We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big thanks to Jhon”
Review of Hotel Tugu Malang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Malang
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Malang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Afternoon tea was immense. Lots of local delicacies for free!
The rooms are nicely decorated - there was some slight work being done under our first one so they moved us and both rooms were very nice.
The hotel knew it was our honeymoon and set aside a table in their restaurant for us (on the off chance we ate there which luckily we did) - they had written us a special note on a leaf and put petals on our table. Then they surprised us at the end of the meal with a heart shaped cake saying happy honeymoon. A lovely suprise.
Jhon on reception was especially helpful with organising our trip to mount Bromo and travel plans for the next day. Free shuttle to bus station to buy tickets and to catch the bus

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelWard1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, marketing manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear asmoss,
I would like to thank you for having spent some days with us at our Tugu home. We are very happy that you loved your stays every time at Hotel Tugu Malang, the compliments coming from a repeating guest like you means even more special to us since this was not a one-off time, and we will always try to do our best evermore for each of your stay in the future!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back home to Tugu Malang…

Warmest regards
Yudha Susanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 584 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I love staying at this hotel. Every time I come to Malang, I stay at the Tugu hotel. Management never ceases to amaze me with their fantastic service. I highly recommend this hotel for any length of stay short term or long term. This hotel is simply beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

As some people already explain, the common part are wonderful as this is also a kind of museum (a lot of beautiful antics, old furniture or picture everywhere)
The room (premium delux) are quite small but you have all what you need (even for mosquito if you look after)
The restaurant is good
On of the best things was for us the tea time (include in with you room) with a lot of java specialities (cakes....)
Close to the hotel you can find a bird and a plant market.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCullus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Indonesia is rich in natural beauty, but this hotel is truly a rare manmade gem. It is modestly hidden behind trees in the modern heart of Malang, but its interior is the treasure trove of an opulent art collector of times gone by.

Because of the busy roundabout it sits on the edge of, the restricted parking area and the thick foliage, one can only catch glimpses of the classic, colonial-era architecture from outside, but once inside, exploring the many rooms, corridors and open spaces, one begins to realise the grand scale of the place.

We arrived just in time for late-afternoon tea, and as I sat on the open wooden terrace sipping my fragrant brew and sampling the Javanese 'petits fours' laid out before me on a banana leaf, I imagined great writers of a bygone era scribbling notes there beneath the large swaying leaves. The atmosphere was so relaxing, we followed up the tea with a rich coffee from the local selection on display.

After that, we were content to spend the next hour or so wandering through the hotel, which classily displays its outstanding and expansive collection of eclectic art at every turn.

We had a beautifully presented Indonesian meal at the classy restaurant at the poolside, then retired to our tastefully-decorated executive suite, where we later had our inclusive shoulder and foot massage.

We found a couple of minor flaws in our gem that night: we had arranged to have the welcome massage late on, before our evening meal, but were left waiting for ages after the scheduled time, getting hungry, (having not had any lunch), as wedding guests took precedence over us for the masseurs. After we had eaten, then finally got our massages, we went downstairs to enjoy a cocktail in or around the wine bar, but were told there were no staff and that that part of the hotel was closed for the night. It was a disappointing end to an uplifting day.

On the other hand, the following day was perfect. I had pre-booked the 'Daydream in Angkor' treatment at the delightful Aspara Spa. This took up 4 hours of the late morning and early afternoon, but we lost our sense of time as we languidly experienced traditional massage and skin treatments in an airy and peaceful corner of the complex, before sharing a herbal bath sprinkled with rose petals. After this, the experience concluded with a manicure and pedicure and hair conditioning. My girlfriend got some traditional Javanese incense-smoke hair treatment, while I contently lay down on a sun-dappled bench to the side for a not-exactly-well-earned snooze!

Included in the spa package was a healthy gourmet lunch (it can also be a dinner, depending on when you decide to have the treatment). We had made our selection from the menu set by the spa earlier, and they had printed this on two scrolls, which I thought was a nice touch. The taste highlight for me was the ginger and sesame chicken salad starter, while visually the best thing was the tropical fruit salad I had for desert, which was yet another piece of art of 5-star quality.

We walked some of this off with another wander around the hotel, and discovered dining rooms, art-filled alcoves and even what was practically an outdoor Chinese temple we hadn't seen the day before!

We only stayed at this truly enchanting gallery of traditional Indonesian, Chinese and (some) international art for one night, but felt no need to leave the confines of our hotel during our short stay. Furthermore, if we had had the luxury of another night, we would have taken a closer look at the Aladdin's cave of antiques beside the boutique, browsed the upmarket bakery and relaxed in the sultry wine bar, or, time permitting, indulged in a cocktail or two in some secluded, low-lit alcove.......

This hotel is a magnificent gem of South-East Asia, and with a little polishing of some minor facets of service, it can truly be the perfect romantic experience.

Room Tip: I was happy with our executive suite, but fussier guests might be unhappy about the view from the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, Marketing Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Mr. Andrew,

Thank you very much for having spent a weekend with us last week here at Tugu Malang.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as much as we have enjoyed having you among us in our Tugu home.

There is nothing that makes our day brighter than to hear that you enjoyed our art, antiques and romantic atmosphere, our afternoon teas, our service, the meals at our restaurants, our spa treatments and more. We also thank you for your inputs on the massage and the bar on your first evening and will make sure that everything goes evermore to perfection on your next visit to our home!

We are already looking forward to seeing you and your girlfriend again very soon. For anything that you need, do feel free to contact me anytime at 0341-363891 or 081333554066

Warmest regards,
Yudha Susanti
along with Hotel Tugu Malang family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

If you happen to visit the beautiful, but by travellers a little 'overseen', city of Malang in the middle of East Java Region, don't miss to pay a visit to the Tugu Hotel. In itself a unique hotel, elegantly furnished with antiques, artworks, fountains, and flower decorations in an extraordinary atmosphere of luxury, tranquility, and charming leisure.
If your finances allow you, stay there for at least a night or two. But if you want a cheaper stay, then just enjoy a meal or drink (from the wine bar) and take a look at the interiors of The Tugu where you are allowed to visit the unofficial 'museum rooms', used for dining and special events for the visitors. Among others, there is a room dedicated to the renowned Sugar Baron, Oei Tjong Ham, the founder of sugar cultivation in Indonesia.

Above all, don't miss the traditional tea buffet at 4-6pm every day with a large selection of local and regional teas and cakes, all served with the touch of easygoing and still precisely focussed tradition of Indonesian nobility.
Price for this totality of well-being? Only 50000 IRP per person, or less than $ 6!

Room Tip: If you want to visit Malang, East Java, and you go for a traditonally Javanese furnishied, yet elega...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kirsten655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yudha s, marketing manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Kirsten655

Thank you for visiting and enjoying our afternoon tea. All members of Hotel Tugu Malang family are very happy to know how you appreciate our art and antique collection. It makes us feel that our dedication and effort to bring back to life the magnificent eras of Indonesia history has been appreciated.

We hope to have another chance to share our warmest hospitality with you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Yudha Susanti
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

It's interesting that people either love this hotel or feel completely underwhelmed. After studying reviews on Tripadvisor I've decided it will be right up our street. I must say that after arriving I had my doubts- I even thought we've arrived at a wrong hotel! It's quite modern from the outside and located on a busy roundabout. Our (not the cheapest) room had a view on a concrete wall and a water tower. The bathroom, although very smart, was tiny. But after relaxing with a complementary tea and some very unusual cakes the hotel started to weave its magic. We requested a tour of the hotel and this is where you fall in love with the place (or don't, if beautiful objects leave you cold.) The owner, who is Indonesian- Chinese collected antiques all over Asia and displayed them in the most evocative and romantic fashion in a sequence of joined-up rooms, each with slightly different mood emphasised by careful lighting.

I was heartbroken to hear that the L'Amour Fou restaurant was closed for refurbishment, as we were hoping to celebrate our anniversary there, but the staff made up for it by setting up a candle-lit table for us by the pool.

I liked the complementary massage so much that I decided to go for the whole 1 hour one.

This hotel will not appeal to fans of modern, international, beige hotel blandness, who judge the value for money of the room by the size of the bathroom. But if you love places that are unique and tell a story, this hotel will seduce you- in the end.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing busy roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monja16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanlinlun, Manager at Hotel Tugu Malang, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Monja16,

We are so happy to read your kind review that make us could feel your true affection to what we have presented at the hotel. We thank you so much for it and surely wish to welcome you again at least next year for another wedding anniversary celebration. please allow me to assure you that the L'Amour Fou will be more than ready to provide you another memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,
yudha susanti
Hotel Tugu Malang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I loved staying at Hotel Tugu Malang on my way to the Bromo Volcano and Tengger Caldera. Just amazing service, and terrific food in the restaurant onsite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a beautiful hotel, filled with oddities and eye-poppingly gorgeous antiques.

Our bedroom was adorned with flowers when we came in, making us feel extra special. The most beautiful room I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis1984lmpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
3.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Malang
2 mi away
Atria Hotel Malang
Atria Hotel Malang
#5 of 57 in Malang
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Shalimar Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Malang
Swiss-Belinn Malang
#6 of 57 in Malang
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Malang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Malang

Address: Jl. Tugu no. 3, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malang
Price Range: $95 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Malang 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This most unique hotel in East Java, the only 5-star luxury hotel in Malang, is not just a hotel. It is a whole destination by itself. It is a beautiful living museum filled with priceless beautiful antiques and artworks of Indonesia, and every corner of this hotel celebrates the colorful history of Indonesia, of Java, and of Malang in particular. Every single staff so naturally carries the "hospitality from the heart" that is so authentically Indonesian gracefully, and nothing is ever a problem. This is the very place to experience the true soul of Java and Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tugu Malang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Hotel Malang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing