We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A re-fined hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Semarang
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A re-fined hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

At first, the hotel looked old from the outside just like some historical buildings around the area. But the interior was nice and elegant. The room a little bit outdated, but overall it's nice, comfy and had a pretty view of the city through out the window. The bathroom also pretty wide and clean.

No lift access from parking area.., which would be an issue if travelling with big luggage. Should drop it first at the lobby.

The service at the receptionist and the restaurant was very friendly. Esp. at The Square restaurant. Variety of food is good, taste average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    390
    136
    43
    20
See reviews for
223
83
69
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice room, clean everything works well but the parking area so small. And there is no lift access from parking lot to the hotel lobby... so we must take our goods and bags from bqsement to lobby by 3 level stairs... unpleasant for family travelling with older...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Yudistira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Novotel Semarang is good. Comfortable, all necessary amenities, and with friendly staff. I would stay there again. The location, opposite a major mall, is convenient. As with many slightly older hotels, there was a lack of power outlets. The free WIFI was fast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerNOV, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Kpossum 1,

Thank you for choosing Novotel Semarang and taking the time to convey your feedback with us.

It was certainly our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am most delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back and to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Was there for business, a very good location in the city central. I was not expected an extra ordinary service. But all the staff was so friendly, always greeted you with smile and the receptionist in the restaurant where i went for breakfast called me by name.. This is ver good. I know that when i entered the restaurant she will asked for my room number and she must be checked my name.. So when i left, she said, thankyou ms vanda, have a good day!.. Btw, all the staff in that restaurant is genuinly friendly...and good variety of food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerNOV, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Vanda,

Thank you for choosing Novotel Semarang and taking the time to convey your feedback with us.

It was certainly our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am most delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read specific positive comments about our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back and to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
David Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

It is not often you get to review hotels opposite each other particularly when they are virtually of the same caliber.
Novotel Semarang sits directly opposite Corwne Plaza Semarang, the subject of my last review.
While eagerly writing my thoughts about the Novotel, I cannot help but compare the two.
Staff members are friendly, willing and available in both hotels but that is a common denominator in Indonesian hotels irrespective of the stars they are awarded.
At Novotel Semarang, the staff members made it a point to remember my name just two days after my check in.
While the breakfast is slightly better at Crowne because of the selection of fresh breads, there was excellent service at morning coffee at the Novotel.
In the room I missed the fluffy white bathrobes and that great bed found at Crowne. While Novotel provided a pair, the printed cloth robes did not take my fancy.
The room was spacious enough but the low bed, although comfortable, did not fit the profile of the room.
The evening cake delivered at turndown time was a nice touch, I thought.
The lift recognised the floor when the room key was inserted. This high-tech feature first time for me in a hotel.
Down in the lobby, the Citrus Lounge is a pleasant place to spend an evening. The acoustic band “New Ansa” plays on Thursdays and harmonise beautifully without the need for microphones or electronic aids. Their selection of eclectic tunes kept my toes tapping and dancing shoes moving. It was nice to see a couple cha cha chaing around the floor.
The service in the lounge started with a bang but trickled down to nothing as more guests arrived. Although it wasn’t a full house, the staff members were not as attentive as at the start of the evening.
Picking the better hotel is a difficult task as each one has a tiny edge over the other in different areas. In this case, I would have travel where the wind blows.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahesaabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

we very happy stay in novotel semarang, the hotel very near with shopping center paragon, the place you can easy to find anything. For the breakfast you can enjoy from tradisional untill western food. When you get to the hotel all the staff very friendly and always smile. Thank you Novotel we will back again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank emilia1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is providing the services comparable with the price offered.
The staff is helpful and paying attention to every detail of service.

I'm staying here for one night only, for business purpose.

One thing that is a bit below the standard is the taste of the meals provided. I ordered tahu bakso,and its a bit strong salt taste. The fruits is also not so fresh.

Other than that, everything is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Semarang Simpang Lima
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Semarang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ciputra Semarang
Hotel Ciputra Semarang
#13 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aston Semarang Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Semarang

Property: Novotel Semarang
Address: Jln. Pemuda 123, Semarang 50132, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
#4 Business Hotel in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Semarang 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of business district and facing the biggest & newest shopping center. Novotel Semarang offer for all travelers a wide range of facilities such as 24 hours Free Internet Acces in the room & public area, Free pick up & drop service from Hotel to Airport/Train station vv, Fitness Center, Spa&Sauna, Manicure Pedicure, Swimming Pool, Restaurant, Bar & Club and many more....To work or relax, our rooms are designed and well furnished to accomodate your business or leisure. Completed with the sliding & ergonomic working table, Free high speed internet connection, LCD TV, Relaxing Pillow in the rooms and 24 hours room service.Tantalizing your palate with our wide range of delicious dishes at our restaurants. The Square is available for buffet breakfast and Citrus Restaurant is the perfect place to dine or meet your clients. To complete your leisure moments with Novotel, visit our Club 123 ! The most hip place in town with daily live band and resident DJ every night !Semarang is a business city which also offer a rich and beautiful historical heritage such as Kota Lama & Sam po kong temple and also famous with the uniqueness of its culinary. Being a part of this splendid city, Novotel Semarang offers all the best to its customer such with easy access to the biggest shopping center, easy access to and from Airport / Train Station and easy access to tourist destination which make us a perfect and ideal choice for your business and leaisure !WELCOME TO NOVOTEL SEMARANG ........ ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Semarang Hotel Semarang
Semarang Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing