We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Nice and homey””

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fendi's Guest House
Ranked #41 of 102 Malang B&B and Inns
bali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
““Nice and homey””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We traveled with mom, sister and a friend and we had booked a double room around Mid of March 2013. Room were clean and staff are friendly.
The hotel provides lobby and sitting areas, where the group can just got together and talked in the evening. That gives a homey feeling. . Also we love the open area in the middle of the house as it gives a good air circulation and nice breeze. We really enjoyed it
Location are strategic as it is close to restaurants and outlets that sell "authentic malang" things, Yet it is in close vicinity to Malang ‘ sightseeing and colonial heritage district (Ijen Boulevard).
The price value is very good! ... Highly recommended. Will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    10
    10
    0
See reviews for
8
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Ubrique, Spain
Level Contributor
368 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

All signs etc are in Bahasa only. Reception has a very poor command of English. There is no restaurant and we could find nothing suitable nearby. The rooms are small but clean with air conditioning. We are on a tour so do not have a say in Hotel choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malang hotels

Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this guest house for 2 weeks last year. The best thing about this place is its prime location. Situated downtown on japan Kawi, you can easily find good place to eat only in 5 minutes walk. The hotel is originally a big old house, it has many interiors & furnitures which I believe was produced during the dutch era. So it gave a perfect classic ambiance to the guest house.
Rooms are clean, bathrooms are equipped with shower. Breakfast is delivered to your room. You have three choices of menu: Instant noodle with egg, toast with jam, or simple fried rice.
Upstairs, there is a big terrace with six or eight tables which is very suitable if you're traveling in group and would like to have some little gathering or casual meeting.
Car park might be a little problem in this place because the parking space is very small, although the security will gladly help you. This place also has curfew. They lock the gate around 11 or 12PM, so you have to ring the bell to wake the security if you come back late.
Phone signal is another issue in this guest house. some rooms in the back and in the side building had very poor signal that would get you very frustrated, so I suggest to choose rooms at the second floor.
But overall, for a midtown guest house like this, it is worth the price. Stay here if you're going to Malang! :)

Room Tip: For better phone signal choose rooms on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigihrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

At the beginning I was very surprised about the rooms, half outside, half inside. The room very basic but clean, we slept wonderful. The guesthouse is situated in the middle of town, so restaurants are very near.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiesen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you just want to travel Malang with no reason of need to stay in Batu or great hotel then you need to choose this one. This is just quite comfortable guest house in the best location of the city. You can go anywhere in the city and find everything.
The place has a lot of old interiors. The owner have had this place since several generations, and the put their family tree in the hotel.
not the best one, but you have to consider this as not expensive place and comfortable, just like at home.
What i regret was, the wifi connection was terrible

Room Tip: Corner ones are more spacious, especially the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bintang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here last year in the most basic room priced around IDR. 285k, back then.

The room was quite warm and inviting, eventho a bit small. There were AC, TV (not LCD) with local channels only, double bed with thin brown blanket, not enough for covering two persons. Basic beddings. Bouncy bed. En-suite shower and modern toilet.

Breakfast included, with the choices of very basic Instant noodle, or basic toasts with jam, and tea or coffee.

The front area of the house itself was attractive. Filled with vintage furnitures. It felt like in a grandmother's colonial dutch house.

It's located in busy Kawi area. There are many restaurants nearby. Just few steps to a minimart. 5 minutes walk to the famous Ijen boulevard. 12 minutes walk to MOG Mall.

Room Tip: You might wanna choose bigger room on the first floor. Ask the staff to show you the choices of avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyProsper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent one night in Malag. The room was very small, the bathroom even smaller but clean and modern. It was perfect for one night since it is quiet and at a main street with few restaurants in walking distance. Beautiful building, renovated dutch colony house. In the middle is a huge open atrium area. Realy nice. Breakfast was catered to the room, usual choice between toast or fried rice. Small portion with 1 cup of coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
0.2 mi away
New Kawi Guest House
New Kawi Guest House
#67 of 102 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enny's Guest House
Enny's Guest House
#16 of 102 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Srikandi Guest House
Srikandi Guest House
#32 of 102 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tya Family Guest House
Tya Family Guest House
#44 of 102 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shinta Guesthouse
Shinta Guesthouse
#15 of 52 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lovender Guesthouse
Lovender Guesthouse
#43 of 102 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fendi's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fendi's Guest House

Property: Fendi's Guest House
Address: Kawi Street 48, Malang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Malang
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing