We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent traditional Javanese food”

Pecel Solo - Waroeng Tempo Doeloe
Ranked #26 of 291 Restaurants in Solo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Decent traditional Javanese food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The place is also known as Omah Ndeso. The staffs are very nice and helpful, a good service for a local restaurant. The place is packed with lots of photo of famous people visiting the restaurant, something that is not really amusing for me actually. The place is very typical Javanese restaurant, where you are served with bunch of menu on a very big table and all you have to do is select your food choices. So you get what you see. Their specialty, well of course is pecel, a vegetable set served with peanut sauce. Well, since I only eat the pecel, I cannot say anything else about the other menu. But all I can say is, the pecel is nice, tasty, and very traditional.

Overall, the place is nice, the food is okay, the service is good, and the price is very reasonable. Good recommendation to have safe Indonesian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rizki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Specail javanese food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Gudeg is different from Jogja style but also delicious, also the gado2 is delicious too. also the beverage also ok .

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hilman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pecel menu is the favourit one.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

i like the javanese atmosphere, they played traditional music called gamelan during my visit and it relaxed us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FitaFie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“healthy and delicious”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

very nice atmosphere but the price is little bit high :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia kobandaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For a nice, light lunch in Javanese atmosphere”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Solo is a culinary city - if you know where to look for the best spots serving a variety of local delicacy. Pecel Solo is one of those local spots. It serves pecel - the local version of salad, assortment of vegetables with peanut sauce, with crackers and local drinks.The place is simple but nicely decorated and always full during lunchtime. Street buskers - ladies singing Javanese tembang (songs) - are often an additional feature, but they are not intrusive. The price might be a bit high for Solo's standard, but still affordable. Every time I visit Solo for business or pleasure, I always try to drop by for a light, nice lunch.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingmonkey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pecel Solo - Waroeng Tempo Doeloe also viewed

Solo, Central Java
Solo, Central Java
 

Been to Pecel Solo - Waroeng Tempo Doeloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing