We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Hotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest Hotel Semarang
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
KL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Located in one of the small lanes away from the main street. Attentive and friendly staff, except for one sour girl at Reception. Too bad because one lousy service can affect the overall better experience. The Deluxe room was small and there is very limited space to hang your wardrobe or keep your stuff. Air-condition unit is very noisy.There is a balcony, but special request has to be made to open the sliding door and make use of that extra space. Might as well do away with the unused space and we'll have extra inches as part of the room. We requested for non-smoking quiet room during advance booking and was given, a smoking room facing the front street. Breakfast was adequate. If your room price does not include breakfast, don't bother paying that extra rupiah for one. In-room spa service is available. But do ask what you are getting, because the description and the end product does not tally. Okay for a night stay. There are so many good hotels with great value in Semarang to choose from anyway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevelLingMinahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    171
    91
    7
    7
See reviews for
126
47
20
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
kudus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

i know this hotel from online browsing, my curiousity about new hotel find my to choose this hotel as my home at semarang. fast check-in, friendly staff.. event from security guard.
little disappointed bout view from my room.
another special things form me is early american breakfast, humm something previously unthinkable at 3.AM but they said ready to serve and voila... complete set western style breakfast deliver to my room.

really want to comeback, and finding for breakfast and swiming pool.. :)
see you there...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kakiusil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Istay in Semerang in july for 2 nights, my experience on hotel is positive.Room clean,good view from balcony,budget price.
the Director and 'was very kind, providing useful information about the city' and helping us to purchase train tickets.
The only bad thing, and 'was the hotel restaurant, after eating here I was very sick and I vomited for two days.
The area surrounding and 'very dirty, Chinatown.
Choose well where to eat, not risk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nassau2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

we really impressed reading the reviews of this property, that we booked 6 (six) rooms for 2 (two) nights in this hotel. one thing that become our problem is one of our group is travelling with children, hence he really needs a connecting rooms. we inform the hotel regarding this matter, only to get same answer from two different person that "it is our standard that requests for floor level, bed configuration and others will be confirmed upon arrival." well, we need assurance that our need and expectation is well taken care even before our arrival, that why we booked 3 months in advance, too bad that the standards was not designed for our need that we decided to check out before check in.

Room Tip: it is our standard that requests for floor level, bed configuration and others will be confirmed upo...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank BogorAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

It's our first visit to Semarang, hubby & I, and Quest has been a wonderful host since the beginning. Smiling airport pick-up officer at the airport upon our arrival, smiling concierge, and smiling receptionist instantly made us feel welcomed (although it is a bit weird that no one offered to bring our luggage up to our room, as commonly done in other hotels). Cozy lobby/bar area, and I love the purple color theme of the hotel.

The swimming pool faced-room is modern, spacious enough, and flawlessly clean. The see-through glass wall of the bathroom adds a resort feeling to this city hotel. The bed was comfortable, we had a good sleep, however we suggest Hotel to consider to put more than two pillows on the bed :)

Breakfast buffet was massive and tasty. They have everything, from complete meal at the main buffet, to stalls of rice porridge, cereal, salad, mung bean porridge, yellow rice plus condiments, fresh fruits, fruit juices, you name it. They even serve the traditional herbal drinks of "beras kencur" and "kunyit asem", nice touch... We're amazed since it is not even weekend... A nice outdoor breakfast area is available for smoking guests, which completely separated but still connected from the indoor area by glass windows. As a non smoker, we found this very comfortable.

For visitors to Semarang, Quest is definitely an option. We found the rates offered through hotel's website was the best compared to local travel agent and online booking engines, and it was totally value of money. The complimentary airport pick up was available and handy. Location wise, it is quite center and Semarang is not that big. Take a "becak" pedicab or Blue Bird Taxi stand by in front of hotels, and you're ready for your city adventure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tamp_Pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed here for a night only, and suprisingly the hotel price per night only cost less than $ 40, well for this new hotel and the room was really good. The best thing for me-is the bathroom, for affordable price with elegance bathroom, really good. Maybe because the hotel's location a bit far from downtown,I found it far. But nevermind, I'll be back here. (As backpacker, this hotel's really cheap)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marvinsulistio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surakarta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed here for one night. I booked a room with breakfast by Booking.com and I was not expecting the hotel to be so nice, since the price is less than $40. Lobby is so nice with bright colour of furniture. The receptionist is friendly and very helpful. Check in process takes no more than three minutes. Beds and pillows are comfy. The modern bathroom is clean with a rain shower. Breakfast was great with many choices of food. Nice pool, nice parking area. It will be perfect if the towels are changed by the bright white ones.

Room Tip: The third floor has a direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mBakLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.8 mi away
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
#6 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
#8 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
HOM Hotel Semarang
HOM Hotel Semarang
#2 of 67 in Semarang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Allstay Hotel
Allstay Hotel
#9 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oak Tree Emerald Semarang Hotel
2.3 mi away
Grand Edge Hotel Semarang
Grand Edge Hotel Semarang
#21 of 67 in Semarang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Hotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Hotel Semarang

Property: Quest Hotel Semarang
Address: Jln. Plampitan 37- 39, Semarang 50138, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Hotel Semarang 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Hotel Semarang offers guests a delightful business hotel and also a large Ballroom for hosting meetings and weddings, with a relaxed environment, modern interior design, while attentive and friendly staff will help make your stay a memorable one. Located in the heart of Semarang, the hotel is situated close to the famous Simpang Lima Business District and also the Chinatown district. It is 15 minutes away from the airport and 10 minutes away from the train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Quest Hotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing