We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay”
Review of Novotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Semarang
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Kebumen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Pros:
- Great location, in Semarang's business district (8/10).
It also easy to find, near several places of interest, and taxi is available for 24 hours a day.

- Unique room concept (8/10).
I usually greeted with almost-all-the-same carpeted room, but Novotel Semarang presents wooden floor, and the woodwork is great. Also, the bed is slightly lower than usual, which is more comfortable, too.

- Polite staff (9/10).
Even the parking security is helpful, even with their limited parking space.

Cons:
- Very limited parking space (4/10).
They try to handle this by providing free valet service, but as always, somehow a little slow.

Additional comments:
This is a good place to stay, although I never stay more than two nights there.
Just a little thing, the bathrooms have large window facing the room. I had a little trouble since I went with parent and nephew, but it might be interesting for young couples, newlyweds, or anyone who wants a second (or third?) honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment. I will share your comment to my team.
We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Once again thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang for your next trip.

Best regards,

Mrs Severine Krawec Juliyanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    409
    142
    44
    21
See reviews for
232
86
72
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed for 1 night after long landtrip from Jakarta to Surabaya. i was expected too much to this hotel since i was stayed at many Novotel at other city in Indonesia but this is the worst ever. i stayed at 2nd floor at corner room and carpet along galley was smelly like never clean before. Bath tub is slipery and all equipment at bath room need to be maintained. View is poor since i could only see some trees and not much to see from 2nd floor.

Playground that i expected will made my kids homy is only tiny room size around 2x2 and in mind accor is always famous with good food but it didn't works at Semarang. All food is untasted, porridge taste too sweet, noodle is untasted and cook too dry. Everything was not right at that restaurant. The only thing that i like, they provide jamoo "a traditional herbal drink" of java.

Location is close to the mall but quite far from simpang lima area. I think i will never stay at this hotel again on my visit to Semarang.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irpaniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for sending us your comments concerning your stay in my Hotel.

Please accept my sincerest apologizes for what happen in Novotel Semarang.

Regularly we received positive comments and I am sorry that your stay was not at your convinience.
Concerning the view unfortunately I cannot do so much as our hotel has different orientation some rooms are facing some governemental office, some the Shopping center but if you wish to have a city view you must be on the highest floor but at this time we were full and we were not able to satisfied all clients requests. Concerning the maintenance we are doing regularly maintenance for bathroom, room, painting,...

It is true that in Novotel Semarang our kids club is tiny but until now we never have complaint concerning the size as we offer to our kids's clients, TV, movie, Play station, wooden game,... as we are concern with environment and health of your kids.

For the restaurant or our breakfast we have rarely comments about the taste but we will work on it in order to rectify the quality.
Location yes we are not in Simpang Lima but only at 5 min by taxi and only 10 000 IDR.

Please for your next stay please contact me i will be pleased to welcome you and to recover the confience that you had before in Novotel

Once again thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang for your next trip.

Best regards,

Mrs. Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here in 3 separate occasions. In the first time, I stayed in a room way down the hall on the 2nd floor. The room itself was fine, all that could be expected from a Novotel property. But curiously, I heard noises at night that sounded like someone was hammering nails. My colleague who stayed in another room heard the same thing. Apparently the noises came from the ballroom one floor below where the banquet staff were preparing for an event.

In the second time, I stayed in a floor that was under maintenance. The hotel took into consideration to stop all maintenance activities 5 PM. Since I spent the whole day outside, it was not a big problem.

Because the second stay happened to be in the Ramadan month of fasting, our room package included fasting break buffet. But when my colleague and I came to the restaurant, it was so packed the dinner experience was far from enjoyable.

In the third time, I didn't expect much so the stay was mostly uneventful.

The swimming pool was so tiny for a hotel with that many rooms, it was so uncomfortable just sharing the pool area with other guests. I gave up using it on my third stay.

The food quality, both in the breakfast buffet and the room service, was so-so. The fruit in the salad bar was nearly spoiled I had to throw away the whole plate that I took. The freshly ground coffee available in the buffet was quite consoling though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east. it offers better view. High floors tend to be quieter, so I suppose it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for sending us your comments concerning your stay in my Hotel.

I would like to apologize for the noice that you add during the stay whicg where coming from our Ballroom for some next day event in our Ballroom, I already spoke with my team to avoid as much as we can to do some night preparation in our meeting rooms.
As you said we are doing some renovations in our hotel during Ramadhan time as our occupancy is lower in order to offer to our clients the best rooms well maintained.

Concerning the swimming pool unfortunately I cannot do anything as it has been built as it is,

I am deeply sorry to heard that you did not enjoy our Buffet, breakfasting. It is true that it was quite packed, we have a huge demand everyday and we are trying to satisfied all our clients who wish to enjoy our buffet.

Concerning the breakfast I already took some action to avoid this kind of inconveniences.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang for your next trip.

Best regards,

Mrs. Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Whenever i visit Semarang on business trip, I would definitely Stay at Novotel. The flooring in the room is wood and it gives a warm feeling. The room is simple yet cozy. The massage service is superb because we can request for a service in the room based on the last order of 11 pm. That is very nice to have an aromatherapy massage before we go to bed. Breakfast used to be better. this time it wasn't as good as before.
Perfect place to stay if you visit Semarang.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and comment. I will share your comment to my team.
We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Once again thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang for your next trip.

Best regards,

Mrs Severine Krawec Juliyanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Semarang Simpang Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Semarang
0.5 mi away
Louis Kienne Hotel Pandanaran
1.3 mi away
Aston Semarang Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Semarang

Property: Novotel Semarang
Address: Jln. Pemuda 123, Semarang 50132, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Semarang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Semarang 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of business district and facing the biggest & newest shopping center. Novotel Semarang offer for all travelers a wide range of facilities such as 24 hours Free Internet Acces in the room & public area, Free pick up & drop service from Hotel to Airport/Train station vv, Fitness Center, Spa&Sauna, Manicure Pedicure, Swimming Pool, Restaurant, Bar & Club and many more....To work or relax, our rooms are designed and well furnished to accomodate your business or leisure. Completed with the sliding & ergonomic working table, Free high speed internet connection, LCD TV, Relaxing Pillow in the rooms and 24 hours room service.Tantalizing your palate with our wide range of delicious dishes at our restaurants. The Square is available for buffet breakfast and Citrus Restaurant is the perfect place to dine or meet your clients. To complete your leisure moments with Novotel, visit our Club 123 ! The most hip place in town with daily live band and resident DJ every night !Semarang is a business city which also offer a rich and beautiful historical heritage such as Kota Lama & Sam po kong temple and also famous with the uniqueness of its culinary. Being a part of this splendid city, Novotel Semarang offers all the best to its customer such with easy access to the biggest shopping center, easy access to and from Airport / Train Station and easy access to tourist destination which make us a perfect and ideal choice for your business and leaisure !WELCOME TO NOVOTEL SEMARANG ........ ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Novotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Semarang Hotel Semarang
Semarang Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing