We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden pearl in Java”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MesaStila Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Magelang
Certificate of Excellence
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl in Java”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We've stayed at Andong 2 - huge room with heritage javanese features .. View from terrace was breathtaking. Several activities during the day are organized by the hotel staff .. Yoga class is highly recommended!!! Also, The ibu jamu herbal mixes are a must try during breakfast too!!
Very charming hotel, great place to relax and enjoy the magical atmosphere of this part of Java.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela_Oliveira_BPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for you constructive comments on trip advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our tranquil paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    90
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
111
186
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I have been there to relax from a tough week and it was really amazing. I arrived early to do the coffee plantation tour, worth it! Its a nice touch to see their mushrooms in the mushroom rooms and than actually taste it later in the restaurant. The coffee of course very nice and strong.

Great place to relax and shut down

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank theasiantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for you positive comments on trip advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our tranquil paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentul, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

A first time my trip for having Ultra Trail Running Race in Central Java (Indonesia). The race was hosted, arranged and served by Mesastila Management Resort. Comparing to other running races that I had, as TNF Singapore, SCSMS, PBIM, 2XU, Jakarta Marathon, Tahura etc, Mesastila was the best, the served us very well, liked I am the king of the royal emperor.
The villa room looked like a room in buckingham place, the queen room, but I surprised when I knew the rent cost for it, it's adorable for me, economic, not too expensive (compared to other villa/hotel/resort that I ever had during the race). It's recommend to others to spent the time for having nights or holiday here, and having sport exercise as well as ultra trail running.

Room Tip: Every room has similar quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nananghandoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you so much for you positive comments on trip advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our tranquil paradise.

We appreciate positive compliments on our villa, and MesaStila Ultra 43k and do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at MesaStila.
With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came on a last minute break. We had a comfortable 2 hour car ride (replete with scented towels and snacks), and given a free upgrade to the Arum Villa. The room was huge with heritage Javanese features and an expansive terrace looking over lush greenery and mist covered mountains in the distance.

The food was exceptional - modern Indonesian with healthy options and the spa a little slice of heaven.

We also had two well organized excursions - one a short hike up a dormant volcano in the morning and a dawn tour of Borobudur which is a magical experience in itself.

Very quiet (we were only one of 3 couples there) so it felt mostly like we were the only ones there, which was exactly what we were looking for.

This is set on an expansive coffee plantation with extraordinary landscaping and t was a pleasure just wandering about in the day.

The spa is the only one of its kind in the area - so no traps selling tourist tat - just dotted with sleepy villages with friendly locals going about their day.

We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and hope to come back one day to try out some of their more challenging jungle treks.

Kai

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLF2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Kai,
Thank you so much for you positive comments on trip advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our tranquil paradise.
We appreciate positive compliments on our villa, food, and spa and do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at MesaStila.
With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our second visit to MesaStila and we were not disappointed. The resort is very well-staffed and retains its lovely atmosphere. We ate well and enjoyed the visit to the coffee plantation....and also the "power walk"!

Room Tip: Accommodation is in updated vintage Javanese houses. You may need to talk to resort reps to find ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaylord1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, General Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Welcome back.
Thank you so much for you positive comments on trip advisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stayed at MesaStila.
We appreciate positive compliments on our food, power walk and coffee plantation tour and do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at MesaStila.
With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barr
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A small property in terms of 'rooms', villas actually but a large property in terms of size, so secluded and peaceful. It was recommended to us by our son in Singapore and it just suited us down to the ground; in fact, we thought it was a copy of Paradise.
True, it is far from everywhere, but that is the beauty of it! Having said that, it is little more than an hour's drive from Borobudur - a magnificent Buddhist temple - and Prambanan - an equally impressive Hindu temple; we visited both on a day trip from the resort with a very friendly driver.
If we could afford it we would come back but it was a tad expensive; but then the garden of Eden would be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are delighted to read that you have had a great time staying in the hotel.
Thank you very much & we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

On behalf of the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our visit is on 13-15 feb, 2014 which is in time with the eruption of mt. kelud in east java, and the whole area inc. yogya and solo was covered with ashes from the volcano. Not much outside activity happening. Luckily, our plan when we booked this place is to have the Spa experience. We stayed for 2 nights and spend the whole time in spa trying different kind of treatments. Love the Hamman ie. steam room. We booked Arum Villa - nice and spacious, what you would expect if you are paying the price they are charging.The food is good, but the menu is limited, don't have a lot of choices. The wine list is limited. Overall we enjoyed our stay there and would definitely come back for the spa experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear HelB8
Thank you for your comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed our spa and our food despite the natural occurrence of Mt. Kelud. We strive to have many different items on our menu and we sincerely apologise you felt the menu was limited, as until now most of the comments on the variety of food has been positive. Our wine list is limited as the guests drinking wine at MesaStila are also limited, however please do let us know when you will be back and we are happy to provide the preferences of wine you have! We are happy we could offer you the spa experience you were hoping for. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magelang
21.4 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
The Wujil Resort & Conventions
20.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
281 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#11 of 22 in Magelang
161 reviews
21.5 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MesaStila Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MesaStila Resort and Spa

Property: MesaStila Resort and Spa
Address: Desa Losari, Grabag, Magelang 56196, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Magelang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Magelang
#3 Spa Hotel in Magelang
#4 Family Hotel in Magelang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MesaStila Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MesaStila is a luxury five star resort & spa that incorporates an unparalleled collection of remarkable antiques and enchanting buildings; including Central Java icons such as a Colonial railway station and historic Joglo-villas. The property has twenty-three unique villas set within an area of twenty-two hectares of outstanding natural beauty; surrounded by cooling highland-air, eight mountains, tropical gardens and lush vegetation. Built within a charming coffee plantation, MesaStila offers distinctly Javanese experiences both cultural and fitness activities. The true magnificence of MesaStila is in its spectacular setting and its Hammam Turkish Spa. At MesaStila the focus is on luxury yet keeping the traditional, local and wholesome experiences intact, which accentuate the magnificence of the environment, the people, the culture and facilitate a healthy lifestyle- full of wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your MesaStila Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losari Spa Retreat And Coffee Plantation
Losari Spa Retreat & Coffee Plantation Hotel Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Hotel
MesaStila Resort And Spa Magelang, Indonesia - Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing