We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and cosy with a great view! Because of the traffic there's a lot of noise though.”
Review of Kampong Tourist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kampong Tourist
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Malang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

A cheap, clean and nice hostel. The bamboo houses are really cosy. If you don't mind the noise of motors, it is the perfect place to stay in Malang. Everybody speaks English and is very friendly. The food they serve is good. They also arrange nice trips to Bromo and other sights.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jitske90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

If you want to stay in a Thai island type beach bungalow on the roof of a hotel then this is the place!

I had one night in Malang on the way to Bromo and thought that I would give this accommodation a go. The bungalow I had was clean, basic, well built and I was provided with everything I needed - a bed, sheets and towels. The price was good too - about 85000 rupiah.

The lovely thing about this experience was bring able to fall asleep to the sounds of the city - the occassional motorbike going past in the streets below, etc.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and although the room doesn't include a breakfast you can purchase one in the hotel's restaurant downstairs.

A good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

3 nice gazebo's (traditional javanese style cottage) each sleeping two persons, built on the rooftop of the well known hotel Helios: a really nice atmosphere with great views over town. You can even see the impressive mountains surrounding Malang. Another gazebo is being built. That big one will locate 18 persons. Besides that there is a nice area to hang out and read a book and a beautiful rooftop terrace and cafe. The manager told me that the menu for the cafe would contain both local food as pancakes and other european styled food. I guess that will be true cause one of the managers is a Dutch girl living in Malang. Wifi available and downstairs there is also an office to book your tours (with friendly, cooperative people who know what they sell).

Room Tip: there is a little terrace at the front side of your gazebo: if you want sun in the afternoon, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

great value of staying at bamboo gazebo at top floor helios hotel with mountain view

Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank chonie_valent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cecilee983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampong_Tourist, Manager at Kampong Tourist, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbytravelingADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Ikku690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
0.3 mi away
Splendid Inn
Splendid Inn
#25 of 60 in Malang
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
4.4 mi away
Solaris Hotel Malang
Solaris Hotel Malang
#19 of 60 in Malang
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santosa
Hotel Santosa
#41 of 60 in Malang
28 reviews
3.4 mi away
HARRIS Hotel & Conventions Malang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tugu Malang
Hotel Tugu Malang
#1 of 60 in Malang
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampong Tourist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampong Tourist

Address: Jln. Pattimura 37 | 3rd floor Hotel Helios, Malang 65111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Malang
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kampong Tourist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing