We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Worst Budget Hotel Experience”
Review of Citihub Hotel

Citihub Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Citihub Hotel
Ranked #21 of 110 Malang B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It wasn't the first time i stay at Citihub Malang. The previous stay was quite pleasant so I decided to come back again during a family reunion at Malang.
We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights. Coincidently, we got the only 2 rooms out of 20 rooms which have no windows. so I was a little disappointed, but it's okay, we could accept that.
The big disappointment occured when we came back from the dinner outside. It was 11PM, me and my brother had already changed and ready to crash the bed when my Mom, who supposed to have already gone to bed, knocked my door and told me that the door card key machine was broken. The guy who tried to fix the door was a cashier from the hotel's convenience store, not the technician. He said that all the supervisors and the hotel staffs were on a day-off because it was Saturday.
After 45 minutes trying to fix the door with no results (he just change and change the batteries), he decided to get the technician from a nearby hotel. We had to wait 15 more minuter until the technicians came. After a few examination, the technician said that they had to open the roof, the ceiling, into the room and open the door from the inside of the room. The cashier guy hesitated and call his manager for advice.
Unbelievably, his manager didn't agree. He didn't want to break any parts of the building because it would be costly. I lost my temper immediately, because 2 exhausted middle aged women were waiting on a bench in open air in 11PM and the manager of the hotel still try to make economy out of this?? He finally agreed after 30 minutes of arguing on the phone with the cashier guy because the other rooms are full, and it took the technicians 15 minutes to finally open the door. The next day, we had to move all my mom's belongings to my room because they still hadn't fixed it yet.
I would absolutely not recommend and would not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Gigihrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel many many times. Almost everytime I go to malang.
Location is in city center. So it's easy to reach.
I can not complain about their room. Compare to other budget hotel, their rooms are spacious, with modern minimalist interior, very clean. Equipped with aircon, cable tv, free internet line, hot water.
Beds are really comfy. All king koil mattress, linens and pillow. I always have a good sleep.
The thing is in this particular hotel, they only provide twin beds at all rooms. Unlike Citihub in other city which have rooms with double bed.
Price is also very cheap. And it's very convenient that they have minimarket and business center (Urgent Store) attached to the hotel.
Things that you should know that you need to pay to reserve the room, you need to pay one night price deposit when you check in. Also they don't provide breakfast and they don't have restaurant. But the store sells some instant noodle and drinks.
They don't provide free toiletries, but they have something that you can buy. You can rent towels for a very cheap price.
Something that sometime bothers me is usually noise from other guests. I think the management should inform every guest to try to keep quite.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not too close from parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Clean, spacious enough, very cheap! Even they didn't provide toiletries incl. towels and wifi, but the hotel itself connected to the mini market and internet cafe, so it is not a big matter. Ac was good, hot water for shower was run well. The minus points is car park which is not wide enough and the street in front of hotel were always crowded at morning until afternoon. Overall, still this is the best small budget hotel to stay in Malang City.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

No frills budget hotel. Clean. Good service. Located centrally. Good quality beddings. But they only have twin beds. Need to book many weeks in advance to get a room. They only have very few rooms. It's attached to Urgent minimarket, very convenient to buy basic needs like soap, coffee, aspirin..Overall very recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank age_m82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This small 'hotel' provides clean and comfortble rooms. For only 250.000 IDR you have a modern, new, twin bedded room (they have only twins), a good shower with hot water, a LCD-tv and a very good and quiet sleep. It's a simple concept: every extra you need, you need to pay for. So they don't provide towels for free, no wifi, no soap or shampoo etc.
In front of the rooms there's 24 hour shop which provides everything you need (also internet). We only spend here one night, but would definitely stay here another time. They have the same concept in Surabaya by the way...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dvk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very basic budget hotel along the main road in Malang.
Attached with a 24-hour convenience store & internet cafe. Hotel's check in is at the convenience store's counter. They also have fax & washing machine for additional charges and free dock + phone charger in case you forgot yours.

Room is very clean and very basic with AC, LCD TV and free wifi but they only provide toiletries & towels for additional charge.

Overall, it was a good budget hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therandomadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's a small hotel -or a motel- located next to Kartika Graha hotel (which costs twice than Citihub). You wouldn't notice that It is a hotel from the exterior. It's connected to a convenient store (Urgent Store), and to check in, you need to enter the store, and speak to the cashier.

Despite the unconventional looks & system, Citihub is actually a pretty valuable jewel. With IDR. 250k, you'll get a room with :
-Very-Very comfortable twin beds and beddings ( I assume the beds and the beddings are expensive, referring to the quality),
-AC,
-LCD32" with decent international channels,
-HOT shower and clean modern toilet,
-Cool radio system ( It was installed cleverly that I didn't even notice that it was a radio), bottled water,
-and Free fast internet connection (Cable connection, not WiFi).

The decor was clean and smart. Don't expect high end hotel decor, though.
Some would say that it looks like a student dormitory, which it does.. Imagine a greyish , one story - student dormitory with card-locking door system.

Now the downsides,
-Some guests will park very near to most of the rooms. So lightsleepers will find it annoying, since other guests would often pick up something from their car and you'll have to deal with the car-door banging pretty often.
-There is no Double bed-room. All the rooms are twin beds. ( I ended up sleeping on one bed with my husband, since we didn't want to stay apart)
-Also, they don't provide bath amenities.
-Nor they provide fluffy towels free.
-No bathroom mat.
-The price doesn't include breakfast.
-No coffee maker.
-No fridge.
-No minibar.
-No hotel- standard- service.
-No room service.
-You'll practically need to bring laptop if you want to enjoy the free internet.

But hey,..
-You can buy the amenities from the store with only IDR.7500 (soap,toothpaste, toothbrush, shampoo, body lotion, cmiiw).
-You can rent towels in the cashier ( I don't know the price since I didn't rent any towels back then..I guess it was pretty cheap).
-You can order breakfast for IDR.15k per person.(Fried rice or Chicken with rice)
-You can go a few steps to the store and make yourselves a cup of hot instant coffee,or tea, or hot cereal drink for approximately IDR. 5000, each.
-You can jump in to the store, and buy any snacks or softdrinks you want, with NORMAL price, instead of paying the minibar price.
-If you find yourselves hungry for burgers or something more than just friedrice, go out from the hotel and a 24-hour McDonald's is just 2 minutes walk.
-The single bed can actually fit two person, if you are thin.

Oh, for the payment, you need to deposit IDR. 250k, not including the rate..in CASH..
It's not so convenient for some people. So remember to bring extra IDR. 250k - cash.
For example, if you plan to check in for 2 days-stay, then bring IDR. 500k + 250k.
Yes, unfortunately you need to deposit them all, but you'll get your IDR. 250k back when you check out.
Oh, and there is a IDR.20k extra charge for weekend stay.( Friday & Saturday nights)

Give it a try the next time you plan to spend some nights in Malang.
(The actual price was less than IDR.250k. I wrote IDR.250k just in case if it has fluctuated.)

Room Tip: You can ask the staff to check all the available rooms. Choose one that you like the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmyProsper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
0.2 mi away
Gets Hotel Malang
Gets Hotel Malang
#14 of 56 in Malang
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savana Hotel & Convention
4.5 mi away
Solaris Hotel Malang
Solaris Hotel Malang
#16 of 56 in Malang
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The 1O1 Malang OJ
The 1O1 Malang OJ
#7 of 56 in Malang
301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Malang
Swiss-Belinn Malang
#6 of 56 in Malang
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Malang
Ibis Styles Malang
#8 of 56 in Malang
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citihub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citihub Hotel

Address: Jln. Jaksa Agung Suprapto 11, Malang 65111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Malang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing