We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dormitory helios hotel malang” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helios Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helios Hotel
Ranked #23 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Malang
Malang, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dormitory helios hotel malang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

just to inform that helios hotel has cheap dormitory cost $ 5 per night .
it lies on the top floor with garden . it has new name Kampong tourist , they designed with bambooe and garden, bar , good view overlooking to the mountain . friendly and informative staff .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank agus20111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    32
    19
    8
See reviews for
8
39
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
World
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good budget choice in Malang town. Bit small budget rooms but ok.

Staff is not very friendly. Don't bother asking anything to staff because they can only say NO and DON'T KNOW!

Room Tip: Try to look for a room that is not in this hotel. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent four nights here. We tried two ("deluxe") rooms, and both of them had (different) problems with the plumbing. But the rooms were clean and modern, and the staff were helpful. The location is good, although there is some traffic noise. You can easily walk to the train station and to the central areas. Also the travel agent next store is really helpful and you can use their internet facilities. The hotel's limitations were that the reception staff struggled with English (although the travel agent staff were much more comfortable with it), and the breakfasts were uninspired - dull Western or dull Indonesian (and we didn't think it was possible to make Indonesian food dull!). But it was good value and we had a enough good stay.

Room Tip: Aim for a room on the top floor, which is a bit quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We arrived in on an early morning train to find our room would not be ready until 2pm despite warning them over a week in advance...expecting us to wait 7 hours which is ridiculous. We went exploring and ended up deciding to change our plans from 3 nights in Malang to 1 and move on to Bali.
When we returned they had forgotten who we were and that we had a reservation. The room was not very clean...I had stayed in several places on Java before this and only used my sleeping silk once and boy did you need to here. TV is only local not cable. Water pressure was poor. And the hotel was under construction which we only discovered when we were woken to hammering and drilling at 7.30 the next morning. Their travel agent is a total rip off...900,000Rp to Banyuwangi which was to be our next stop but only enquiring at another local agent suggested by lonely plant we went all the way to Denpasar,Bali for 350,000Rp for 2 people!
The only good thing here was the guy who dealt with the breakfasts...banana pancakes were nice but no juice included only tea and coffee! All in all for a deluxe air con room which was filthy I would not suggest this to anyone! I know it is a backpacker place but so was everywhere else I had stayed up until this point and they were all clean, did not have a bug problem (which this did BTW...millions of Mosquitos) and were not as expensive as this!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hay13y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malang hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were welcomed by the friendly staff, which is the best quality of the hotel. The staff really makes you feel comfortable. The rest of the hotel is fine, nothing more or less.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in August 2011 as part of a 2 week trip across Java and Bali. We had a deluxe room for 248K rph which given it was high season wasn't too bad. The room was clean although had a strange smell (not unpleasant, maybe turps-like?) and was quiet and the beds were comfortable. The best thing about it was the location (definitely visit the Hotel Tugu for it's zen like atmosphere and lovely traditional Javanese decor, the eclectically but coherently decorated bar was a fantastic place for a drink, if rather an expensive one!) and the on-site travel company through which we organised a fantastic trip to Mount Bromo and Kawah Ijen. The trip was fantastic and highly recommended, however we did find out that our 3 fellow travellers had booked it at a cheaper rate through Jonas' homestay where they were staying, so perhaps worth checking if you're planning on taking it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em_Wanderlusterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Thank goodness for the Helios because it was school holidays and everywhere else was full. Helios has done and is still doing big renovations to appeal to all sorts of people. They have small twins with outside bathroom to doubles with desk, phone, flat screen TV and adequate bathroom. I am guessing that the 'standard' rooms are the original rooms. The first one my children stayed in needed the walls to be painted and there was a smell of urine. The second one had a toilet seat that was not fastened to the toilet. Breakfast is included in the good price. 139000 rupiah the standard room and 249000 rupiah for a deluxe room that doesn't have the desk. Tea is available all day. The service was good but you have to speak slowly and repeat yourself to be understood. Around the hotel was the best nasi campur food we have tasted on our holiday. A visit to the Tugu hotel to see their museum and L'Amour de Fou restaurant is a must.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
0.3 mi away
Splendid Inn
Splendid Inn
#28 of 54 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahid Montana Malang
0.4 mi away
Trio Indah 2
Trio Indah 2
#10 of 54 in Malang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santosa
Hotel Santosa
#37 of 54 in Malang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Alimar Hotel
The Alimar Hotel
#31 of 54 in Malang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pelangi Malang
Hotel Pelangi Malang
#36 of 54 in Malang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Hotel

Property: Helios Hotel
Address: Jln. Pattimura 37, Malang 65111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Malang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helios Hotel is a family hotel built in 1957. It is 9-minute walk from the Museum Malang Tempo Doeloe and a 7-minute walk from Malang train station. Our Indonesian Traditional yet Modern concept gives unique experience to our guests We have 5 types of rooms. Superior Fan, Superior AC, Deluxe, Family Room and Executive For travelers who prefer backpackers style accomodation, you can check our Kampong Tourist which is located at the 4th Floor We also have tours and travel service Helios Transport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Helios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing