We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and new” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pandanaran Hotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“clean and new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel looks rather fancy for the price we paid we booked via booking.com and paid 30 euros. It is a nice hotel with good breakfast, very good beds and it's clean. You can hear the mosque from the room, but where on java can't you? We were happy. The only thing is the staff in de morning, we were looking for some information about buses to Yogyakarta, no one had a clue. I don't think they have to many indepentent travellars. The guys at the desk at night were very helpfull, they were referred to as the concierge by the girls in de morning. They knew far more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    333
    132
    16
    3
See reviews for
252
71
41
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The lobby looks modern & minimalists, but upon entering the inner part you will be greeted with beautiful javanese teak wood carved gate (gebyok). Room is not large, and the antique furnitures made it look smaller. Some of the furnitures look worn, but nonetheless comfortable. There's a small outdoor swimming pool on the 3rd floor, with beautiful relief of javanese fairytale.

Restaurant is quite big, though the breakfast selection is so-so. Plenty of traditional food such as rice porridge/congee, fried rice & noodles, soto, lumpia, serabi, and most of them tasted great. They also have pancake & egg corner, not to mention bread & cereal corner. My favorite is the jamu (Indonesian herbal drink) corner, which tastes as good as the ones made by old javanese mothers.

Location-wise is great. Jalan Pandanaran is known as one of the culinary mecca of Semarang. The famous Bandeng Presto store and several other food vendors are just around the corner. East of the hotel is Simpang Lima, while the west road leads to Tugu Muda/Lawang Sewu.

Room Tip: Plenty of antique furniture, might not be comfortable for babies/children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyanides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I booked this hotel via asiarooms, the hotel location 9/10 very strategic to Semarang traditional food shop ( Pusat oleh oleh ) where they sell Bandeng Presto and Wingko babat.

The room itself consider clean ( exept the carpet) but the furniture looks old value 7/10
since i got room with pools view, i give rating 9/10 for room location

I really appreciate the kindness of Hotel staff, when we need to go out, it was rain outside and the staff offer us to use their umbrella and catch a taxi / Becak for us value 9/10

i didnt take breakfast package when booked this room, so i need to go out to nearest place ( Simpang lima or Gajah mada ) by public transportation to find some meals, the transportation cost USD 1-2 / return. I give value for this 5/10.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nukyjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hotel Pandanaran is located right at the heart of Semarang, so location wise I can say it's 9 out of 10, it's near Simpang Lima and central business area.

The interior of this hotel is a bit outdated but overall it's clean and neat. The room service was prompt and the price was reasonable. The hotel staffs were friendly as well.

If you're looking for a place to stay in Semarang and think of staying in the central area, I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Location is perfect and budget wise, it's very reasonable.

Due to its location which near to business area, I suggest you to book the hotel long before your travel period because most of the time this hotel is fully booked by companies or institutions for conferences or meetings.

Stayed here few times and I'd be happy to be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Just a quick stAy out early flight so no time for breakfast but clean tidy and good service the spa service was fantastic ! Comfy clean bed ! Clean shower!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyreimports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

When I was there, they have small renovation at the lobby but it didn't caused much trouble. I stay for one night only. The room is clean, food service is good. Ordered room service and no long waiting before my Nasi Goreng's arrived. Reasonable price if you look for hotel in main road like Jalan Pandanaran, where it close to main attractions of Semarang. Buffet breakfast is good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. I didn't find any problem. The staffs were nice, the room was clean. Te breakfast was good.

Room Tip: ask deluxe room and you will get room in new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.4 mi away
HOM Hotel Semarang
HOM Hotel Semarang
#2 of 67 in Semarang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
#8 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Hotel Semarang
Quest Hotel Semarang
#10 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Allstay Hotel
Allstay Hotel
#9 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Semarang Simpang Lima
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Semarang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanaran Hotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanaran Hotel Semarang

Property: Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
Address: Jln. Pandanaran 58, Semarang 50134, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pandanaran Hotel Semarang 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Breakfast - Free WiFi An extraordinary hospitality in Semarang featuring Javanese atmosphere. Find comfort in our facilities and services to make Pandanaran Semarang your second home. Strategically located in the heart of the city and main shopping area where people do business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pandanaran Hotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing