We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MesaStila Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Puri Asri(Magelang)
$48
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sriti(Magelang)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Borobudur Resort(Borobudur)
$166
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$393
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amanjiwo Resorts(Borobudur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
331
100
30
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
100
30
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationmesa stilaarum villacentral javasemarang airportplantation tourpower walkjungle gymhorse ridinghealthy foodsurrounded by mountainscoffee tourhuge balconyinfinity poolnearby volcanoesevery morningdaily activities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 482 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just returned today and here are some points I hope will be useful:
1) Beautiful grounds, lovely room(Ambar villa for 2 of us and 2 kids was more than ample) with a luxurious copper sunken bath and a massive 4 poster bed to cap it all
2) Design and attention to detail to be savoured and all pretty functional despite oldy-worldy Dutch colonial feel
3) Tasty food
4) Excellent, sincerely friendly staff

Downers:
1) Very expensive - the food in particular was exorbitant and as you're trapped there with no other food options you're 'screwed'. The bar is poorly stocked with an overpriced ghastly wine list (perhaps thats not what people are looking for in a spa - Im not a spa type)
2) Dont look to use this as a base for travel to any of the sites. Borobudur is a good hour away by car and thats the nearest destination. Jogja is 2.5 hours away - so its not a mere commute for shopping and leisure.

If you're looking for pure R&R and a great spa this is your place

Room Tip: We specifically pointed out the negative comments we'd read on TA and explained that we'd wanted the best room we could get for our budget and really do believe they obliged. Merapi view was what we had - lovely
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surendran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your post on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the positive and the downers as constructive feedback from our guests and for our guests!
We especially like the nice comments, but understand the downers too. In reference to the downers, we do review our food pricing on a quarterly basis and we will review the prices again based on your comments. In regards to the bar, as part of our concept we do only provide beer, Guinness, and wine and we do apologize if you were not aware of this. Our wine prices are indeed not cheap, but Indonesia has some of the most expensive wine prices due to import taxes. In regards to location we are indeed 1 hr from Borobudur, and it should be 1.5 hrs from Jogjakarta, certainly not in the city which allows, as you mentioned, for perfect R&R.

Thank you and best regards,

On behalf of the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I heard of this hotel from my friend who was also a traveller. I was excited since the last time I visit Central Java was in 2013. N I would like to give a nice surprise for my husband. We landed in Jogyakarta and we decided to stock up some beers before continuing to Magelang. Surprisingly, we couldn't find any supermarket that sell beers, let alone the mini market. So off we go to Magelang. Going there was not a pleasant journey because traffic was soo bad and it took us 2 hours to get there. Anyway, it's outside of Magelang City.
It was an old coffee plantation and the view was nice. We get there at the afternoon and since it was a cloudy day so no sunset at all. Only 4 guests there at that moment and it was a weekday. We got a plantation room, it was quite big but not flash. We paid around IDR 3,7 mills and we booked it directly from their online booking.
Then we decided to have a wine or two glasses. We moved to the lounge/ bar. By the time we saw the price of the wine we are a bit surprised because it's very expensive.They don't have any choice, just red wine. No other liquor. Anyway, we ordered and it took about 15 minutes because the bartender had to go to the restaurant to get the wine.
After that we had dinner there and it was ok. Then we went to bed.

Around 6 am we were awake because apparently the sunlight came through the green glass window and it was so bright. We didn't like that.

Then we had breakfast and continue our journey to see the volcano. Again 2 hours because of the traffic. It took us another 2 hours to come back to the hotel again after.

The next day, we were awaken by the noise from the villages around 5.30 am. It was loud music because the had a party. Oh My…

Anyway, our last day (couldn't wait to leave the hotel!!) we decided to take a coffee plantation tour with the hotel staff. It was nice, we saw some coffee plants, the stables, the farms, and tried the coffee. Then tour around the hotel villas. All by foot.

Then when I asked how much is the price of a bigger villa than ours, I found out it's cheaper. I was shocked and asked how much is ours. She replied IDR 2,5 mills.

I challenged here because something wasn't right here. N the manager explain that if I was a walk in guest, I will have cheaper price. Because the online booking managed from the other company. He even blamed me for that. I should call them directly, not booking online. Hellooooo???? I felt cheated!!

By the way, we are not cheap, Because total expenses of our stay 2 nights there was around IDR 12 millions. We had lunch and dinners there plus we drank the wines.

There will be next time for us. N for anybody who wants the experience, call them, don't book online.

Room Tip: Call direct, ask to see the room, and double checked the price.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DitaSoepono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear DitaJimCarey,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. Although we do prefer positive comments it is only through feedback such as yours that we can continuously improve.
From your feedback we will certainly review how we are featured on online-as it seems that our pricing can be reviewed as well as how MesaStila is featured on the website since we do mention that we do serve alcohol but only wine and beer in line with our "retreat" philosophy, so we regret you were not aware of this.
We do regret you were woken by the light coming in your window and the traffic on your way to and from the volcano. In regards to the party from the village at 5.30 am we can certainly try to find out more information on when the village plans to have 'parties' or an event so that we can inform our guests."
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our coffee plantation tour and time in our coffee plantation and I do hope has been resolved. Our General Manager will be in touch with you directly in regards to the rate issue you experienced

Thank you again for your comments and we do regret that we did not fulfill your expectations.

Thank you and best regards,

On behalf of Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

MesaStila is almost 2 hours drive from Semarang airport, which is the one with regular flights. We prebooked the airport transfer - which was a great decision. Our villa 211 was an Ambar villa which could sleep 5 people. Breakfast and afternoon tea was included, and quality was good. We did most of the in-house activities, and I'd recommend the yoga, power walks and coffee plantation tour. Paid activities were good too, and we liked the horse riding (one hour for US$25+) and Grabag village tour with horse cart ride (US$60+ for 4 of us). They also provided a surprise birthday cake for my wife, which was delightful.

Room Tip: There are two rows of villas, which extend downhill, so ask for the ones facing the mountains and uphill - best views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uprightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice resort and it is very well maintained! One of a plce must go to if you go to central java. They also have a very good daily program for the guest.
If you are looking for a gate away place to refresh your mind and soul.
I would suggest you to go to MesaStila.


  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerdyHasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed our programs and had a great escape from your daily life in MesaStila.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

MesaStila Resort Magelang is incredibly a perfect place to hideaway from routines. The natural setting of the resort, traditional Javanese concept of accommodation, naturally friendly staff, fresh and cool air have really kidnapped our heart into an indescribably peaceful state. It is very much recommendable for you to experience a perfect hideaway. (Makin, Jakarta-Indonesia)

Room Tip: We were staying in Ambar villa overlooking great valley and jungle view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makin566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews