We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value for money”
Review of Novotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Semarang
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    409
    142
    44
    21
See reviews for
232
86
72
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

this hotel provide us with a great location at the heart of semarang. the hotel itself is quite old and i find it smelly when i first came in to their reception. but the reception is great, they provide best services, even they ask me to join the membership. good selling.
room is ok, too bad the wifi is very slow for this kind of hotel.
room is large with big bathtub (it become rare in chain hotel this days)
good bed and they provide special pillow.
breakfast is OK and check out process is fast.
i think this is a very good hotel and absolutely will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team.

We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.

Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Because of the smelly bedcover at midnight we have to ask the housekeeping to change it. It also happen to shower curtain which is smelly too. I used to stay there when the hotel age less than a year after opening it impressed me as one of the pioneer chain hotel in Semarang. But now the room quality is poor.

The parking arrangement was also bad. We have to explain many times to the parking/security officer that we are the staying guest to be able to have the parking space in front of the hotel. A card is given to replace it with our car key, they said they will move it to basement so other car can use the spot (even many other spot is available) until the next morning, our car is still there anyway.

Basement parking to lobby hotel is only accessible with high step stairs which impossible to take your luggages through it. No bell boy there so you have to drive your car again to the lobby to have them helping you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiarifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team.

We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Concerning your comments on our Parking space unfortunately our parking has only 25 places for 174 rooms, we cannot provide space for all our clients but we do have valet parking service.
For the lift we do have a lift which can be activate on request from basement to lobby for people travelling with a lot of luggages and as well for people who has some wlaking difficulties. We do not activate this one regularly due to security issue.
Thank you for your understanding.

Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for many times and I've never been disappointed before with the service. I booked two rooms with a connecting door as I am traveling with my wife and two young kids. We arrived at the hotel on 30 Dec 2012 at around 11 a.m. and we tried to ask for early check-in where we were told that all the rooms with connecting door are not ready. Having aware that the check-in regulation is at 2 p.m., thus, we decided to leave our luggage at the concierge and planned to return to the hotel after the allowed check-in time.

At 2.30 p.m. we arrived at the hotel and our kids were already tired and ready for the afternoon nap. Out of our expectation we were told that none of the rooms are ready to be occupied because the rooms had not been cleaned up and we have to wait for another hour until they are ready. Unbelievable...the check-in time is supposed to be at 2 p.m. and we were asked to understand the situation that the hotel is facing out of our expense. I insisted that we cannot wait for that long and demanded responsibility of the hotel. Eventually, they managed to get one of the rooms ready but we had to wait for another room to be ready and that was not until one hour later after I made another complain at the reception desk (there was another guest complaining the same issue). Another unpleasant experience also occurred the next day during breakfast.

Anyway, I think service quality in this hotel is declining not like it was used to be. We all know that during the year end, most of luxury hotels are usually fully occupied (supposedly) and they should anticipated it already. The people at the front desk and at the restaurant during breakfast, they all gave the same excuse that too many guests/customers and they were out of hand. We paid for the hospitality and service and do we suppose to understand the internal problems of the hotel?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team.
We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Concerning your comments, please accept my sinceres apologizes, yes the check in time normally is at 2pm but when hotel is full the check out time is a t 12 am and many our guest posponed their check out so that why we were not able to give you rooms on time as it is not only to clean the room but as well the previous client should leave the room first !.
For the restaurant, of course we do anticipate as we were fully booked but we have a limited places in our breakfast room and our clients came in the same time and once again we could not offer free places to them.

Thank you for your understanding.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!

Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very stratgec location, near the famous shopping mall
For the culinary lovers, this hotel hardly recomended with location next to traditional "Warung" with attractive menu and reasonable price,,,,,very2 Javanese culinery experiences.
I am enjoing most in walking arround early in the morning arround the hotel.,through lawang sewu - Jl. Thamrin,,with some "Warung" that has opened since 6 am in the morning,,,
However, just wonder if could improved the variation menu on breakfast,,,but over all is,,,,Excellent,,,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severine K, General Manager at Novotel Semarang, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and comment ! I will share your comment to my team. We are still working day after day to improve our quality and definitely all your comment are well appreciated.
Thank you again Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Semarang!


Mrs Severine Krawec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Semarang Simpang Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Semarang
0.5 mi away
Louis Kienne Hotel Pandanaran
1.3 mi away
Aston Semarang Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Semarang

Property: Novotel Semarang
Address: Jln. Pemuda 123, Semarang 50132, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Semarang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Semarang 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of business district and facing the biggest & newest shopping center. Novotel Semarang offer for all travelers a wide range of facilities such as 24 hours Free Internet Acces in the room & public area, Free pick up & drop service from Hotel to Airport/Train station vv, Fitness Center, Spa&Sauna, Manicure Pedicure, Swimming Pool, Restaurant, Bar & Club and many more....To work or relax, our rooms are designed and well furnished to accomodate your business or leisure. Completed with the sliding & ergonomic working table, Free high speed internet connection, LCD TV, Relaxing Pillow in the rooms and 24 hours room service.Tantalizing your palate with our wide range of delicious dishes at our restaurants. The Square is available for buffet breakfast and Citrus Restaurant is the perfect place to dine or meet your clients. To complete your leisure moments with Novotel, visit our Club 123 ! The most hip place in town with daily live band and resident DJ every night !Semarang is a business city which also offer a rich and beautiful historical heritage such as Kota Lama & Sam po kong temple and also famous with the uniqueness of its culinary. Being a part of this splendid city, Novotel Semarang offers all the best to its customer such with easy access to the biggest shopping center, easy access to and from Airport / Train Station and easy access to tourist destination which make us a perfect and ideal choice for your business and leaisure !WELCOME TO NOVOTEL SEMARANG ........ ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Novotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Semarang Hotel Semarang
Semarang Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing