We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MesaStila Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Magelang
Certificate of Excellence
Denpasar, indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spa”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our visit is on 13-15 feb, 2014 which is in time with the eruption of mt. kelud in east java, and the whole area inc. yogya and solo was covered with ashes from the volcano. Not much outside activity happening. Luckily, our plan when we booked this place is to have the Spa experience. We stayed for 2 nights and spend the whole time in spa trying different kind of treatments. Love the Hamman ie. steam room. We booked Arum Villa - nice and spacious, what you would expect if you are paying the price they are charging.The food is good, but the menu is limited, don't have a lot of choices. The wine list is limited. Overall we enjoyed our stay there and would definitely come back for the spa experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear HelB8
Thank you for your comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed our spa and our food despite the natural occurrence of Mt. Kelud. We strive to have many different items on our menu and we sincerely apologise you felt the menu was limited, as until now most of the comments on the variety of food has been positive. Our wine list is limited as the guests drinking wine at MesaStila are also limited, however please do let us know when you will be back and we are happy to provide the preferences of wine you have! We are happy we could offer you the spa experience you were hoping for. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    92
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
119
187
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at Mesa Stila. The seclusion of the hotel just minutes from the busy road connecting Magelang to Semarang was unexpected.

Service was good. It started with Gerrit from the Singapore office who helped me make the booking as I had problems doing it on-line. Pak Yoyok who took us on the coffee plantation tour did an excellent job. (For first time visitors, this tour is a must.) Pak Yoyok who spoke good English, was generous with his time and answered the numerous questions we had about the place, its history and what was current at Mesa Stila.

We did not have time to use the spa but the 10 minute complimentary neck and shoulder massage was very good. I also attended the silat class. The instructor didn't speak English but we managed to communicate. He was patient with a first-timer who knew nothing about this martial arts form and I had an interesting time.

However, there are areas for improvement.
1. Some of the wait service staff need to brush up on their English; and
2. More effort needs to be made with the western food at the restaurant. The Indonesian food is a better pick.

Mesa Stila allows its guests to take a break from the rush of everyday life and I would recommend a stay for anyone who wants to do so.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Arum Villa. It was spacious and clean with a view of the rice fields from the verand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhammad008, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Kaytee,
Thank you for your comments both constructive and positive. We are delighted that you enjoyed our coffee plantation tour and some of our staff. We will check what the issues with the on-line booking were. In regards to the Silat class, we do apologise that the instructor did not speak English perhaps in the future we will ask one of our guest relations to standby during a class with non-Indonesian guests. Pencak Silat is a very local Javanese martial art with not so many instructors working in resorts.
We will certainly based on your comment, share your feedback on our western food as we strive that both our western and Asian food is of the highest calibre. Our General Manager is already making an effort to provide English lessons for some of our staff.
Thank you again for the constructive comments and we are delighted we were able to give you a break from your every day life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just returned today and here are some points I hope will be useful:
1) Beautiful grounds, lovely room(Ambar villa for 2 of us and 2 kids was more than ample) with a luxurious copper sunken bath and a massive 4 poster bed to cap it all
2) Design and attention to detail to be savoured and all pretty functional despite oldy-worldy Dutch colonial feel
3) Tasty food
4) Excellent, sincerely friendly staff

Downers:
1) Very expensive - the food in particular was exorbitant and as you're trapped there with no other food options you're 'screwed'. The bar is poorly stocked with an overpriced ghastly wine list (perhaps thats not what people are looking for in a spa - Im not a spa type)
2) Dont look to use this as a base for travel to any of the sites. Borobudur is a good hour away by car and thats the nearest destination. Jogja is 2.5 hours away - so its not a mere commute for shopping and leisure.

If you're looking for pure R&R and a great spa this is your place

Room Tip: We specifically pointed out the negative comments we'd read on TA and explained that we'd wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surendran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your post on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the positive and the downers as constructive feedback from our guests and for our guests!
We especially like the nice comments, but understand the downers too. In reference to the downers, we do review our food pricing on a quarterly basis and we will review the prices again based on your comments. In regards to the bar, as part of our concept we do only provide beer, Guinness, and wine and we do apologize if you were not aware of this. Our wine prices are indeed not cheap, but Indonesia has some of the most expensive wine prices due to import taxes. In regards to location we are indeed 1 hr from Borobudur, and it should be 1.5 hrs from Jogjakarta, certainly not in the city which allows, as you mentioned, for perfect R&R.

Thank you and best regards,

On behalf of the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta,
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I heard of this hotel from my friend who was also a traveller. I was excited since the last time I visit Central Java was in 2013. N I would like to give a nice surprise for my husband. We landed in Jogyakarta and we decided to stock up some beers before continuing to Magelang. Surprisingly, we couldn't find any supermarket that sell beers, let alone the mini market. So off we go to Magelang. Going there was not a pleasant journey because traffic was soo bad and it took us 2 hours to get there. Anyway, it's outside of Magelang City.
It was an old coffee plantation and the view was nice. We get there at the afternoon and since it was a cloudy day so no sunset at all. Only 4 guests there at that moment and it was a weekday. We got a plantation room, it was quite big but not flash. We paid around IDR 3,7 mills and we booked it directly from their online booking.
Then we decided to have a wine or two glasses. We moved to the lounge/ bar. By the time we saw the price of the wine we are a bit surprised because it's very expensive.They don't have any choice, just red wine. No other liquor. Anyway, we ordered and it took about 15 minutes because the bartender had to go to the restaurant to get the wine.
After that we had dinner there and it was ok. Then we went to bed.

Around 6 am we were awake because apparently the sunlight came through the green glass window and it was so bright. We didn't like that.

Then we had breakfast and continue our journey to see the volcano. Again 2 hours because of the traffic. It took us another 2 hours to come back to the hotel again after.

The next day, we were awaken by the noise from the villages around 5.30 am. It was loud music because the had a party. Oh My…

Anyway, our last day (couldn't wait to leave the hotel!!) we decided to take a coffee plantation tour with the hotel staff. It was nice, we saw some coffee plants, the stables, the farms, and tried the coffee. Then tour around the hotel villas. All by foot.

Then when I asked how much is the price of a bigger villa than ours, I found out it's cheaper. I was shocked and asked how much is ours. She replied IDR 2,5 mills.

I challenged here because something wasn't right here. N the manager explain that if I was a walk in guest, I will have cheaper price. Because the online booking managed from the other company. He even blamed me for that. I should call them directly, not booking online. Hellooooo???? I felt cheated!!

By the way, we are not cheap, Because total expenses of our stay 2 nights there was around IDR 12 millions. We had lunch and dinners there plus we drank the wines.

There will be next time for us. N for anybody who wants the experience, call them, don't book online.

Room Tip: Call direct, ask to see the room, and double checked the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DitaSoepono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear DitaJimCarey,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. Although we do prefer positive comments it is only through feedback such as yours that we can continuously improve.
From your feedback we will certainly review how we are featured on online-as it seems that our pricing can be reviewed as well as how MesaStila is featured on the website since we do mention that we do serve alcohol but only wine and beer in line with our "retreat" philosophy, so we regret you were not aware of this.
We do regret you were woken by the light coming in your window and the traffic on your way to and from the volcano. In regards to the party from the village at 5.30 am we can certainly try to find out more information on when the village plans to have 'parties' or an event so that we can inform our guests."
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our coffee plantation tour and time in our coffee plantation and I do hope has been resolved. Our General Manager will be in touch with you directly in regards to the rate issue you experienced

Thank you again for your comments and we do regret that we did not fulfill your expectations.

Thank you and best regards,

On behalf of Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

MesaStila is almost 2 hours drive from Semarang airport, which is the one with regular flights. We prebooked the airport transfer - which was a great decision. Our villa 211 was an Ambar villa which could sleep 5 people. Breakfast and afternoon tea was included, and quality was good. We did most of the in-house activities, and I'd recommend the yoga, power walks and coffee plantation tour. Paid activities were good too, and we liked the horse riding (one hour for US$25+) and Grabag village tour with horse cart ride (US$60+ for 4 of us). They also provided a surprise birthday cake for my wife, which was delightful.

Room Tip: There are two rows of villas, which extend downhill, so ask for the ones facing the mountains and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uprightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice resort and it is very well maintained! One of a plce must go to if you go to central java. They also have a very good daily program for the guest.
If you are looking for a gate away place to refresh your mind and soul.
I would suggest you to go to MesaStila.


  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerdyHasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed our programs and had a great escape from your daily life in MesaStila.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

MesaStila Resort Magelang is incredibly a perfect place to hideaway from routines. The natural setting of the resort, traditional Javanese concept of accommodation, naturally friendly staff, fresh and cool air have really kidnapped our heart into an indescribably peaceful state. It is very much recommendable for you to experience a perfect hideaway. (Makin, Jakarta-Indonesia)

Room Tip: We were staying in Ambar villa overlooking great valley and jungle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makin566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magelang
21.4 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
The Wujil Resort & Conventions
20.4 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#3 of 10 in Borobudur
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Plataran Heritage Borobudur Hotel
13.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#12 of 22 in Magelang
165 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MesaStila Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MesaStila Resort and Spa

Property: MesaStila Resort and Spa
Address: Desa Losari, Grabag, Magelang 56196, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Magelang
#4 Spa Hotel in Magelang
#4 Family Hotel in Magelang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Magelang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MesaStila Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MesaStila is a luxury five star resort & spa that incorporates an unparalleled collection of remarkable antiques and enchanting buildings; including Central Java icons such as a Colonial railway station and historic Joglo-villas. The property has twenty-three unique villas set within an area of twenty-two hectares of outstanding natural beauty; surrounded by cooling highland-air, eight mountains, tropical gardens and lush vegetation. Built within a charming coffee plantation, MesaStila offers distinctly Javanese experiences both cultural and fitness activities. The true magnificence of MesaStila is in its spectacular setting and its Hammam Turkish Spa. At MesaStila the focus is on luxury yet keeping the traditional, local and wholesome experiences intact, which accentuate the magnificence of the environment, the people, the culture and facilitate a healthy lifestyle- full of wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MesaStila Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losari Spa Retreat & Coffee Plantation Hotel Magelang
Losari Spa Retreat And Coffee Plantation
Losari Coffee Plantation Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Hotel
MesaStila Resort And Spa Magelang, Indonesia - Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing