We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Cakra Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cakra Homestay
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Solo
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hotel is right in the centre. It is great place to spend some time and have a rest. Rooms are clean and have windows located to the garden or to the courtyard. There are a lot of historical things which are exhibited every where so you can feel like you are staying in a museum. There is a tower in the middle of hotel and it´s nice place for breakfast. Stuff is very friendly. We left our baggages the last days and wait there for a train until the midnight. Hotel chief was very friendly and adviced much smart things about our next travel, thank you! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomanKriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cakra homestay is a beautiful homestay in solo. The staff is very helpfull and we booked 2 nice tours there. Riding bicycle in the surroudings was great and the tour to the temples too. The swimmingpool is very nice also.

But the rooms are very poor. There are no hotwater showers or even a sink. The toilet you have to flush by yourself. Breakfast consist of toasted brad with jam. But when you pay something extra the staff will buy something for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The property is beautiful, there's a pool (I never used it because it didn't look that clean), ornate halls, and a gamelan room where musicians sometimes practice, which is an added perk. There is free tea and coffee all the time, but the breakfast is not much. There is a nice tower in the middle of the property from which you can see all around. Location is very central, walking distance from most sites. Paul wahyu, a guide who works with them, is very helpful and knowledgeable, but I found the rest of the staff to be not particularly forthcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theruthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This homestay is located in a very Central part of Solo City (Surakarta). Certainly within walking distance--or very most a short becak ride to anywhere in the City. However, this is a GREAT place to learn Javanese Culture--especially gamelan music. You can "rent" the gamelan for a private lesson (a private teacher from Institut Seni costs about Rp 100,000 for an hour)--or if you stay at the homestay they will let you use and or listen to the gamelan.

Any other activities or learning experiences can be arranged on site.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan10444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

There are always less well known accommodation which are bargains and the Cakra Homestay is one of them. The home stay is quite private with a wall surrounding it, the room is value for money and QUIET, the common area has good wifi and lovely furniture and sometimes the gamelan practices in the music room and you can sit there watching. There is also a lovely handyman called Paul who is very knowledgable about the history of the nearby temples and you can even hire him for the day at around 200k Rupiah to drive you there and back. He knows where else to take you - like that gorgeous waterfall. His english is good and he is good company too. Heck, just write to him beforehand and he'd pick you up from the station or whatever: paul.wahyu@ymail.com

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nusrathowardmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cakra Homestay is so lovely place, i felt so lucky when i found tis place.
why? 1st because the location is near many tourism spot in Solo like Museum, Alun-Alun, and Kraton, etc. 2nd because the price is, well cheap for budget traveler like me. for twin bed in fan big room with toilet inside just Rp 150.000. 3rd because the staff is so friendly and helpfully with things I need, i remember his name is Mas. Wahyu(he also has a good english :) ). 4th because the place is also like traditional architecture from Solo with Angklung show in the night and Cakra Homestay also has a swimming pool in the middle, and verandaa at the top of the building (we can enjoy afternoon wind here). I rent a bike for 1 day just Rp 20.000, it was nice moment being there. :)
thank's for care

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rarisasoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in one of the air-con room. It was very basic. The bed and blanket felt kinda old. The pool wasnt working when we stayed here last time. But it was ok, we barely stayed in the premise as there was alot to see in Solo. The location of this homestay was excellent, it was within walking distance to alot of the touristy must go, like the stretch of street food, the temples, the batik houses, and even a shopping mall. There's also gamelan performances in the evening. When you do stay here, ask the staff if you can go up to the tower and just hang there. It gives you amazing view and a very nice cool breeze.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
1.9 mi away
favehotel Solo Baru
favehotel Solo Baru
#17 of 62 in Solo
384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Planet Solo
Red Planet Solo
#5 of 62 in Solo
459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Favehotel Adi Sucipto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Twin Star
Twin Star
#29 of 62 in Solo
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Baron Indah
Hotel Baron Indah
#34 of 62 in Solo
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amarelo Hotel Solo
Amarelo Hotel Solo
#12 of 62 in Solo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cakra Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cakra Homestay

Address: Gang Cakra Ii/ 15 Jln. Komodor Yos Sudarso | Kauman, Solo 57153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Solo
Price Range: $10 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cakra Homestay is an old house, about 200 years. it has been restored originally well and they keep some old rooms. Many travelers from all over the world have already stayed here. For Traveler who want to stay in solo and need a Tour, please ask Dwi at Cakra Homestay.He works at the homestay and organize it well. Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cakra Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cakra Homestay Hotel Solo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing