We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor nights sleep at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quest Hotel Semarang
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Semarang
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Well, I had to leave the Dafam Hotel in Semarang due to a block booking and was booked into the Quest. On first sight it looked great... and opposite a Karioke bar! It was modern looking and the dinner was good. Breakfast was not as good as the Dafam. Rooms were smaller than the Dafam but clean and comfortable. The downside was the gentleman who insisted on calling his brothers to prayer at 03.30 in the morning! His voice permeated the double glazed windows and I could not sleep.... mine was at the front of the hotel , so make sure you are at the back ( if this does make a difference of course). I was only there for 2 nights so did not sample all the hotel had to offer. Disapointing as it showed promise.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the best position away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candymanPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 375 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

much much better than his sister hotel: favehotel mex building surabaya. quest's staffs are more friendly, my room key had programmed for 2 days in advance so i did not need to came to front office to extend my room like my bad experience before in favehotel surabaya.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

It is a Budget Hotel variant with good value for money.

Though oddly located, but if you like to explore lanes and bylanes of a city, this could be interesting. Take a short walk out of the hotel to the right and you will explore 4 Chinese Temples one after another .

The view from the room is not exciting, but that is how city hotels are.

Breakfast is sumptuous and with good assortment.

Staff is very nice , attentive and caring.

Overall nice and if the hotel starts a shuttle service for Simpang Lima every one hour, it would perhaps get a larger crowd as most other wish to stay connected to the city centre and therefore choose hotel nearby.

First hotel, which has shown sensible promotion of its laundry and considered Laundry service as a profit centre.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with bath tub are of no use. Avoid and take a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Close to places of interest. Within walking distance to Semawis- weekend culinary market. Clean and good service. It'd be better if they could provide morning paper to every room (they provide them at the lobby though).

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank augin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business purpose. I am very satisfied about this hotel. Especially the room. It has modern touch in it, and it is very clean and neat. The pool is small, but it is quite comfortable. I love the wifi access and the modern touch of this hotel. But, I don't like the location. Anyway, I recommend this hotel. It has 4 stars service, but 2 stars price ;)
I will definitely stay here again if I am in Semarang.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PrinceDoddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Affordable, pretty, modern bedroom, clean & comfortable! Swimming pool is small but I don't mind. Great breakfast...many choices!
I enjoyed staying in this hotel. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SiBontot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Two words for Quest Hotel, pretty and affordable. And I'm so so sorry for myself that I had never picked this hotel while I was in Semarang before. It's not huge or extraordinary luxurious, but it's amazingly clean and fresh. They have many many glass walls and roofs to make it look brighter. The hotel is located at Plampitan Street, near to Semarang's Chinese Town, Johar traditional market, and surrounded by plenty of shops. It takes 5 minutes drive to Simpang Lima.

At my very first stay, I got a nice spacious smart room with balcony. It has flat tv, telephone, safety deposit box, and minibar. Bathroom is beautiful and clean with good supplies and glass wall facing to the bedroom (don't worry, they put a curtain on it) :). Room service menus are tasty enough, and the prices are reasonable. My husband loved the Soto.

Breakfast is provided from 5 to 10. They provide varied breakfast menu, from Western to Indonesian. For pasta lovers, they usually provide tasty pasta beside egg corner. If you like vegetables, make sure you try their veggie juice. It's super healthy (but yuck...I don't like veggie juice).

Service form the hotel staffs should be no problem because they are all friendly. Parking lot is no problem too. One problem for me was the lift. We have to use our room key to use the lift. It brought me trouble once when my husband and I had to go to separate place and went back to hotel in different time. The hotel only gave us one key so I couldn't use the lift to access my room that I had to ask for help. That's not very practical in my opinion.

Overall, everything is very close to perfect. Now Quest Hotel is my first choice while I'm in Semarang.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happyfeet2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.7 mi away
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
Pandanaran Hotel Semarang
#7 of 68 in Semarang
602 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
Hotel Neo Candi Semarang
#13 of 68 in Semarang
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
HOM Hotel Simpang Lima Semarang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima
Ibis Semarang Simpang Lima
#30 of 68 in Semarang
531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Louis Kienne Hotel Pandanaran
2.0 mi away
Star Hotel Semarang
Star Hotel Semarang
#27 of 68 in Semarang
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Hotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Hotel Semarang

Address: Jl. Plampitan 37- 39, Semarang 50138, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Semarang
Price Range: $20 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Hotel Semarang 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Hotel Semarang offers guests a delightful business hotel and also a large Ballroom for hosting meetings and weddings, with a relaxed environment, modern interior design, while attentive and friendly staff will help make your stay a memorable one. Located in the heart of Semarang, the hotel is situated close to the famous Simpang Lima Business District and also the Chinatown district. It is 15 minutes away from the airport and 10 minutes away from the train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Hotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing