We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is considered well managed, too bad the wifi service sucked!

The room is very spacious, fully air conditioned. I enjoyed the SPA service although it would be considered pricey. It has a very nice gym too, called In motion.

I enjoyed staying at this place thoroughly, but they really need to fix the wifi!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Missroru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .

We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding to the slow WIFI connection during your last stay in Gumaya. Your comment already passed to management for Hotel review and improvement.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    180
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
78
36
18
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at the Gumaya Tower for one night; the staff are very friendly and helpful , however the internet connection appears to be a challenge whilst they were quick to come to help the situation could not be resolved which was disappointing. Therefore in summary very good generally but technical limitations- the coffee shop however was excellent!

Room Tip: Choose one near the wifi hub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .

We do apologize for the incovinience regarding to the slow WIFI connection during your last stay in Gumaya. Your comment already passed to management for Hotel review and improvement.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Gumaya Tower Hotel is a 5-star hotel in Semarang...it's nice and cozy...but the WiFi is really bad. They need to figure out how to provide the service. I use an Apple Macbook Pro...getting a hook-on the internet is like impossible....and when you got the connection, it's so slow...

But on a good side...they have very nice staff, very courteous and accommodating....and very efficient...nice, clean rooms, good food, pretty good location

Room Tip: If you are not on business, then this hotel is a very good choice....better than the ones around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay.

Please accept my sincerest apologize for the inconvenience happened during your stay at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang. I have well noted your concern and will take this matter seriously since our Guests’ satisfaction is on top of our priority. We are still working on the best way to resolve the problem so that it will not happen again in the future.

I hope this will not deter you to stay with us again in the future and I look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang during your next visit to Semarang.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 times since last year. The rooms are very spacious and the staff members are very helpful. The provide fast and efficient service.

Food quality is good and the taste is pretty authentic for a hotel class "street food" provided at the cafe for breakfas

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susianty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk aan Zee, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for a week in this hotel for attending a wedding in Semarang.
The room was spacious and luxerious, the service was good and the staff was friendly.
The hotel is a real business hotel, but that is what you can aspect in Semarang because this is not a town to stay for a holiday. The terras at the bar at the top of the hotel is a nice place to be, with a nice view over the town. Breakfast was beautifull and choices from around the world. Indoor dining good as well. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days since we held a seminar at Gumaya Tower Hotel last year. And we got a good service and hospitality from it. We wouldn't expect anything better. The banquet was just perfect! We really enjoyed the meals with varieties of food from main courses till desserts. The hotel itself had luxurious interior, no wonder it was a 5 stars hotel. The room was really cozy and clean. The breakfast that we had was great. The staff were extremely friendly and ready to help. The swimming pool would let you see a good view of the city. The location was strategic. The hotel was close to Semarang city centre (Simpang Lima), Tawang train station, Airport (15 minutes), shopping centre, and some nice restaurants. I recommend you to have a nice meal with reasonable price called Lombok Idjo which was not too far from the hotel. Well, overall we really had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shella90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I booked the Gumuya Towers for one night based on Trip Advisor reviews and the good price obtained by on-line booking. The locaction is nice being about 1 km from Simpang Lima. The check-in was fast and efficient, the room spacious if somewhat dated, a nice lrge bathroom and very quiet. TV channel selection was good for world business/news channels and the internet connection reasonably fast. The only improvement area would be the inclusive breakfast buffet which was lacking in offerings compared to the level of the hotel. It was good but many items I was used to in similar Indonesian hotels were missing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GumayaTowerHotel, Public Relations Manager at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback regarding our hotel services. And we would like to said thank you for choosing Gumaya Tower Hotel for your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and all facilities our hotel .We look forward to welcoming you back to Gumaya Tower Hotel.

Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please do not hesitate to email us at pr@gumayatowerhotel.com or call us at +6224 3551999. Again, thank you for your reviews and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Management of Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Semarang
Novotel Semarang
#7 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.8 mi away
HOM Hotel Semarang
HOM Hotel Semarang
#2 of 67 in Semarang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Semarang Simpang Lima
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Semarang
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ciputra Semarang
Hotel Ciputra Semarang
#12 of 67 in Semarang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang

Property: Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Address: Jln. Gajah Mada 59- 61, Semarang 50133, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Semarang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
#2 Business Hotel in Semarang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and welcoming the 259 luxurious rooms and suites at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang. With its concept of modern contemporary design and emphasis on grandeur, comfort and spaciousness, Gumaya Tower Hotel is a unique luxury hotel with the added benefit of being situated in center of Central Business District with overlooking the city view, mountain and harbour, making the hotel is one of Semarang's premier destinations. Modern Chinese cuisine serve in Noble Court Restaurant, western food and sparkling wine at Sky Line lounge on 17th floor as the fabulous dining place in town. Also refresh your day with our signature coffee latte, tea, home-made cake and pastries on Chatter Lounge and The Patisserie cake shop.We commited to provide the highest international standards with a wide range of service and facilities to suit the needs of business travellers and a conferences delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumaya Hotel Semarang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing