We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to Grand Candi Semarang Lately”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Been to Grand Candi Semarang Lately”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Been to Grand Candi Hotel Semarang and felt very happy to have our Ustadz to book hotel with Grand Candi . A pleasent stay with glorious food for breakfast . A wide spread of food to choose from. The location is a bit far from simpang lima shopping centre but is easily accessible . For sure will come back with other family members and friends . No regrets .

Room Tip: Great no regrets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hambali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest, (Tripadvisor Id hambali s)

Warmest Greetings from Grand Candi The gallery hotel,

Thank you for your review for Grand Candi The gallery hotel as your choice to stay in Semarang, We appreciated your valuable review will lead us to maintain it more better.

We are glad to having you for the next trip to semarang.

regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    79
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
20
8
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location of Grand Candi is bang on mid-way of upper Semarang which offers scenic view and downtown Semarang. It takes 10 minutes to get to either places - very strategic.

The hotel offers very good service, warm hospitality. The room is spacious. The shower tap was broken when we arrived, but was fixed very quickly. International TV channels available. The kids liked the shallow swimming pool. Gym is also great.

One room of improvement I would like to mention is the breakfast. With all the fine things they offer, surely they should get a new toaster for the bread - it is very old and it just does not work. Stay away from the pasta, macaroni and others - they are not cooked properly, some are still very crunchy and uncercooked. In all though, they offer a wide selection of hot and cold breakfast. They also have the traditional herbal drink (Jamu), in 4 flavors. Superbly delicious, you should try it.

Room Tip: Specify "non-smoking" room on your reservation otherwise you may be put on a smoking floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arief P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest, (Tripadvisor Id Arief P)

Warmest Greetings from Grand Candi The gallery hotel,

Thank you for your review for Grand Candi The gallery hotel as your choice to stay in Semarang, We appreciated of your review of our breakfast, it is become our constructive of our service. We hope that your next stay will meet with your expectation of breakfast.

We are glad to welcoming you for the next trip to semarang.

regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I like the location even though its not in down town but it close to everything. Close to S2 (restaurants complex) and many other restaurant, KFC, supermarket. They just upgraded their looks,both exterior and interior. Staff was helpfull, friendly . Worth every penny..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest, (Tripadvisor Id Stella M)

Warmest Greetings from Grand Candi the gallery hotel,

Thank you for your choosing of Grand Candi as your preferred stay at Semarang, Your review is becoming our valuable feedback in constructing a better service.

Awaiting your next visit in Semarang.

regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I happened to stay at the Grand Candi leading up to my engagement party. The service was first class along with the rooms. Staff were courteous at all times and always smiling. Engagement party was amazing. Could not wish for any more from a hotel. Am 100% returning to the Grand Candi in 2013.

Room Tip: Look online to get best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyHibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest, (Tripadvisor Id AJdB_12)

Warmest Greetings from Grand Candi The gallery hotel,

Thank you for your review for Grand Candi The gallery hotel as your choice to stay in Semarang, We have been 14 years experience of services and we still maintain the standard of services, with recognizing every single our guest we believe that we could delivered the best service that will expect to our customer. Your valuable review will lead us to maintain it more better.

We are glad to having you for the next trip to semarang.

regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great Hotel with excellent service. Staff extremely helpful and warm welcome (Second day stay all staff knows even your name already)
Great restaurant too.
Hotel uptown, 10min by taxi from downtown

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJdB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest, (Tripadvisor Id AJdB_12)

Warmest Greetings from Grand Candi The gallery hotel,

Thank you for your review for Grand Candi The gallery hotel as your choice to stay in Semarang, We have been 14 years experience of services and we still maintain the standard of services, with recognizing every single our guest we believe that we could delivered the best service that will expect to our customer. Your valuable review will lead us to maintain it more better.

We are glad to having you for the next trip to semarang.

regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I used to think that this hotel is just another boring place in Semarang. I was wrong. If you are in business trip in Semarang the grand candi is worth to consider.

Located on the hill of candi area, a very quiet district where the air is cleaner and fresher than downtown Semarang. Nothing special on the outside but once I entered the lobby my eyes just can't get away from great artworks that made this hotel claimed themselves as gallery hotel. Even they have sculpture from one of Indonesia's most famous artists, Nyoman Nuarta who designed Garuda Wisnu Kencana in bali. Amazing. I can not say that the ambience is sophisticated but it's really cozy.

The staffs are friendly, helpful and efficient. It didn't take long for check in and get the room.

The room is just right in size. Mine was on 8th floor and overlooked downhill. I can see Semarang city from there which the view is stunning in the evening. The room is very well designed and artfully decorated. They even paid attention to the details of lighting in the bathroom.

Unlike most of the hotels in Indonesia, Indonesian foods here are above average. Their taste can really compete with the originals sold in traditional authentic Javanese restaurants, or street vendor in the city of Semarang. I had asemasem iga pedas or spicy sweet and sour ribs stew and it tastes like heaven.

Near the lobby they have small lounge that I must applaud. With only forty thousand rupiahs or less than 3 euro I can have cup of delicious black coffee with unlimited delicacies. The wifi connection in this area was also good made this joint a must for any business traveller to work or just to relax.

It's still hard even for me to believe but Grand Candi Hotel is Semarang's best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest, (Tripadvisor Id ariavita)

Warmest Greetings from Grand Candi The gallery hotel,

Thank you for your review for Grand Candi The gallery hotel as your choice to stay in Semarang, Our location that on the hill area makes you will see Semarang city with a best view, Chill-out is our restaurant on the top floor, Teratai Lounge is always serving afternoon Hi-Tea that will let you enjoy various light meal with only IDR.40.000 the worth amount for some food served.

We are glad to having you for the next trip to semarang.

regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Java, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Grand Candi hotel is located near the center of the city. Even it's near the centher of the city but it's so peaceful there. The environment is surrounded by greeneries. Near the hotel (just go cross the street), we can find S2. It's a place which has cafes, gym, ice cream shops, bakery shop, etc. It opens until night so we can hang out with our friends there. Want more sweets? Just go walk to the cafe du chocolate near there and have some chocolate cake. Yum!
Speak of the hotel. The room's price is okay (start from 475.000++IDR)The staffs are really nice and friendly. Some of them also remember your name or your last visit. It's feels like home. The room is clean and comfy. Breakfast is okay, and they also provide 'jamu' (Indonesian traditional drink made from herb which good for your health).
There are two nice restaurants there. First is the restaurant in the 10th floor. It has a perfect atmosphere to have a date or even propose! City view, romantic dinner, limited deat, makes it private. Second one is Xiang Yan Restaurant which serves chinese food. It has a delicious mayonnaise lobster!

What a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiaGuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedi R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Candi Semarang, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest, (Tripadvisor Id RiaGuo)

Warmest Greetings from Grand Candi The gallery hotel,

Thank you for your review for Grand Candi The gallery hotel as your choice to stay in Semarang, Our Chill-out is on the top floor with beautiful city view and Xiang Yuen restaurant as the best chinese restaurant in town for the unforgettable taste.

We are glad to having you for the next trip to semarang.

regards,

Dedi R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
#11 of 67 in Semarang
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Edge Hotel Semarang
Grand Edge Hotel Semarang
#25 of 67 in Semarang
132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Emerald Semarang Hotel
2.6 mi away
Novotel Semarang
Novotel Semarang
#8 of 67 in Semarang
763 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
#7 of 67 in Semarang
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Candi Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Candi Semarang

Property: Hotel Grand Candi Semarang
Address: Jl. Sisingamangaraja no. 16, Semarang 50252, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Candi Semarang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Candi – The Gallery Hotel - Semarang is an established 5-star hotel in Semarang City. Being the only one Gallery Hotel, will present you many locals and world artworks from the lobby to your room.198 newly renovated including 23 suites rooms with fabulous view of the city. Modern minimalist style, accented with magnificent paintings in each rooms. Cable TV, Broadband Internet, Safe Deposit Box, Mini Bar, Tea and Coffee Maker Machine in each rooms. Supporting facilities are Hotspots, Laundry, Business Center, Car rental and The Executive Club Floor. Magnificent meetings rooms equipped with supporting facilities such as Wireless Internet Access, LCD Projectors, Office and Audio Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Candi Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing