We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice leisure hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice leisure hotel”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We'd stay for several times in this hotel and always want to come again. If location is your first consideration, don't pick this hotel. But if a leisure is what you need then this is a perfect hotel for you. Located in a peacefull highland of Semarang. The breakfast is awesome, the room size is standard and the bath room use shower, but the cleanlines is >̴̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴͡KªªÝ™. You can find a nice restaurant right in front of the hotel, named S2, which offer various kinds of menu, from japanese to western food. Try to book from the hotel web, usually cheaper than others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_th2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    79
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
20
8
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I think this hotel is the highest building in Semarang in term of location. There is Chill Out who serve 280 degree of Semarang view in to your sight from the top, also i love the pizza at La Florro, its really italian way of making, pasta and everything excelent. Thank you to the Food and Beverage Manager who recommend the pizza to us. Overall the hotel leave us a great memory staffs are excellent, managements are very helpfull also interior can't complain.
GRAND CANDI - GRAND DESTINATION

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyan_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location was not really visible from the "Main street". If you are a traveler and will just do on the spot booking, you wont see this hotel easily.
And also the public transportation is not easy to get infront of this hotel.

When you arrive, you will be welcomed by a big and feels like home lobby, then the room with its own uniqueness, succeeded to give me the convenience of staying in a 4 star hotel. The swimming pool and breakfast was just great.

Will surely back again someday..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILMO-Mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Our Valuable Guest (Tripadvisor Id Ilmo, Mrs)

Thank you very much for your kind comment and appreciation to our hotel, Our location which is on the hill area is suitable for you to running out from the crowd of the city center.

Your attention to details leads us to do more better of services and maintain our hotel's standard.

We will be waiting for you on your next trip to Semarang.

Best regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Located in higher land , an awesome view of landscape Semarang found in this hotel, specially when you choose presidential suite , but mostly from all type of room, we can see the sightseeing of Semarang below .
the room is great, clean, and the atmosphere is cozy.
the staff is friendly n known\ how to treat a value customer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kamandanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Our Valuable Guest (Tripadvisor Id Kamandanu)

Thank you very much for your kind comment and appreciation to our hotel, your attention to details leads us to do more better of services and maintain the standard.

We will be waiting for you on your next trip to Semarang.

Best regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel has an unusual collection or sculpture and paintings in the lobby which is a nice touch. Staff are very attentive and helpful, nearly all speak english . The Chinese restaurant on the first floor serves great food and across the street there is a good selection of other restaurants. Internet in the room was good and the rooms are comfortable . I have stayed here numerous times and the service and standards are consistent. Breakfast is okay, best if you go early so it is all fresh . They make waffles and eggs to order if you don't want Indonesian food. Personally i like the hotel and think it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotdeemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest (Tripadvisor Id scotdeemex)

Thank you very much for your kind comment and appreciation to our hotel, your attention to details leads us to do more better of services and maintain the standard.

We will be waiting for you on your next trip to Semarang.

Best regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Best price to value in entire Indonesia, good service, good food, staff speak english, rooms are good clean and very well decorated. Recommended, stayed here more than once, ideal for stopovers, beginning or end of a trip, business, one of the few places of the kind in Indonesia that makes you feel in a western hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest (Tripadvisor Id Antonio A)

Thank you very much for your kindest comment and appreciation to our hotel, your attention to details leads us to do more better of services and maintain the standard.

Your valuable comment will delivered to our management concerned, we will be waiting for you on your next trip to Semarang.

Best regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I like the artwork in their lobby, definitely adds something. Good location. The room is spacious and comfortable. Bathroom has no bathub, but thats okay. The hot water is hard to control. Overall its pretty good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest (Tripadvisor Id Monica K)

Thank you for your interest of our Lobby, that is the reason why we put the gallery hotel behind our hotel's name. Actually we have rooms with bath tub in executive floor and some limit number of rooms in deluxe, I suggest for the next trip please advise us for the details request then we could provide the best we can do for you and our customer.

Best regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
#11 of 67 in Semarang
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Edge Hotel Semarang
Grand Edge Hotel Semarang
#25 of 67 in Semarang
132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Emerald Semarang Hotel
2.6 mi away
Novotel Semarang
Novotel Semarang
#8 of 67 in Semarang
763 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
#7 of 67 in Semarang
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Candi Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Candi Semarang

Property: Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Address: Jl. Sisingamangaraja no. 16, Semarang 50252, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Candi Semarang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Candi – The Gallery Hotel - Semarang is an established 5-star hotel in Semarang City. Being the only one Gallery Hotel, will present you many locals and world artworks from the lobby to your room.198 newly renovated including 23 suites rooms with fabulous view of the city. Modern minimalist style, accented with magnificent paintings in each rooms. Cable TV, Broadband Internet, Safe Deposit Box, Mini Bar, Tea and Coffee Maker Machine in each rooms. Supporting facilities are Hotspots, Laundry, Business Center, Car rental and The Executive Club Floor. Magnificent meetings rooms equipped with supporting facilities such as Wireless Internet Access, LCD Projectors, Office and Audio Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Candi Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing