We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Loenpia! (or some call it lumpia)”

Loenpia Gang Lombok
Ranked #1 of 621 Restaurants in Semarang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Loenpia! (or some call it lumpia)”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

You must try this particular Loenpia in Gang Lombok when you visit Semarang.

A bit expensive for a loenpia, but it's worth it, coz it taste really good, and big size. I usually not a big fan of lumpia, but this one is different. Love it so much. Can't wait to get a chance to get back there again.

Lucky me, I came on a weekday afternoon, so no queue at all. I just came there, order some to bring back to home in Jakarta.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaninWardhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    149
    46
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
634 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“nice spring rolls”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

loenpia or spring rolls is signature dish for this city, so many small and big restaurant offer this food. The special from Gang Lombok Loenpia is they keep the tradition of filling from savory chicken meat with bamboo shoot, quail eggs or shrimps. the dough is crispy and we should enjoy like the locals do with spring onion,chilli and brown and thick sauce made from maizena with soy sauce.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected..”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Sadly, when we visit Semarang, we only had such a short time to do culinary travelling so we decided to visit only places that well-known. This "Lunpia Gang Lombok" is one of them.
We arrived at the kiosk around 12 o'clock on Sunday, and exactly as prevoius comments, the queque was very long. There's about 10 people ahead and the place is so small so we have to queque outside the place.
After an hour and half, the owner informed to all the queing people that they're sold out !! So we were just standing there for almost two hours and come home empty handed.
I recommend to all, if you have plan to buy the loenpias for take away, it would be better if you order a day (or two) before so you won't come home dissapointed like us.
The price is almost similar with other stall which sell loenpia, it is 12,000 each. You can have them fried or not fried (they call it "loenpia basah", reccomended to buy in this condition if you are planning to take them back home). The size is quite big, so I would said the price is equal with the food.
Still, if there's any chance visiting Semarang again, I surely will pay the a visit to fulfill my curiosity.. A stall that crowded, the taste must be amazing.. Better luck next time :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MizzAstrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“must have when you visit semarang”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

this was an unique food that only can find in semarang. so you must try this. its place so close with gang lombok temple and the replica of cheng hoo boat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank littleangelIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very small place.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Maybe the best Loenpia ever but kinda expensive. But very small place, and the road is so small(that's why the name is Gang Lombok = Lombok Alley), so avoid the high season/holiday to avoid the troublesome from people who come. It's right beside the largest temple in Semarang. so not hard to reach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kunaskun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loenpia Gang Lombok also viewed

Semarang, Central Java
Semarang, Central Java
 

Been to Loenpia Gang Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing