 of 61 in Solo
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Solo
Ibis Styles Solo
#13 of 61 in Solo
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Surakarta Heritage Solo - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istana Griya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istana Griya

Property: Istana Griya
Address: Jln. KH Achmad Dahlan 22, Solo 57131, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Solo
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Istana Griya Hotel Solo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing