We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking the five star basics” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Lacking the five star basics”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I expect more from a five star hotel. The front desk staff fails to acknowledge your presence while you wait. If you are not first in line, expect a long delay. They need more reception staff, and they will need to be more polite than the ones they have already. The breakfast is plentiful, but does not taste good. The internet is slow. I will choose a different hotel for my next business trip to Semarang, and no, I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TBone_Rock_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay.

Please accept my sincerest apologize for the inconvenience happened during your stay at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang. I have well noted your concern and will take this matter seriously since our Guests’ satisfaction is on top of our priority. We are still working on the best way to resolve the problem so that it will not happen again in the future.

I hope this will not deter you to stay with us again in the future and I look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang during your next visit to Semarang.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    180
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
78
36
18
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is nearby to the central area, The Room is cozy equipped With Nice bathroom mainly the bathtub. The service is great but the Food for sahur was dissapointed single lack of the menu and Its taste was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priyacanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Your comment already passed to management for Hotel review and improvement. We have identified the issues and we took immediate action to create a pleasant stay experience with us in the future.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Best Regards
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel with an exclusive service but fair rate. And the best one is their breakfast! Complete and delicious. LOVE IT... The bedroom is so nice with good the facility. Spent nights here was my best one

Room Tip: The room @ the non smoking area is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rima_salim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had an overnight stay in Semarang before leaving for the UK. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained, lovely room and facilities and has aspirations to fulfil its five star status. However, we had a few issues with the restaurants. Our guide on arriving explained very carefully to the receptionist that my partner was vegetarian. We later tried to reserve a table in the restaurant on the top floor (which was empty at the time) and on asking what they had available for vegetarians we were told that we probably couldn't eat there as there were no vegetarian options! We asked if we could have our welcome drink in the bar there and apparently that wasn't possible either! We did return later that evening for a drink after dining at the Crowne Plaza a 10 minute walk away (loads of vegetarian options and very helpful staff) only to find that the restaurant and bar had been practically empty all evening - surely the chef could have made an effort to create a vegetarian dish, even if only to alleviate his boredom! Incidentally we were also told that the other two restaurants in the hotel couldn't do much for us either. As far as breakfast went they had a very varied selection with something for everyone and had obviously gone to the trouble of preparing something special for my partner, unfortunately we only found out about this when they called us after returning to our room after breakfast!
We did express our feelings on the feedback form and to his credit the Restaurant Manager did make sure that he came to speak to us and to apologise just before we left. They are trying to bring the service up to five star level in the restaurants, but as far as we were concerned it hasn't happened yet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMandGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Your comment already passed to management for Hotel review and improvement. We have identified the issues and we took immediate action to create a pleasant stay experience with us in the future.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is located at one of the best location in Semarang. The room was also spacious and modern but that's about it.
We were travelling of 5 people and we checked in at the same time. The queue was so long when we arrived since there was only 1 person handling it. And when we got the key to our room, we went upstairs and the key could not be used. And surprisingly it did not only happen to me but also to my other 4 colleagues.And so, all the 5 of us (which used 5 different rooms) had to get back to the front office to ask for help. Just amazing.
On the evening, I could not sleep because there was a constant noice on my bedroom. So at 2am, I complaint to the front office staff and I got the answer that they were doing renovation on the ground floor (I was at the 9th floor). I did not know how the noise could travel up to 9th floor. The good thing was that the noise stopped after I complaint. Who had this brilliant idea to do the renovation on a hotel when the guess need to sleep ?
The next thing is when I woke up, I received a letter from the management which mentionned that the hotel was full and since I booked only for 1 night, I should check out at 12 noon. I could not believe that with all of those low-service level I got, they were dare to send me the letter to kick me out before 12 noon!
I did not wait until 12 noon, I checked out at 9 am. It was just not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DimsumA362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .

We do apologize for the inconveniences during your last stay in Gumaya. Your comment already passed to management for Hotel review and improvement.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are a group of 5 adults n two children; my family and my parents. We stayed two nights and took three rooms.

Plus: Rooms already showed its age but still good. It's clean and maintained. Compare to its level competitors it's still the most spacious rooms in town. It's not the most modern but with kids I feel it's the most suitable one.
The staff also very friendly and accommodating. They are truly the asset for the company.

Cons: However, the breakfast quality decline compare with my previous stay. The variety also getting minimal even though number of guest looks the same. They should improve it to make a really five star hotel as claimed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeruJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family has always stayed at Gumaya Hotel whenever we're in Semarang for the last five years. The facilities are all well-maintained and clean. The room is spacious and has comfy beds to get good rest. The lobby is well-designed to give hotel guests the comfort and relaxing mood. The employees are all well-trained to serve the guests well. It has a small swimming pool and a nice lounge overlooking the city. But one thing that really stands out the most is the breakfast menu. I think this hotel offers the best breakfast menu in Semarang, and it really helps us to start our days well. The hotel has succeeded to maintain its quality for the last five years. We definitely will stay at this hotel again whenever we're in Semarang.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RidwanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Semarang
Novotel Semarang
#7 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.8 mi away
HOM Hotel Semarang
HOM Hotel Semarang
#2 of 67 in Semarang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Semarang Simpang Lima
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Semarang
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ciputra Semarang
Hotel Ciputra Semarang
#12 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang

Property: Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Address: Jln. Gajah Mada 59- 61, Semarang 50133, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
#2 Spa Hotel in Semarang
#2 Business Hotel in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and welcoming the 259 luxurious rooms and suites at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang. With its concept of modern contemporary design and emphasis on grandeur, comfort and spaciousness, Gumaya Tower Hotel is a unique luxury hotel with the added benefit of being situated in center of Central Business District with overlooking the city view, mountain and harbour, making the hotel is one of Semarang's premier destinations. Modern Chinese cuisine serve in Noble Court Restaurant, western food and sparkling wine at Sky Line lounge on 17th floor as the fabulous dining place in town. Also refresh your day with our signature coffee latte, tea, home-made cake and pastries on Chatter Lounge and The Patisserie cake shop.We commited to provide the highest international standards with a wide range of service and facilities to suit the needs of business travellers and a conferences delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumaya Hotel Semarang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing