We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Malang
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Malang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stylish and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a delightful hotel in so many respects. The general ambience, helpful and friendly staff, quality of the rooms, excellent menu, lovely afternoon tea and tasty dinner menu. I enjoyed by short stay there very much indeed and strongly recommend it to others. There is nothing not to like.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Zeke O,

Thank you so much for spending your time with us at Hotel Tugu Malang. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to share it with us and our readers.
We hope to see you soon again in Malang or in one of our sister hotels in Blitar, Bali or Lombok.
In the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Best Regards
Yudha
and the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    134
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
114
226
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights while visiting Bromo. The hotel has a unique character, reminiscence of an older era. Rooms are very tastefully decorated. The hotel staff helped us organise our tour to Mount Bromo, Batu and surrounding attractions. We had a great time.

The restaurant at the hotel is absolutely superb. While breakfast buffet was available, you were encouraged to order ala carte. The breakfast menu was very delicious, with both local and continental cuisine. I like the Beef Rawon.

We also visited the hotel souvenir/gift shop and bought quite a number of items which we thought were very reasonably priced.

We like the Tugu experience so much that we made arrangements to visit the Tugu at Lombok in 2 weeks time. Thank you Tugu!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear George R32,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying two nights with us. We really appreciate that you took you time to write us these very special and kind notes.
We are pleased also that you have spend time exploring the surroundings of Malang (Bromo and the Batu area). Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our breakfast to our readers, your favorite dish "Beef Rawon" is a real local Malang delicacy which Tugu is famous for. For your next time we suggest to try our "Cwi Mie Malang" a homemade Chinese Indonesian tasty noodle soup with beef.
We wish you all the best for your time in Tugu Lombok and we hope to see you soon again in Malang. We just launched a very unique bike tour through Malang where we explore the Dutch Colonial past in little side streets as well as local "Kampoengs", all away from the busy main streets.

Best Regards
Yudha
and the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I loved my stay at the Tugu in Malang. The hotel is like a museum with long corridors leading to other rooms and areas to get lost in, as you marvel at the art pieces, paintings and elegance of this fine hotel. There is even a temple in the hotel - it is lit up with soft red lights at night and you access it via the endless love corridor which is dedicated to the very famous painting called "the kiss". I loved the little cafe and old Dutch bakery (they still use original Dutch recipes) and you can browse the stacks of old art books in the little back room past the boutique. The bar is super cozy and very tastefully furnished. We splurged and had the 7 course meal in the Sugar Baron Room and 12 waiters served us - all in traditional costume. The name of this banquet style meal is called The Grand Rijsttafel Experience. A unique Indonesian experience. Oh, how I love the Tugu Hotel - this is the 4th Tugu Hotel I have stayed in. A most exquisite experience. Don't forget the spa - which is rooftop and very quiet. I enjoyed the casual dining in the restaurant next to the pool which is fringed by a beautiful garden. Don't miss the high tea in the late afternoon - it's very social. Perched on little wooden Javanese stool, you are served very generous portions of cakes, sweets and the hot mini Dutch pancakes - mmmm- the best - and it's complimentary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Stephtravelwriter,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you took your time to share your experience in detail with us and our readers.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the very much Tugu has to offer and we are glad that you have had the chance to enjoy our "Grand Rijsttafel" Dinner at the Raja Room.
We hope that we see you soon again at Tugu Malang, in the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Best Regards
Yudha
and the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wow what a place. Overwhelmingly friendly staff! Great wine cellar
huge menu! Decent food and we got the second best suite in the hotel.
Had a couple of glasses of superb wine in a lovely cozy bar with a Dr Gigi
chair.

Researched the wine racks to find something for dinner. Were
walked through show cases of beautiful puppets from here and China
before a lovely dinner by the pool. Changed some money at good rate
too. Accommodation is wonderfully quirky and the whole building full of extremely interesting pieces clearly collected by an owner with an eye for really amazing pieces.

Staff could not be more helpful or friendlier - a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Friggykeith,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Tugu Malang and writing these very kind notes.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay here, as well as the food, decor and the wide range of wines we offer.
We always remind ourself that the great ambience and decor the hotel has to offer only makes the Tugu Malang special when our staff fills it with friendliness, courtesy, helpfullness, enthusiasm and humble Javanese hospitality. Thank you so much reminding us that this is something we will and must constantly working on.
We hope to see you soon again in Malang or our sister hotels in Blitar, Lombok or Canggu (Bali).

Best Regards

Yudha
& the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed just a night in this petite boutique hotel in Malang, loves the concept and enjoy the typical local hi tea experience on the balcony area of the hotel...Recommended for a short getaway...

Breakfast experience was great...value for $

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Chris K,

Thank you vey much for staying. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and share with us your feedback. We would love to have you come and visit us again in Malang or any of other unique sister hotels in Blitar, Bali and Lombok.

Best Regards

Yudah
& the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

A rare trip for me, as a tourist, not for business. The Tugu "chain" is storied in Indonesia, known to be interesting, quirky, etc. I travel 4 months out of the year and am v. tough on hotels. Normally look at them from a business standpoint. But the charm, service, ambiance, location and price all recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure. I had a poor wifi internet connection in my room and the engineering staff, on their own, wire it with a plug in for the cable so I could use it. I was so impressed. And everywhere throughout the hotel, in all capacities, service was superb. Keep in mind English is not the first language here, so you have to give a little leeway, BUT v. little. The spa was great, I loved the antiques throughout, the beds were excellent. Highly recommended. If the rest are like this, I would do a pilgrimmage to visit them all. OH, the food in the resto, especially the "local" dishes, simply superior (and a terrific value for the money. Be prepared for local families staying over the weekend, a v. routine occurence in Indonesia (i.e., kids…). Did not distract from my experience (i.e., no noise in the corridors). Just an outstanding exprience, and I write of v few of these in my reviews...

Room Tip: I had a room in the lowest category, and it was just fine..roomy and comfortable (great bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeregrinMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear PeregrinMundi,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang. We would like to thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this very detailed review.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your kind words regarding our service, the food, your room and your overall impressions.
It would be a real pleasure to have you come and visit us again. In case you would like to discover our sister hotels in Blitar, Bali and Lombok, let me tell you than none of these hotels are alike. We definetly share the same values of warm hospitality in a luxurious environment, however they all diver in terms of atmosphere and design. All of them are very unique and according to our regular guests, everybody has a different favorite.
We invite you to explore our world of Tugu in Java, Lombok and Bali.
In the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Yudha
& the whole Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Situated in an old Dutch colonial building and with an interior as if you are sleeping in a museum this is a special place to stay in Malang. Very good service. Nice rooms. Good restaurant with extensive wine list (expensive). Nice coffee shop on the grounds. Do not miss the afternoon tea on the first floor. Wish we would have stayed for an extra night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Masasi,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Malang and thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and thanks for sharing your thoughts with us and your recommendations for our guests.
We wish to see you soon again at Tugu Malang, there is still a lot to discover and we hope next time you will stay with us longer.
In the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Best Regards

Yudha
& the Tugu family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
3.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
2.0 mi away
Atria Hotel Malang
Atria Hotel Malang
#4 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Malang
Swiss-Belinn Malang
#5 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Malang
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Malang
Ibis Styles Malang
#7 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Property: Hotel Tugu Malang
Address: Jl. Tugu no. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This most unique hotel in East Java, the only 5-star luxury hotel in Malang, is not just a hotel. It is a whole destination by itself. It is a beautiful living museum filled with priceless beautiful antiques and artworks of Indonesia, and every corner of this hotel celebrates the colorful history of Indonesia, of Java, and of Malang in particular. Every single staff so naturally carries the "hospitality from the heart" that is so authentically Indonesian gracefully, and nothing is ever a problem. This is the very place to experience the true soul of Java and Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing