We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FULL OF CHARACTER”
Review of Splendid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splendid Inn
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Malang
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I stayed at this inn as part of a medium sized tour group (18) A modern hotel it is not,but it is clean and comfortable with large rooms with a/c.The bathrooms could definetly do with a major overhaul though.The added bonus was the pool and the central location.
Breakfast was good with friendly staff.As a budget hotel it is fine.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolUKMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2009

The Splendid Inn is certainly not perfect. It is showing its age, especially in the public areas. The rugs are looking a bit threadbare, the maps a bit mildewy and the animal hides a little worse for wear. But on an island where a lot of mid-range accommodation seems indistinguishable, you might be tempted by The Splendid Inn precisely because of the pot-plants, the grandmotherly furniture and the mounted deer skins. Whatever its shortcomings, this place has personality.
The previous reviewer felt rather unkindly towards the place, especially those who turned up here on group tours. I can understand this. If you have paid thousands of dollars for a group tour, the last thing you want is check into a $20 a night hotel, well past its prime. But for the budget traveller, looking for a bit of period charm, this might be the place for you. We end up staying here every time we pass through Malang.
For one thing, the rooms are huge, with their own comfortable sitting rooms. The wooden furniture and old prints may appeal to those who find many modern hotels a bit sterile and impersonal. It also has a swimming pool- a plus as far as we were concerned. The service is also a strong point. On check in, they brought us two slices of fresh pandan cake (an Indonesian favorite) and a pot of hot tea. The price of the room also included a tasty breakfast of eggs and toast, or fried rice, with fruit and a pot of tea or coffee. The food was far better than you get at Indonesian hotels charging twice this. For the gregarious traveller, this is also a good place to meet people. This is one of few hotels in East Java that still has a healthy number of Western tourists passing through. This can be handy for those looking to split costs for a road trip to Mount Bromo, or around the many fine old temples in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Splendid Inn– as we (a small tour group) approached around a roundabout, not knowing our destination, we were attracted by a rather magnificent hotel and pleased that we were being offered a luxury night. As we continued around the roundabout, we pulled in at the Splendid. It may have been in the past but not now. The Rough Guide over egged it. Faded splendour was a euphemism for knackered.

Our room was next to a barred gate to the street. We worried about security. The room was the sort that you did not want to walk across barefoot. The air-con did not work other than to make a noise. the knobs had fallen off it. The rules on the wall afforded some entertainment.

In the lobby there was a library of books – we donated a few. At the desk there were pictures of the hotel in its former glory – what a shame. The leaflet told of a hash club, but this turned out to be a running group.

However a plentiful supply of hot water for us, but not some others.

Nearby is the lovely flower market and a very depressing bird market.

Breakfast was what you might expect. Others reported rats but I did not see them.

Having said all this, probably good value for money, but unless you are on a shoestring, novelty is over-ruled by squalor.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Parvatithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vhiivall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yansuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Widiyan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre 10 est très vaste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SIGALIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malang hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santosa
Hotel Santosa
#36 of 56 in Malang
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kertanegara Premium Guest House
0.5 mi away
Trio Indah 2
Trio Indah 2
#10 of 56 in Malang
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Serayu
Hotel Serayu
#27 of 56 in Malang
8 reviews
3.6 mi away
Padi City Resort
Padi City Resort
#44 of 56 in Malang
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maxone Hotels at Malang
Maxone Hotels at Malang
#13 of 56 in Malang
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Inn

Address: Jln. Mojopahit, Malang 65119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Malang
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Malang
Price Range: $18 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Splendid Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splendid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing