We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in Malang”
Review of The 1O1 Malang OJ

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The 1O1 Malang OJ
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Malang
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stay this hotel with 2 young girls and was upgraded one night to Junior Suite and the other day we have to move to Super Deluxe Rooms. The rooms is very spacious. Super deluxe room, they provide 2 LCD TV and what a compliment for us. The only bothered me was during check in time. It takes almost half an hour because the room was full ( I booked via travel agent) and they can not find the twin deluxe room for us. But finally, the manager in charge, surprisingly upgraded us to junior suite room for one night only. Wifi does not work well in the room, but that is not a big issue for us. As the other reviewer said, there's no need to turn on the light during day time because it is already bright so we can save the energy. Breakfast is so so but we can enjoy it anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have share my experiences when i stayed here on October 2013 .. Really enjoyed it and ill be back when im going to Malang soon ..with luxury concept and special price.. nice services, excellent and helpful staff, delicious food, fresh air, nice view..but the swimming pool too small..never mind, i think worth it if ill stay here soon even with normal price.

wish that always on excellent services!

Room Tip: request for room at the highest floor and you will see the amazing Malang view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Actually, me and my family didn't plan to stay at this hotel, even didn't plan to went to Malang before. It was just because we had a 'not-so-good' experience on a hotel in a different city before that made us made an emergency plan just to 'escaped' that hotel.

We were so happy because the location of this hotel was quite close with Central Malang, then we asked for the price there and (again) felt so happy because the price rate was so low for a hotel with a good lobby and front desk interior, beside a fact that this hotel was quite new. The price list was just below 500.000 IDR net., for Superior Twin or Superior Double room type and 800.000 IDR net., for Super Deluxe room type. It was in a promotion deal.

We booked two rooms, Superior Twin and Double and got the available room in the highest floor (11th, as 12th is the rooftop cafe). When we entered the room, we was so happy because we (finally) got a decent and excellent room, considering our previous 2 night stay in another hotel was very regretful. Me and my sisters had the Superior Twin room while my parents got the Superior Double. The bed was very clean yet comfortable, the room was spacious, the bathroom was comfortable, and the TV screen was beyond my expectation of a usual ordinary Superior room type because it was quite big.

The breakfast was quite decent, the porridge was good, the other menu was great, but the melon was still a little bit unripe and when they ran out of fresh milk in container (beside the water) they didn't refill it again.

The only one we felt 'sorry' was our decision to only stay for a night, because when we wanted to extend our stay, the hotel was getting full and our room was already booked by another group.

By the way, even when the hotel is not in the promotion deal (the normal price is about 900.000 IDR for all Superior room type), we feel that those price is worth your stay. We will come back to this hotel when we go to Malang again someday... :D

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie_liem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this hotel, hotel located in center of the city, indoor swimming pool, staff was really nice,

wow things is, a spacious room with big twin bed, large led tv (50")

Will be back to this hotel next time

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Desniar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

An excellent hotel, especially considering the price. Spacious rooms, clean, good parking facilities and an extensive breakfast. The hotel is not in the center of Malang, but taxis are cheap and the neighboourhood is OK

The indoor pool is small and does not invite a plunge

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked this hotel from Agoda, when check in, need some time coz they can't find our name. This is a new brand hotel, very clean and bright. My suggestion, no need to turn on all the lights in the afternoon, it already bright, have to save energy :)
The breakfast not very impress, but the porridge taste good. The room is big and they provide a big flat screen TV. Wifi.., sometimes work, sometime hoping, hehehe...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodorine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western OJ Hotel for 3 nights. Booked this hotel as the price was good and was located near the city center. And the hotel with "character" we planned to stay at was full. Hotel picked us up at airport, for a very reasonable price. We were also upgraded on arrival which of course is nice.

The usual for a new hotel. Room was clean, modern and spacious. Breakfast was surprisingly good, with a broad range of tastes covered. The restaurant for dinner is not much and there are better choices with more atmosphere.

Service is good and the staff always were available to help. Much more than you would expect of a Best Western. We also had an exceptional service experience on the day of our check-out. Our 8am transfer to Yogyakarta did not show up and quite some effort was required to arrange a private car instead. During this 3 hour process the hotel staff assisted greatly with phone calls to the booking agent. The hotel manager intervened on our behalf, which was a very nice touch.

Overall, great value for money with friendly and responsive staff.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor away from the train line and never heard it. Might be a good idea to ask a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenConey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
3 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Malang
Swiss-Belinn Malang
#6 of 60 in Malang
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atria Hotel Malang
Atria Hotel Malang
#5 of 60 in Malang
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Malang
Ibis Styles Malang
#9 of 60 in Malang
449 reviews
1 mi away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Malang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1O1 Malang OJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1O1 Malang OJ

Address: Jl. Dr Cipto no. 11, Malang 65111, Indonesia (Formerly OJ Hotel Malang)
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Malang
Price Range: $37 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 1O1 Malang OJ 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Malang, THE 1O1 malang OJ offers comfortable accomodation and meeting facilities completed with the finest and popular destinations of hotel surrounding. The hotel is accesible from all parts of East Java, while Abdul Rachman Saleh Airport is only 25 minutes drive from the hotel. All rooms are equipped with complimentary high speed internet and WiFi, individual Air Conditioning control and Safe Deposit Box. Experience our Asian and International cuisine at our 24 hours Pandanwangi Restaurant or you can have a relaxing time at Skyroom, the highest rooftop in town while enjoying the light snacks, cocktails and mocktails with spectacular views across the city mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The 1O1 Malang OJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing