We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly a very good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Semarang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I travel to Semarang frequently but usually I have a day return trip. This time I had an opportunity to spend a night in Semarang.

After reading some reviews in Tripadvisor, I decided to give Gumaya Tower Hotel a try. The booking was smooth and easy. I arrived quite late (around 9.30 pm) so there was no line in the check in counter. The check in process itself was very smooth.

I got a room with king size bed on the non smoking floor. The room was large, clean and bright. The LCD flat TV was there, complete with premium TV channels such as HBO, Max, CNN, NG and Discovery (and many many more!)

The bathroom was quite impressive. I like the fact the bathroom has a separate shower area and bathtub area. Something that you can only find in a 5 star hotel.

The bathroom was clean, and again, more importantly did not feel stuffy.

If I really have to find one thing to criticize, it was the shower. The water current was too weak in my opinion. In addition, the water temperature was a bit difficult to adjust. No matter how you adjust it, the water was always hot. (there, I had two areas for improvement!). But those were small stuffs. You won't die because of them.

One more surprise. The room had a FREE wi fi access. I took the speedtest and it showed an impressive 1.8 Mbps!!

The breakfast area was also very large. The hotel tried it best to cater everybody's taste, I noted at least four stations: Western style, Asian style, Japanese style and local flavor style. Not to mention the fruits, juice and pastry stations. On the scale of 5, I give 3.5 for the quality of the food. They were plenty, but not the best. But again, this was fine. I won't complaint about it.

Gumaya is an amazingly a very good hotel. I will surely come back.

Room Tip: The hotel provides shuttle services to several shopping malls in Semarang. It also has shuttle servi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tose_Mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 405 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Staying at Gumaya, makes me feel they really concern about my safety.
Electronic Key-card only to the floor designated, not allow unrecognized guest to visit you easily.

Food are ok here and the staff are smiling, attentive and helpful.

Good job for the management and keep on the standard high..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChandraIrawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

this hotel is not a big large hotel, but its nice hotel to stay in Semarang. it clean, nice service, and its quiet in a good area.
so far i enjoy and feel comfortable with this hotel. it have nice bathroom too, quiet big and clean.
its quiet recommended to stay if u visit Semarang. and price also make sense :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocostreet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed 1 night at this hotel while on my way to Surabaya.

Room is huge with free internet. User ID and password is on the screen of the TV. Bathroom is big with well stock ammenities.

Liked this hotel because of its location. Situated near to Crowne Plaza and Novotel. Its a 5 mins' taxi ride from the hotel to one of the big shopping malls in Semarang.

Local attraction - "House with a thousand windows". Its a hauted house for those who dare to visit. Was told by a friend that this house was built by the Dutch in the earlier 1900s but was used as a place of toture by the Japanese during World War II.

Would recommend a restuarant called "Rejeki" at Jl. Puspowarno Raya. Its a small seafood restaurant located opposite Giant supermarket. It serves great Chili crabs. Highly recommended. Thanks to my Indonesian friends who brought me there.

Would return to stay at this hotel when in Semarang.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was a well located, top class hotel. We stayed for 4 nights, and found the staff to be very helpful, the service excellent, the food good, and cannot fault our experience here at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Spend weekend in Semarang and Just plan to enjoy Semarang for 1st night and 2nd nite at hotel.... has been booked tower room, expecting that we can spend the evening with nice cocktail...what a surprise 5 star hotel only provide pudding bread, brownies and cookies...next day breakfast make us more wonder... Where we are staying actually? Egg, sausage, hash browned potatoes need to be requested and it took 20 min...and it because of they are busy with breakfast downstair at restaurant...so how about us who stay in your most expensive room? I think we deserve to get good service as well...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Venny0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is my first time staying in Semarang city for a very long time (may be 10 years ago) and did not expect to stay in very good hotel in semarang city center with very good rate.
The room is just awesome with very good facilities such as big LCD TV screen and free internet. Only water for shower was to slow and little for nice shower.

The hotel location is in city center just corner of famous SIMPANG LIMA area. Location is just perfect to seiing around and a lot of cafe and resto from local food to continental food area and shooping malls are around the corner.

Try to visit nightlife at one of the buildning not far from the hotel (forgot the name) and always use regaister taxi for night time.

Room Tip: Not specific but always request non smoking room if you are not smoker otherwise you will smell like...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crashbandicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Semarang hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Semarang
Crowne Plaza Semarang
#1 of 67 in Semarang
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Semarang
Novotel Semarang
#8 of 67 in Semarang
768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Semarang Simpang Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aston Semarang Hotel and Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Louis Kienne Hotel Pandanaran
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Semarang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang

Address: Jl. Gajah Mada no. 59-61, Semarang 50133, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Semarang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Semarang
#2 Spa Hotel in Semarang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Semarang
Price Range: $67 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and welcoming the 259 luxurious rooms and suites at Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang. With its concept of modern contemporary design and emphasis on grandeur, comfort and spaciousness, Gumaya Tower Hotel is a unique luxury hotel with the added benefit of being situated in center of Central Business District with overlooking the city view, mountain and harbour, making the hotel is one of Semarang's premier destinations. Modern Chinese cuisine serve in Noble Court Restaurant, western food and sparkling wine at Sky Line lounge on 17th floor as the fabulous dining place in town. Also refresh your day with our signature coffee latte, tea, home-made cake and pastries on Chatter Lounge and The Patisserie cake shop.We commited to provide the highest international standards with a wide range of service and facilities to suit the needs of business travellers and a conferences delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gumaya Tower Hotel Semarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumaya Hotel Semarang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing