We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'down to earth' hotel with great quality and value.”
Review of Rumah Turi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rumah Turi
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A 'down to earth' hotel with great quality and value.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is pretty small, so it's important to book early. They have an eco-friendly concept where they recycle rainwater for flushing the toilet so they reduce the use of electricity and ground water. It is a good chance to really see how this eco concept goes into practice especially when you bring your kids. The hotel also has a roof garden and I enjoyed a little stroll here. The small restaurant serves delicious non-MSG meal, try the nasi goreng! The reception staff was very helpful and gave us information on where to eat and visit. In Solo there are plenty of nice traditional culinary spots. The Hotel is also very close to the Sriwedari Park and Danar Hadi Batik Museum.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syawalianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
35
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Everyone who visit Solo must stay in this hotel. cozy enviroment,friendly staff,creative minimalist green design,and have a brilliant garden roof! love the room. great clining service,cute cafe-restaurant,fine spa, fine dining,love theese eco-green design.love love love

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AugieDestianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Small hotel, location is a little bit remote but still in the city. One thing about the hote : the Garden is nice... they sprayed garden every morning from top, and it feels like rain. Very homey.. Breakfast is simple but still ok..

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssijuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was amazing to find this green and quiet place in the middle of busy area in Solo.
The hotel has tried to apply quite many green action such as using LED lights, recycling waste water for watering their garden, using solar cell as their one of energy resource, using gravity for their hot water supply, plant some of their own herbs etc. ask the staff for further explanation. It was quite educational and inspirational.
As other guests said, the room was clean, but the room lights was rather gloomy. I found out later that we could ask for extra reading lights or other appliances from the reception as mentioned in their room directory in each room. So to enjoy your stay there, It is useful to read the directory.
The cafe is nice and cosy. Serving organic food, the food taste was OK but the portion was a bit small.
Since I chose the hotel to experience staying in and support a green hotel, the experience met my expectation and felt proud to have chosen the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed there in May with my husband and 3-year old child. The staff and owner are utmost friendly and sincere, the architecture is great with very green courtyard. In the morning you can see the irrigation system running to water the plants, marvelous and beautiful. Food is authentic and home-made. We ate everyday in the restaurant. Highly recommended. Location is great. A very tasteful boutique hotel. European travellers will be looking for this kind of hotel. Truly eco hotel with character.

Room Tip: If you are with a child/ children ask for a room on the ground floor, near the restaurant. looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As i didn't keen to a hotel room, so first time we arrived I look at boutique hotel Solo, thanks to Google! I found this charming Rumah Turi, of course life could not been easier without Tripadvisor.

The room is OK..needs updated the interior & the back garden in the room also need to be clean, but at least the bed sheet is white & clean. complement Tea & coffee are available in room.

This Eco-friendly hotel not suitable for family with kids as they don't have swimming pool... luckily my 2 boys (12 & 14) are fine play their iPad supported with a fast wifi.

Service is excellent, they helped us booked the return flights from local agent, and took us a tour to the owners' furniture workshops.. Very pleasant experience. Thanks Rumah Turi:-) xM

Room Tip: corner rooms are unpleasant, choose middle rooms.. much nicer & good view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miraclemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great, lovely looking hotel, almost love at first sight kind of feeling...from the website to the actual sight of the hotel. I loved what they have done to make it eco friendly, the lush greenaries, lots of wood, looked different and unique. But somehow, I don't know why i still feel something is amiss. If you're expecting a total Eco experience, then you might be in for a disappointment, but if you're just looking for a simple escape away from the concrete jungle, then you'll like it here. Quiet, breezy and simple...in nutshell, a hotel covered with greenaries. Just wished the details in the rooms were more Eco friendly but I'm sure overall it doesn't affect your stay that much. I would recommend you try it for the experience.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floor rooms as there's natural light coming in and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somadKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solo hotels
3.4 mi away
Rumah Batu Villa & Spa
0.9 mi away
Omah Sinten
Omah Sinten
#26 of 61 in Solo
46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amarelo Hotel Solo
Amarelo Hotel Solo
#10 of 61 in Solo
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Loji Hotel
Loji Hotel
#31 of 61 in Solo
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Solo
Ibis Styles Solo
#13 of 61 in Solo
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Planet Solo
Red Planet Solo
#6 of 61 in Solo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Turi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Turi

Property: Rumah Turi
Address: Jl. Srigading II no. 12 | Turisari, Solo 57139, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Solo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Solo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rumah Turi 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Turi, a feel-at-home hotel in Solo, the first eco-friendly hotel in Solo, a home where guest are always welcome as good friend, the cultural and spiritual core of Central Java, Indonesia. Positioning itself as a "green" boutique hotel steeped in modern minimalist style, rumah Turi attracts and astounds all kinds of discerning travellers - from businesspeople to backpackers - with its cozy ambience, secure and traditional neighbourhood, and elegant style.The charming, homey hotel takes pride in its eco-conscious philosophy as well as its strong, professional commitment to go beyond guests' expectations throughout their stay. The eco-hotel's facilities and impeccable service are designed and executed with your needs and comfort in mind, making a stay at rumah Turi a uniquely genuine and personal experience no words can describe enough about.Travel eco-consciously - stay at rumah Turi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumah Turi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing