We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Malang
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Malang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The hotel is fabulous. Our standard room was luxurious, but what was most interesting is that the hotel is filled with antiques and could be described as a museum. In the gift shop only about half of the items are for sale. The rest are display pieces. There are entire rooms that seem to have no purpose other than to display antiques.

The Indonesian restaurant was the most interesting one we ate at in Indonesia and we had fabulous meals for very low prices. I wonder if TomSidney ate at the same restaurant--we certainly have a different opinion of the food here. So does the Blue Guide, which highly recommends the restaurant.

We didn't plan to stay in Malang, but the transportation out of Cewang Lemoro was too difficult for us to make it to Yogyakarta and we were stuck. Because of this hotel we thoroughly enjoyed the stopover even though there really wasn't much to see in the town. We understand that there are some interesting sights outside of the town, but we didn't have time to explore.

We had an odd experience buying train tickets. We asked the train schedule at the front desk and they offered to buy tickets for us. We gave them some cash and they returned shortly afterwards with the bad news that the trains to Yogya were all booked for the next week. They offered us a car for 1.5 million. We asked them if it might be possible to scalp train tickets at the last minute and they said yes, that this is often possible, and they even offered to send someone with us to help.

So the next day at the train station their guy came with us and told us to sit in the waiting room while he tried to help us. He spoke to the desk and talked on his cell phone. He gave us periodic updates, telling us that his person on the inside was pulling strings for us. Meanwhile the train departure time was approaching. With about 1/2 hour to go he came to us and said he was sorry, but nothing worked. He couldn't get us tickets, but the hotel could offer us a private car. We went to the desk and asked if there were any tickets. They said no, everything was sold out for the next week. We said we really needed a ticket and was there a possibility of a cancellation. They told us to wait and 2 minutes later our tickets were printing out on their machine. We paid 100,000 each, versus 1.5 million for a private car.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeLikesBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    134
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
114
227
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I stayed 1 night at the Tugu Hotel in Malang. The hotel service is superfriendly and good at English.

The location was excellent, right in the city centre of Malang.

Food at the restaurant was average and pretty much focussed on overseas travellers. Better local food can be found at other restaurants at a cheaper price.

The spa was amazing and is worthwhile. Three hours massage for Rp550,000 or approximately EUR45. Good price.

Definitively worthwile to stay there again.

  • Liked — Spa and bathroom
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

This is another great Tugu hotel. Maybe not as nice as the one in Blitar just because the rooms are a bit smaller, but still the service and value are exceptional. The food in the3 restaurant is devine and tastes about as good as any Indonesian food I have ever had, If the room had been a little larger and the bathroom more spacious and elegant it would have been a five, but still a must return hotel. The folks at Tugu definitely know how to make the customer feel like a king or queen.

  • Liked — The service and food
  • Disliked — Room a bit small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

Stayed at the Tugu Malang for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon tour of Indonesia. We were blown away by this hotel. We booked the "Exploring Nature" package in the Honey Moon Suite. The package included a trip to Mount Bromo, a tea plantation and a deserted white sand beach (watch out for the stones in the sea though) and also a welcome neck massage, a 3 hour spa treatment, a dinner experience in a private room with a private dance performance. We had an incredibly busy itineary which was incredibly well organised. The hotel is more of a museum than a hotel and the guided tour we had was great. The staff were exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble. One night we had dinner in the Romeo and Juliet room and even had a private performance from the band which was playing at night.

The whole experience at the Tugu was fantastic and very romantic, an ideal place to spend part of your honeymoon. The food at the hotel was not superb when compared to other places we stayed in Bali but was exceptionally good value and the surroundings were top class.

The only downsides we found were that the tour guides generally did not speak great english, which was a bit frustrating when asking questions, and the 3 days were very tiring, particularly with the early start to go to Mount Bromo. Overall though, it was a great stop on our honeymoon and would happily have staye danother night or 2 to make the most of the hotel to relax.

  • Liked — The hotel surroundings and staff
  • Disliked — The room could have been better organised
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doc_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2006

more of a museum than a hotel - quite amazing. even if you don't choose to stay here (although I don't know why you wouldn't) definitely go visit it - should be the highlight of any visit to malang. note: the restaurant is mediocre, but there's plenty to eat outside.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pat-pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 15, 2004

I always stay at Tugu Hotel whenever I'm in Malang, and always have good experience. It's a small beautique hotel filled with beautiful javanese antiques. Good setting, excellent service, but pricey. Ask for a room with a view of the tugu monument. The rooms on the ground floor can be noisy in the evening. Good restaurants. I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
3.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
2.0 mi away
Atria Hotel Malang
Atria Hotel Malang
#4 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Malang
Swiss-Belinn Malang
#6 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Malang
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Malang
Ibis Styles Malang
#7 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Property: Hotel Tugu Malang
Address: Jl. Tugu no. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This most unique hotel in East Java, the only 5-star luxury hotel in Malang, is not just a hotel. It is a whole destination by itself. It is a beautiful living museum filled with priceless beautiful antiques and artworks of Indonesia, and every corner of this hotel celebrates the colorful history of Indonesia, of Java, and of Malang in particular. Every single staff so naturally carries the "hospitality from the heart" that is so authentically Indonesian gracefully, and nothing is ever a problem. This is the very place to experience the true soul of Java and Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing